Beat logo

In a Tizzy? Well, I’ve Got Some Tunes to Soothe You: Americana Edition

I put together a playlist of songs that’ll soothe you just as much as they have soothed me. Please enjoy!

By Dream SilasPublished 3 years ago 15 min read
Third Place in Zen Playlist Challenge
11

Pardon me, but I think it's a little unusual (rude) to leave Americana out of the conversation when we're talking about "zen" or soothing music. Personally, it's my go-to genre when I need any kind of comforting or encouragement. Whenever I find myself in a rut, I'll play one of my favorite Americana tunes and like magic, I find my way back to center with a renewed sense of purpose and steadfast motivation.

What exactly is Americana?

For those of you who are perhaps unfamiliar with the Americana genre, it is defined by the Americana Music Association as:

Contemporary music that incorporates elements of various American roots music styles, including country, roots-rock, folk, bluegrass, R&B and blues, resulting in a distinctive roots-oriented sound that lives in a world apart from the pure forms of the genres upon which it may draw. While acoustic instruments are often present and vital, Americana also often uses a full electric band.

There really isn’t one single Americana sound or style. The sound can vary greatly as it pulls influences from many other American genres. But one commonality is that you’ll hear stories from people from all walks of life describing their troubles, joys, grievances, triumphs, and other sentiments that make up the American experience but even more so, the human experience.

Americana is not by any means an exclusive genre. Despite the origins of the style and the name, there are many artists who produce Americana music but are not American. In the playlist below, I have included artists from Canada (Colter Wall), Sweden (First Aid Kit), and Kenya (Ondara). This furthers my point about how inclusive and encompassing the genre is.

What does it mean for music to be "zen"/soothing and how does Americana exhibit this?

It is my strong opinion that Americana is the most zen genre of all time. Why? Because it’s a genre full of relatable stories that can guide you through this human experience. The only reason why anyone needs to be soothed is because they’re dealing with some sort of problem. Americana music helps you solve or better cope with the problems of everyday life which then allows you to return back to a state of zen.

After all, what good is a soft ballad or a track infused with binaural beats if it only soothes you for the moment that you’re listening to it? I think something truly soothing resolves the need for you to even be soothed in the first place by offering brighter perspectives, relatability, clarity, and understanding. This is why Americana is the ultimate zen genre of music.

The Playlist and its Organization

I was very strategic in the order in which I organized these songs. Since Americana is heavily story-based, you will hear artists singing about their life troubles and/or relatable experiences. Artists will often offer sound solutions, better perspectives, or simply some comfort to those who need it through their song's relatability. So I wanted to organize the songs in a way that could help soothe the pain for specific problems.

But to do this I had to be introspective. I thought about what I usually need when I need soothing, and it made me think of the reasons why I need soothing in the first place. I've narrowed it down into four general reasons:

  1. I find myself overthinking and believing that it is the literal end of the world whenever I have a problem. During this time, I need a new perspective that can place me into a new state of mind; one where I'm not taking everything too seriously.
  2. I'm experiencing an internal struggle and I don't know how to deal with it properly. I need a better grasp on the problem and to know that I'm not alone; that others have also experienced the same obstacle. Additionally, I need clarity and actionable solutions that could potentially work for me.
  3. I'm dealing with a relationship issue. Whether the issue pertains to a lover, a friend, or family doesn't particularly matter. At this time, I need consoling and to see my situation from a fresh angle.
  4. A societal problem is taking a toll on me. In this state of mind, I need reassurance that things will improve and I need to look at the brighter side of the issue.

I have split the playlist into four categories that each offer solutions to the aforementioned four main reasons I would need soothing.

Category 1: These songs are thought-provoking, grounding, and offer beautiful, new life perspectives

Song #1: “Born Again” by Tyler Childers

We built this world together with a loud and mighty bang/Lord, it sounded like a train/And echoed o'er the land/And we came up with a game to play of being born again

“Born Again” is essentially a beautiful, thought-provoking song about the idea of reincarnation. Childers describes living several simple lives and then dying just to be born again. He highlights the narrative that the process of reincarnation is a game that humans play, though unaware, and while we’re alive we take our lives so seriously but it’s all just a grand game.

Whether you believe in the idea of reincarnation or not is not really the focus, the song gives a bit of comfort by expressing how minuscule our daily life problems are compared to a grander scheme of things.

This song is perfect for when: you are overthinking and need the emphasis taken off of your troubles.

Song #2: “Before The Devil Knows We’re Dead” by Turnpike Troubadours

Well, raise another round, boys, and have another glass/Be thankful for the day knowing it will never last/ Still let’s leave the world a-laughing when our eulogies are read

“Before The Devil Knows We’re Dead” is another thought-provoking song about appreciating your life to the fullest, leaving behind memories of happiness and laughter for others that have crossed our path in life, and a reminder of life’s overall fragility.

The instrumentation of this song along with its fast tempo makes it almost impossible not to dance!

This song is perfect for when: you need a reminder of how fragile life is, why you should appreciate every step of it, and when you need to dance in celebration of your life!

Category 2: These songs offer relatability, clarity, and comfort when dealing with an internal/ personal struggle.

Song #3: Thirteen Silver Dollars by Colter Wall

Well, I got my health/ My John B. Stetson/ Got me a bottle full of baby’s bluebird wine/ And I left my stash somewhere down in Preston/Along with thirteen silver dollars and my mind

“Thirteen Silver Dollars” is a witty song about a guy that is down on his luck, has no place to go, and gets questioned and then arrested by a police officer. What’s soothing about this song though is the carefree, almost thankful attitude that Wall portrays throughout the whole fiasco.

Instead of going down a spiral of negative thoughts, Wall is lighthearted about the situation by making jokes and even listing the little things that he has like his health and his Stetson hat contentedly.

This song is perfect for when: everything is going south and you want to remain lighthearted about your situation.

Song #4: My Silver Lining by First Aid Kit

I woken up in a hotel room/ My worries as big as the moon/ Having no idea what or where I am/ Something good comes with the bad/ A song is never just sad/ There’s hope; there’s a silver lining

“My Silver Lining” is a lovely, empowering song that describes having worries, being tired, and having fears and yet still moving forward, knowing that there’s something better waiting ahead; a silver lining.

The song is dreamy sounding, ambient, and its unique, eclectic sound reinforces the message of persevering through tough times.

This song is perfect for when: you need the strength and motivation to keep moving forward.

Song #5: Hippies and Cowboys by Cody Jinks

They don’t write about be me in their magazines/ I don’t ask for no reviews on the songs that I sing/ I never had a lot of friends and I’m alright by that/ But people keep on coming back

“Hippies and Cowboys” is a personal song where Jinks speaks about accepting who he fully is and not needing or wanting to fit in with the larger crowd despite not being properly recognized for his music. He takes a stance of being his organic self and letting that mean more to him than any approval by other people.

And because of his unwavering loyalty to himself and who he is, people naturally gravitate back to him.

This song is perfect for when: you’re struggling with feeling like an outcast or a black sheep.

Song #6: “Living On The Sand” by Colter Wall

Leave them lights as they are/ And keep your clothes on/ I’ve had more than my fill/ Of whiskey and women/ And good hearted villains/ But there’s a wickedness in me still

“Living on the Sand” describes an internal struggle of feeling a combination of empty and wicked, doing meaningless, harmful things, and being unstable within yourself. This song definitely has a darker tone but I felt it was necessary to include it because of how common this inner struggle is.

This song offers an understanding of this conflict from another perspective and angle and at the very least could comfort someone who has felt like they were the only ones dealing with such a problem.

This song is perfect for when: You’re feeling empty and suffering in silence because of it.

Category 3: These songs generate clarity and console you when you’re lovesick, heartbroken, or with a person who is not good for you.

Song #7: “Roads We Wander” by Sabine McCalla

I’d love to tell you just how I feel/ Wish you were closer so I know it’s real/ Things we said just yesterday/ Don’t forget them when you go away

“Roads We Wander” is a beautiful, old-timey song that expresses sadness about a lover leaving and hoping that their time together isn’t forgotten. This song gives comfort to the heartbroken by way of relatability and clearly expressing how they’re feeling. This could be therapeutic for some.

Also because of its old-timey nature, the song exudes a feeling of nostalgia and longing which forms some type of intimacy between the song and the listener; making it undoubtedly soothing.

This song is perfect for when: you’re feeling lonely and missing the one you love.

Song #8: “Lily My Dear” by Charley Crockett

Lily my darling/ Lily my dear/ What awful reason have you come down here?/ Is it for money?/ Is it for pride?/Or just for the joy of watching me cry?

“Lily My Dear” is a simple song that tells the sad story of a character named Lily who constantly takes advantage of Crockett, uses him for money, and takes him as a joke.

The song is perfect at connecting with a person who is/was in a relationship with someone who was very wrong for them. It is digestible and light-hearted sounding, like a pick-me-up song, even though the message is quite sad. Also for people who have gone through something similar, it offers an opportunity for introspection because they’re hearing their problem from a different, more head-on angle.

The song is perfect for when: you’re in a broken-hearted state and need to look at your situation from a new angle to gain a better understanding.

Song #9: “Ride Out In The Country” by Yola

Falling out of love with you/ Is not an easy thing to do/ But you don’t care about me, baby/Running here is all I know/ The country satisfies my soul/ When I think I’m going crazy

"Ride Out In The Country" is a song about escaping to a place that both eases you and makes you feel unhindered during a serious heartbreak. The song emphasizes the message of getting away for clarity and a renewed sense of self. It is quite cinematic in its production and is a great get-away song.

The song is perfect for when: you're out on the road and pesky thoughts of an ex-lover keep popping up in your mind.

Song #10: “Johnny Dear” by Kassi Valazza

Johnny, my sweet/ Won’t you take a seat?/ I haven’t seen your face in many years/ Is your hair still brown?/ Is your heart weighed down?/ Will you come home in the morning?

The song “Johnny Dear” is a sweet, gentle song about missing a loved one and hoping they come back home to you soon. It is comforting in its soft approach to a heart-wrenching feeling of not being able to be with the one you love for whatever reason.

This song is perfect for when: You’re missing anyone you love and/or you’re in a state of mourning.

Category 4: These songs give reassurance and fresh insight into societal/global issues

Song #11: “Lockdown On Date Night Tuesday” by Ondara

Honey, the president said/ We gon’ be here for awhile/Your parents out in the Bay/ They’re still in denial/ Don’t know how long it will be/ But until then you’re still mine/ So I’m gonna put my grey suit on/ If you will put your red dress on/ I’m gonna meet you at the dining table

“Lockdown On Date Night Tuesday” is a lovely song that describes a couple’s date night during Covid-19 lockdowns. It is a song that many people can relate to as Ondara croons about not letting the shut down deter him from a romantic night with the one he loves.

This song is soothing to people who may have been discouraged by the lockdowns and not being able to do things normally. It offers a creative, romantic solution that is both sweet and timeless.

This song is perfect for when: your normal way of connecting with your lover is not an option and you have to get creative.

Song #12: “Long Violent History” by Tyler Childers

How many boys could they haul off this mountain?/ Shoot full of holes, cuffed, and laid in the streets/ ‘Til we come into town in a stark ravin’ anger/ Looking for answers and armed to the teeth

I almost didn’t add this song into the playlist out of fear that it may be considered too “counterproductive” to the idea of “zen” because of the highly political, emotional, and often triggering nature of the song's topic. But as I thought it through a little more, it is actually the perfect song to add to a zen playlist.

Besides, it would be a true pity to not mention a song that sheds light, insight, and a unique perspective on a prominent American issue.

“Long Violent History” is an old-timey song that sonically showcases wonderful fiddle playing and Childers’ incredible mountain wail. But lyrically, Childers compares The Battle of Blair Mountain (largest labor uprising in American history) that occurred in West Virginia in 1921, to the Black Lives Matter movement and the June 2020 protests which were met with heavy criticism.

Though an interesting comparison, the song describes the violent actions that were taken by the coal miners of Logan County, West Virginia when they felt they were being mistreated. This ultimately led to the Battle of Blair Mountain. Childers goes on to compare that behavior to the behavior of people in support of the Black Lives Matter movement during the 2020 protests; driving home the idea that we are all one and the same.

According to Childers, it is wrong to condemn one group of Americans for the way in which they react when they feel they're being mistreated and to celebrate another group for similar behaviors.

Following the release of this song, Childers also released a 6-minute statement explaining his stance on the issue and urging his “white rural listeners” to think again with empathy and compassion on the issue and to not be so easy to polarize to an opposing side out of judgment.

Although the song was met with great criticism, it is in my strong opinion that Childers' decision to promote compassion for all groups of Americans and to highlight that we are more similar than different was both sound, admirable, and also beautiful.

This song is particularly soothing because it promotes compassion, understanding, and a sense of unity. This is all quite reassuring because it displays that a difference is being made.

This song is perfect for when: you'd like to be reminded of all of our similarities as people instead of focusing on insignificant differences.

Closing Thoughts

I know the playlist is a bit unconventional as it relates to the word “zen” and in some ways can even be considered counterproductive but I feel that I have defended the tracks well enough to not have their “zen-ness” questioned. The 42-minute playlist I’ve curated reconnects the listener back to their personal state of zen by way of relatability, offering new angles or solutions to their life problems, and giving them the motivation to keep persisting and persevering.

In my humble opinion, temporarily running away from your problems does very little in the long run and that state of zen is always just out of reach. Americana music encourages you to deal with your problems head-on, even when it's difficult to. This eventually breeds inner peace and allows you to cultivate a perpetual state of zen; a reality you don’t want to escape from.

Imagine that.

alternative
11

About the Creator

Dream Silas

I love to write about love, the beautiful, and the natural world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.