Beat logo

It's all about 2000 - 2010!

The music was awesome, in my opinion.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
The cat was too cute, and Linkin park rocks!!

The one decade I have been listening to is 2000 to 2010 because I loved and still do Linkin Park. Something about Nu-Metal helps bring out the creativity in my stories. As a writer, music plays an important role. Not just to help me relax but to help me write stories, design characters, and plots.

Linkin Park’s album “Hybrid Theory” was released during the peak of nu-metal when it was said nu-metal was dying. Still, somehow, I feel as if Linkin Park is the life of nu-metal, and this was thanks to their singles that got heavy play on MTV and the radio. Oh yeah, I’m talking about “One Step Closer,” “Crawling” and “At the End” The song “In The End” is very special to me because it helped me find what I wanted to major in college, which was Multimedia and writing. Their second album, Meteora, which was released in 2003, continued the band's success, and it helped inspire my graphic novel that I have been working on for 11 years and not to mention my other stories. One thing I loved so much about the album Meteora was there was artwork in the CD case. Instead of a booklet to read the lyrics, the booklet was telling a story for each song. I love the fact that Linkin Park has in each of their songs a unique sound; this is because of the exploration of experimental sounds, which was added more on their third album, called Minutes to Midnight (2007). I felt as if the band started not just to add unique sounds but was using a wider variation of musical types and sounds. I heard a lot of it on their fourth album, A Thousand Suns (2010). There is something on the way the music has collaborated, not just the bass and the singing. But it’s the disc jockey, drums, and the electric guitar that gives the music life. But Linkin Park wasn’t the only one to be Nu-Metal, Limp Bizkit was also a significant part of that decade as well. Just like the music that Linkin Park created, there was another band that had a unique sound, and most of their sound have been used in film trailers and used in other media. The band Linkin Park is no different than Limp Bizkit. Sadly, only four songs I love listening to. And That is Rollin, My Generation, Breaking Stuff, and Nookie.

Another reason why I listen to Linkin Park and Limp Bizkit is that I have this ability to see sound. Yes, that’s right, I can see sound. I see different colors and shapes when I hear music, and it seems that Nu-metal helps me develop story ideas, character designs, even the blueprints of what I want a specific location to look like. Of course, I don’t just listen to them when I work, and I also do it when I am cleaning up my home or when I’m driving. Yes, they are screaming and swearing, but I also listen to the instrumental versions of Linkin Park's music. I haven’t had any luck finding Limp Bizkit's instrumental versions.

Yes, there was other music I listen to during the decade of 2000 and 2010, but not as much as I listen to the tune of nu-metal. There was hard rock, Latin hip hop, electronic rock, and some rap music. To name a few, I listen to Nickelback, Papa Roach, Pitbull, Eminem, and Coldplay. To this day, I have a playlist with the bands I have mention called “Blueprints” because they are the songs that help me create stories and help me relax.

metal
1

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.