Beat logo

Jump Rope Jams

Featuring Groovy Classics

By expositiffsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Jump Rope Jams
Photo by Greyson Joralemon on Unsplash

I've never been a hardcore gym monkey, but I definitely make sure I try my best to stay in shape especially with the increased temptation to stay in bed while being at home more often than usual. Nothing is a better motivator in my opinion than some good tunes. Not sure if I'm the only one who does this, but I often try to match my movements with the music so that's why my playlist can't consist of music with an out-of-control fast tempo. However, it does have to be enough to get me moving. It's easy to adjust your speed to jump along with the music too.

I highly suggest jump roping as a starter workout if you slowly want to build up your routine from that sloth mode we were in during the stay at home orders. It also brings me back to that heart health awareness assembly (It might have been something like "jump rope for heart"?) they used to have at school where a huge portion of elementary students would spend some time of their day jump roping outside. Good times.

Anyway, here are some oldie, but goodie songs that are my go-to when I am in need of a little pick me up & jump rope session.

You Should Be Dancing by Bee Gees

A great opening song when you're jump roping. The beat is steady & easy to follow unless you get distracted easily then start dancing. Oh well, I guess that could be part of the challenge of having a fun playlist.

All Night Long by Lionel Richie

I love playing this song second as a transition song, still easy to follow but a little slower than the first. I'm definitely more on the slow, but steady exercise groove if I'm honest.

Boogie Wonderland by Earth Wind & Fire

Upbeat once again! This song is just *chef's kiss* so fun to jump to. Sometimes I'll go a bit faster than the beat if I'm feeling good, which you have to admit it's pretty hard not to be in good mood while listening to this song.

I Want You Back by Jackson 5

Hm can you sense the pattern yet? Yes, I love alternating beats in the same way I exercise. It's great to keep a steady beat to not freak out your heart by going crazy fast in a short period of time. I've found that taking that approach prevents me from getting cramps in case I don't stretch properly or having to take a break between songs.

P.Y.T. by Michael Jackson

I just had to include a Michael Jackson song if I was going to include the Jackson 5 too. To be honest, these last two are just feel-good songs that sprinkle in a little bit of self-love vibes that every workout needs. After all, a workout is supposed to make you feel good. I like to remind myself that exercise is not torture, instead, it's to help you reflect by thinking, "wow my body is awesome for being able to (insert any exercise)". It helps me feel grateful for what my body can do instead of what it can't do.

Treasure by Bruno Mars

Surprise! Okay, I know Bruno Mars technically isn't an oldie or a king of pop, but he sure is a goodie. Plus, he's well on his way to becoming a classic with how popular his music is all over the world. Treasure has got to be one of the most fun self-appreciation songs in the same way as Juice by Lizzo. If I am ever having an off day, listening to songs along those subjects with a little exercise helps to get through the day.

I could have definitely included way more classic songs, but these are most definitely my essentials for a fun workout. Plus, jump roping is great for those introverts who feel uncomfortable in public gyms (ahem me!).

playlist
Like

About the Creator

expositiffs

balancing the posi·tiffs & the nega·tiffs one musing at a time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.