Beat logo

Music is my source.

My writing and music work side by side.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3
My world. Here, I am at peace.

Music has always played an essential role in my life. Wherever I go or do, I still have my music with me, especially during this time where everyone must stay-at-home. I am one of the few who got lucky and has a job that falls under the essential category.

I have a couple of playlists that I give names to. Here are three examples: I need a Lyft, Mom’s in the Car, and Working Music. I could write about those three, but I choose to talk about the I use for this pandemic that is happening. I want to talk about the one playlist that I call “Blue Prints.”

I choose that name precisely because it’s my primary source to go to when I’m at work so that I can focus and helps me with my writing. I am a writer, and I am currently writing scripts, Graphic Novels, and Novel. Also, my music helps to keep me calm and happy.

Stay-at-home but can escape.

My playlist helps me escape this world, and I go to my world where I create stories. Believe it or not, but I can see sound. Yes, I’m serious. No, I’m not joking, I can see shapes and colors when I hear the beats of the song.

I believe it is called Synesthetes, and I use this ability to get ideas for writing. Each song has a different rhythm, color, and shape (I’m talking about the guitar, drums, bass, and any other instruments). I like to think of it more like a special kind of building blocks. Each song on my playlist has a place in my stories. So, since it is a must to stay at home, and since there is nowhere to go but to work and back home, my playlist helps me get through these strange times. Yes, I may be at home, and everything is close, but I found a gate through my music and writing.

Blue Prints playlist choices.

My choice of music ranges from Nu-Metal, Electronic Rock, Dubstep, instrumental, and some Soundtrack.

One of my main top choices has to be Linkin Park, since 2000 and the release of their album Hybrid Theory I would listen to their music every day. They were and still to this day are my muse, (even thou frontman Chester Bennington is gone). Then there is Limp Bizkit, Korn, and some soundtrack from Anime such as Soul Eater and Dramatical Murder, to name a few. I mostly listen to Nu-Metal when I’m working on my Graphic Novel that happens to be a science fiction novel. The Electronic Rock and Dubstep I mostly listen to it while working on my Yaoi that is both a novel and Graphic Novel. The Electronic Rock helps me feel relax and think of interactions with the characters I listen to Nu-Metal when I’m coming up with fight scenes, and the design of a city. Just like the name of my playlist “BluePrints,” I listen to a specific song, sit back in my chair and take notes on particular beats that I like, and what shape I see or color. I wish my drawing were as precise as the sound I can see. (I think a three-year-old can draw better than me) I usually watch a movie clip when it comes to fighting scenes. If I like how the fight scene clip is, I pick a couple of songs I have listened to before and watch the clip while listening to them. I use the clips as a reference, sometimes the song and the clip work, and sometimes they do not.

Return to normal vill

My love for music will never change; I will still use “Blueprints” to continue to help me create stories even after this pandemic is over.

album reviews
3

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.