Beat logo

"There's a Science Fiction in the Space Between You and Me"

A letter of appreciation and adoration to Tracy Chapman.

By Dream SilasPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
5
Gif of Tracy Chapman Performing Her Hit Song "Fast Car" from Giphy

Dear Ms. Chapman,

You were my true introduction to folk music/Americana music and it has become the background music to my slow living lifestyle. I only listen to Americana because I love the style and the way it makes me feel.

But my love for Americana was awakened by you.

It all started with you.

I remember first hearing your most popular song “Fast Car” on YouTube. I had set out to find different music than what I was accustomed to listening to. It was an ordinary summer afternoon and I wanted to listen to music that would evoke different feelings in me; ones that I’ve yet to feel. I didn’t quite know what I was looking for exactly but when I came across your song, I knew that I was in the right place.

I was first fascinated with your unique voice and style of singing. I’ve never quite heard a voice so warm, smooth, and somehow freeing to listen to. Your timbre was so unique and I was pleasantly surprised. You sounded honest and refreshing, similar to cold peach iced tea on a sweltering day. I remember being able to relax into your voice.

My second fascination with you involved your songwriting and storytelling abilities. I became so engaged in the story you were conveying in "Fast Car". A sad story of trying to make something work with a lover. Starting from scratch, having a dream with a lover, hoping it’d work, and doing everything you can. And yet being the only one who’s trying to move things forward, getting tired of it, and moving on from it.

The emotionality of the song is so relatable and organic. I think that’s what makes the song so easy to love.

In the song, you sing the lyrics:

We gotta make a decision

Leave tonight or live and die this way..

These lyrics, which are repeated a few times within the song, moved me so much when I first heard them. It expressed to me the notion of taking control of one's own life. And whenever I feel powerless, I sometimes think back to that lyric and it motivates me to make a change in my life.

We'd be here all day if I really analyzed and expressed every reason why I love the song "Fast Car" so much. But I don't want to take up so much of your time Ms. Chapman, so I'll just say that the song has taken a special place in my mind and when I hear it, I'm immediately thrown into vivid memory.

I know every fan has their own personalized interpretation of the song and the meaning behind why they love it so much. Just as I do.

Not only do I greatly appreciate your contribution to Americana music, but I also find that I can relate to you in so many beautiful ways as well.

I love that you are a pro at keeping your professional life from your personal life.

I think it allows the fans who love and appreciate your music to only focus on your art. You let your music do the talking and it really speaks for itself.

I very much appreciate it and relate to you in that way. I feel that privacy is an art. I am private in nature and I don’t like different aspects of my life mixing. I find that keeping clear distinctions between different aspects of my life allows me to give my whole self to each aspect without any hindrance or confusion.

I find you to be authentic in the way you present yourself to the world.

I remember listening to your song “Across the Lines” and it inspired me to research you a bit. I ended up coming across an interview of you explaining that you’re actually quite reserved.

“Being in the public eye and under the glare of the spotlight was, and it still is, to some extent, uncomfortable for me, but there are some ways by which everything that has happened in my life has prepared me for this career. But I am a bit shy.”

I study the way you perform in front of large crowds. You're always so relaxed, confident, and poised. Despite it being uncomfortable for you at times, you always have held your composure.

I find this inspiring because I am also very reserved. It's a message for other introverts and shy people alike that we can share ourselves with the world and remain shy or reserved. We don’t have to take on a more outgoing personality, which can be terribly exhausting, simply to share a piece of ourselves with others.

It's a beautiful message to honor our personhood no matter what.

You use your music to express and stand behind what you believe in.

Despite your reserved nature, you never shied away from writing songs about sociopolitical issues that you felt strongly about. In fact, many of your songs dealt with these socio-political issues such as poverty, racism, homelessness, alcoholism, violence against women, etc.

In one of my favorite songs written by you, "Across the Lines", you discuss the race issue in America. You express the physical separation between races but also hint at the emotional separation between races which subsequently always creates racial tension and conflict.

Every time I listen to these lyrics, I am deeply moved and I recognize just how efficiently you captured the race issue of America.

Across the lines

Who would dare to go

Under the bridge

Over the tracks

That separates whites from blacks

Choose sides

Run for your life

Tonight the riots begin

On the back streets of America

They kill the dream of America

So Ms. Chapman here’s my attempt to explain my affinity for you. You made me fall in love with Americana music, you inspired me to take pride in my shy and private nature, and to stand firmly with my beliefs. Thank you for your incredible contribution to music and to my life.

Sincerely,

Dream

celebrities
5

About the Creator

Dream Silas

I love to write about love, the beautiful, and the natural world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.