Beat logo

Lauryn Hill - Fugees

Killing us all Softly.

By Ashley CPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Lauryn Hill - Fugees
Photo by Spencer Imbrock on Unsplash

"Killing me softly" was made famous by Lauryn Hill, Today she is credited with being one of the greatest female rappers of all time. The list of big-name females in the music industry who are inspired by Hill is not a short one, It includes artists like Beyoncé, Christina Aguilera, Cardi B, Nicki Minaj, Adele, and the late and great Amy Winehouse.

Hill also inspired fashion designers, she was the muse for the 2000 spring/summer Dior collection by John Galliano, the 2017 Tory Burch resort collection, and French fashion house designer Louis Vuitton refers to her as being a "forever muse".

Although "Killing me softly" had been written in 1972 and first performed and recorded by Lori Lieberman many of us were hearing it for the very first time in 1996 via the album "The Score" by Fugees.

As an impressionable youth, The way Hill sang this song inspired me to my core. My friends and I always sang along whenever it came over the radio. We were too young to understand it then, however we all knew the song and the way Hill sang was something very special. As I got older I listed and felt the lyrics more carefully.

In my late 20s I had been in a bad relationship with a boyfriend who was very controlling. The song came loudly over the car radio, I hadn't been listening to music in a very long time because of my circumstances and being so far away from my friends and out of high school. I let her words sink deeply into my soul, how blues is supposed to be felt.

"Telling my whole life with his words, Killing me softly with his song." These words shook me. The way Hill belted it out with such emotion was empowering, it invigorated me with a sense of personal responsibility - making me feel that no one should tell my story or personal truth but me. It pushed me out of that relationship and I focused more on my inner self regaining some of my independence.

This boyfriend I had wouldn't let me drive even though I had my license for years, he wouldn't let me own my own vehicle either. It felt like my wings had been clipped.

After the disbandment of Fugees, Hill lead a short but impressive solo career before disappearing from the music scene in pursuit of a quiet family lifestyle.

"The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill" (1998), Was Hill's very first attempt at a solo act. It established her as an undisputed headline genius. The album has which came on August 25th, 1998, has sold more than 10 million copies worldwide and has recently reached Diamond status and focuses mainly on equality and social concerns of the present and future.

The album which is considered to be Hill's masterpiece, it brought her Five Grammys, three American Music Awards, a Billboard Award, a Soul Train Award, and an MTV Music Award. There is even a "Simpsons" episode that pays homage to the album called "The Miseducation of Lisa Simpson". (Season 31 | Episode 12)

Hill has made big choices in her life, but they were the choices that felt right to her. Today she is a mother of 5 who performs on occasion. She has been heard mentioning from time to time that stardom was never something she wanted to chase. If she teaches us women anything, it is to simply be yourself and if you know what you want out of your life don't be afraid to take it. Do not allow someone else to degrade or decide for you. Women should be the voice to write and tell their own story proudly.

90s music
2

About the Creator

Ashley C

Small town just trying to find her way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.