Beat logo

Jacob Handy

Jacob Handy

By Jason James Published 4 years ago 3 min read

My name is Jacob "Hayden" Handy, I was born April 25th, 2001, in Toronto Ontario, Canada. Growing up, my dad was a very hardworking man, but in his free time, he loved playing the bass. He loved music, and just like my father, my mother loved music as well. Occasionally my mother would sing for my twin brother and me as we sat and listened, she taught us to be ourselves even if we seemed goofy since I was a shy kid. Down the line of my childhood, I gradually started to pick up traits from both my parents, and I even started singing a bit at the age of three. I was passionate about singing at a very young age and knew that I wanted to be a performer. I felt this greater passion towards singing when my parents would play Janet Jackson or Sade on the television, the soft angelic female voices appealed more to my ears than any other. I got used to listening to the female singers, thus why I only knew how to sing high notes as opposed to now. Now my voice range has extended, I can do bass and Sapreno parts, but it is currently not documented.

Moving forward on in life, things got a bit hard in my family and my parents decided to split. This was a hard chapter in my life and my only escape from all the chaos was music. With the help of music, I took the divorce well and did not let anything severely affect me. In high school, I began to come out of my shell and take risks and opportunities that would benefit my exposure and take me out of my comfort zone. In the tenth grade, I took vocals to boost my confidence by singing in front of a crowd with people watching and listening to me. I pushed myself towards more exposure, which resulted in me singing at the coffee house. The coffee house was a miniature talent show, except people had to pay to attend, eat, and enjoy the performers. This was my first time performing in front of a crowd of 75 plus people, I sang "Just a little bit of your heart" by Ariana Grande, and the crowd loved it. From that moment on, I became hooked on the joy of putting a smile on people's faces, and that exposure resulted in me participating in the school's talent show that was held annually.

I loved all my four years in high school, but everything good must come to an end and it was time to graduate. Everything at graduation was perfect, and the transition into the summer break after graduation was a big relief. During the summer break, my friends at the time reminded me about "Tik Tok" and convinced me to get the app. After a while of contemplating, I decided to join Tik Tok for the fun of it to make videos that entertained me, watch videos, and connect with my friends. As time goes by, I gradually started to grow on the app after being consistent with posts, keeping up with some trends, and being consistent with my singing/comedy theme. I did download "Tik Tok" to become known, it didn't seem hard but, one day in September of 2019 started everything. I posted a video that presented more of my vocal range, and it garnered the attention of over one million views. Ever since that day, I have become more comfortable with the platform and gained back the opportunity to entertain and get joy from making people happy with my voice.

humanity

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jason James Written by Jason James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.