Beat logo

I went to Warped Tour '18 and I knew nothing about it.

This is about my experience of going to Warped Tour '18 at Fairplex Pomona and I did not know any bands and it was not my style of music but I loved it.

By Vanessa BaltazarPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

So my friend convinced me to go to Warped Tour because it was going to be the last tour and it was not that bad of a price. I went because he really wanted to go so I went with him because it was something really special to him. If you do not know what Warped Tour is, it's basically a Tour with many punk rock bands performing in one place. They have bands such as Sum 41, Bowling For Soup, Falling In Reverse, Black Veil Brides, Asking Alexandria, and many more. I have never been into punk rock. I only listened to pop music so this was way out of my scene. But I went anyway cause why not?

On Our Way

I did not know what to wear. My friend told me I had to wear different clothes than what I usually wear. So I went to the store and bought some clothes. I wore a black shirt, denim shorts, long black socks that went up to my knee, black vans, and just 2 pins on my t-shirt. I do not dress like this. When I got there, I was shocked. Mostly everyone had clothes I would wear so no one was over the top. So I was kinda disappointed because the clothes I had was really uncomfortable because my shirt felt to short for me and I could've wore something my style.

The Bands Performing

These were the bands that were preforming that day and I was familiar with some of them but I never listened to their music. So I was going to go watch bands that I did not know any of the words to their songs. But I didn’t really mind because I thought it would be a great experience.

The Experience

There were many booths and free water station refills and so many nice people. All the bands were great even though I didn’t listen to any of them before. I went to watch Simple Plan and right as I’m listening to them, I instantly regret not hearing their music before because it was amazing! Since Warped Tour I have been listening to Simple Plan and love their songs and I was so happy I got to see them live. Rememeber I only listened to Pop songs so everything was new to me. At the booths, they were passing out free stickers and merch. And had some bomb popsicles. The food was a little pricey but was so good! But what else can you expect from a festive. They had a water slip and slide and I was to scared to go in because I didn’t want to have wet clothes for the rest of the day but everyone who went in was having the best time of their life.

No matter where you are in the crowd, you are able to see them perfectly from every angle. We sat down while waiting for bands to preform and so did most people. The event had so many restrooms and they were so clean. Not one single person had a bad time and you can sit down and eat and relax anywhere you want. You can dress however you would like and no one would judge you and that is another reason as to why I like this event. You don’t have to be with a group to have fun, there was this one girl who was in the middle of the crowd and was dancing by herself and just having fun and no one cared. I would love to go again the following year but sadly that was the last year they were going to do Warped Tour. I’m so thankful I got convinced to come because it will be a event I will never forget. So if you’re scared to do something or do not want to go somewhere because it is not your “scene”, I recommend to go anyway because you will have so much fun.

festivals
Like

About the Creator

Vanessa Baltazar

Just a girl from Los Angeles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.