Beat logo

Juli Patchouli's New Cover Versions Mixtape Playlist:

My Friend Created This Brilliant Playlist And I Am Tempting Her to Join Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
6
This is Juli

Introduction

My friend Juli is a music lover, DJ, Poet, Writer, Performer, Snake Owner and Cat Lover and publishes playlists on Facebook. I suggested she put one on Vocal, which piqued her interest. Then I said I would put it together and credit her.

These songs are all her choices, but I like them and there are some new takes that I haven't heard.

Take a listen, leave comments and we may have a new Creator in our ranks.

Thanks for this Juli.

New Cover Versions Mixtape Playlist:

SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES - "This Town Ain’t Big Enough for Both of Us"

When I first heard this by Sparks I thought it was one of the most audacious pop songs I ad ever heard, and I think a big influence on Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" by showing that you could throw anything into the mix as long as you had the confidence and ability to do so.

Siouxsie and The Banshees add their gothic darkness to the mix but the song is still very much full of dark life.

JOSÉ GONZALEZ - "Love Will Tear Us Apart"

The Joy Division original was relentless, but Paul Young dressed it u a little to become a pop hit, but it was still dark.

This is an acoustic version and being so stripped back is like a dark protograph stripped back to only use the colours black and white.

WARPAINT - "Ashes To Ashes"

This was an almost shocking pop song from Bowie especially with the accompanying video. There have been many covers of this song, and I love this version with the vocals coming across particularly well with an arrangement keeping the spirit of the original.

BAUHAUS - " Telegram Sam"

I loved this song when T. Rex released it. This is the fourth Bauhaus single and it sounds like Bauhaus wrote it. If you had the two songs in a playlist you might just think that they have the same title but weren't the same song.

PATTI SMITH - "Gimme Shelter"

Every cover of this takes the power of the song and allows the artist to launch into the atrocities of war and related evil. Patti Smith has the power to get the message across to all of us.

THE MISSION - "Dancing Barefoot"

This combines two favourites of mine, the poetess/goddess and the goths of the Mission. My preference is for the original but this acoustic cover is still very good.

MORIARTY - "Enjoy the Silence"

I don't Moriarty but I love this Depeche Mode cover. I don't know why it makes me think of Soul Coughing, in there is a feeling that there is a wrongness behind it.

PLACEBO - " I Feel You"

Placebo tackle Depeche Mode. The original is great and this adds to the relentlessness with the continual five-note riff throughout.

THE SISTERS OF MERCY - "Emma"

This is the first unexpected cover in this playlist. The Sisters of Mercy reconstruct Hot Chocolate's pop classic into a doom-laden, almost funereal goth march. I like this and I also love the original, but I hadn't a clue what this was until I started playing it.

THE WHITE STRIPES - "Jolene"

Dolly Parton's original is just a perfect country and western lost love song, and this live take piles on the angst in huge slabs and it is brilliant.

TORI AMOS - "Lovesong"

Tori sort of de-Goths the Cure's Lovesong by ToriAmosing it and it works very well. Tori Amos has always impressed me and The Cure are just a perfect band.

THE VEILS - " Drive"

This is the song I wasn't looking forward to because I was expecting it to be the Cars' "Live Aid" cash-in. I was so happy to hear a gothicly fragmented cover of the REM song. It shows the power of media that when I see the song "Drive" listed, I think it's the Cars.

I do like the Cars, just not that song.

CHRIS COCO (ft. NICK CAVE) - "Sunday Morning"

This is a beautiful cover of a beautiful Velvet Underground song. Do I need to say anything more?

MARTIN L. GORE - "Candy Says"

Martin takes a break from the band to cover Lou Reed, exploring darkness as usual from Lou.

Conclusion

A great selection from Juli. This is my 1919th post on Vocal so I am going to finish with John Cale's "Paris 1919" keeping a Velvet Underground connection with Juli's playlist.

new wavesong reviewspop cultureplaylist90s music80s music70s music60s music
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • John Cox3 months ago

    Mike thanks for sharing this playlist. The T Rex cover is a real blast from the past. I remember when Marc Bolan died when I was a junior in college. I love the badass vibe that Bauhaus brings to Telegram Sam. Gimme Shelter is my favorite Stones song. Patti nails it! I’m also a fan Depeche Mode. Both Moriarty’s and Placebo’s covers are great. I absolutely love the White Stripes. Their cover of Jolene is magnificent and raw.

  • I loveeeeee these songs! Please tell Juli I enjoyed them! Looking forward to having her here on Vocal!

  • Can't argue with a single one of these. Loved it. Tell Juli she's got great taste. (Or maybe it's rotten taste since our tastes seem to agree, lol.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.