Beat logo

It's A Family Affair

A Playlist Of Songs By Family Members

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
4

Introduction

Although with the title we should include the Sly and The Family Stone song and given the same of the band I have just realised that it is a perfect qualification for this playlist and that has just reminded me of a few bands that are made up of family members. The initial idea was to have a parent who made a record and was then eventually followed by their child into making music.

Of course, there will be lots that I miss but I hope this reminds you of a few examples. I am not going to include songs where there are just two partners making the record although there will be some if they are followed by their children. Essentially this is music that has spanned generations.

Sly & The Family Stone - "It's A Family Affair"

This song gave this piece its title. Although this one is not multi-generational I do think it is right to kick this playlist off.

Their core line-up was led by singer-songwriter, record producer, and multi-instrumentalist Sly Stone, and included Stone's brother and singer/guitarist Freddie Stone, sister and singer/keyboardist Rose Stone, trumpeter Cynthia Robinson, drummer Greg Errico, saxophonist Jerry Martini, and bassist Larry Graham. The band was the first major American rock group to have a racially integrated, male and female lineup.

This is taken from the band's Wikipedia entry.

Paul Simon - "Father And Daughter"

I often share this beautiful song on Facebook with my daughters Juliet and Kirsty on their birthdays, it encapsulates many of my feelings for them. This is the other side of the reason I decided to create this playlist because of the next song by Paul's son Harper.

Harper Simon - "Shooting Star"

This song is an absolute beauty. I almost feel that I can stop this playlist now because these two songs are so beautifully perfect. If you have never heard Harper Simon, listen to this now and you will be hooked.

Johnny Marr - "Easy Money"

I know Johnny Marr was the musical kingpin of The Smiths, but this song was originally a free giveaway on Amazon and when I heard it I was immediately hooked. I know Marr is a superb creative talent, but this was just a great surprise to hear, but then there was more unexpected great music and you can see below.

Nile Marr - "Are You Happy Now?"

A few years ago I was at a King Charles gig at Newcatsle's Riverside with my daughter Kirsty. The support band were an excellent band called Man Made. When I was leaving I chatted with the guitarist from Man Made who gave me a poster. It turned out that guitarist was Nile Marr, Johnny Marr's son. Really I have to share some Man Made so Nile gets two songs on here.

Richard and Linda Thompson - "I Want To See The Bright Lights Tonight"

The title track of one of my favourite ever albums (one of John Peel's, Tom Ravenscrofts Dad's as well). There are so many songs by them together and alone that I could have chosen, but no one can disagree with me choosing this one (well you can but you know what I mean).

Their son Teddy is an absolutely stunning artist as well, listen here.

Teddy Thompson - "In My Arms" ft. Rufus Wainwright

Another beauty with a link to another musical dynasty, the Wainwrights.

There are so many of these that I am going to miss but I am sure they will be on the tip of your tongue so let me know who I have missed in the comments.

Johnny Cash, June Carter Cash - "Jackson"

The Cash dynasty had to be included and again there could be so many songs that I could have chosen, but this is a great one.

Carlene Carter - "Never Together But Close Sometimes"

Carlene Carter is the daughter of June Carter Cash and her first husband, Carl Smith. She was married to Nick Lowe, but is part of the Cash dynasty and this is a wonderful song.

Norma Waterson and Martin and Eliza Carthy - "Lowlands of Holland"

I will close this playlist with one song featuring the Carthy / Waterson family. We lost Norma last year. She married Martin in 1972 and Eliza was born in 1975.

I hope you have enjoyed these songs, no doubt there will be more to come.

pop culturevintagesong reviewsplaylisthistorycelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
4

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock10 months ago

    Fun list.

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    It is always a lesson reading your music articles Mike :) I find out a sorts of new things. A great article!

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    I enjoyed this tremendously. As someone who grew up in the USSR, I have a lot to catch up with when it comes to American music. So I enjoy your playlists very much, Mike, thank you for sharing them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.