Beat logo

i sang to be noticed by you

the story behind the music

By Thomas TerryPublished 10 months ago 3 min read

Music is a way we as humans have created to be able to express ourselves and share personal experiences with others. We use different forms of poetry within our music to convey what we are trying to say. Sometimes the artist may stretch the truth to try to get their point across. Or use imagery or metaphors to descibe what they are trying to say. Music has always been intriguing to me and for as long as I can remember I've been listening to music. I tend to gravitate towards music that speaks to me on a personal level or that I am able to connect with emotionally. Creating this connection between the artist and listener is a great way to create connections that are lasting between the creator and fan. As I've grown up and gone through things I haven't always known how to say what I am feeling. That's when I decided to give music a try.

Music has become my way to speak into the world and share what is going on inside of my mind. It has been a constant evolution since day 1. I have been growning in my craft and learning what works and what doesn't seem to work. I remember the first song I ever wrote using garage band. It was very poorly created and had no structure or flow. But It gave me a way to say what I needed to say. So I guess it did its job in a way! Everyone has to start somewhere and your first piece of art will not be your best. So if you are thinking about starting music or some other form of art don't compare your first piece to what someone who has been doing it for years has made. Compare your art to your last piece and you will see how you are growing. Your creativity over time will begin to tell your story and show your growth and that is really special.

Let's jump in time a few years from my first piece of music. I recently released an EP entitled "i sang to be noticed by you". If you have not listened to it yet it would mean the world to me if you'd check it out! It's available everywhere you listen to music or you can click on the name of it above and it will take you to it! This project was a very personal project and convey's the pain I felt in a past relationship. I think something unique about how I wrote these songs verses most pop songs today is I saw the issues I had instead of pointing out everyone else's problems. I used this project to show my flaws and see how I can grow instead of blaming the world for things that happened.

Relationships aren't always perfect. And sometimes relationships don't work out. I believe when this happens the way we handle it can show a lot about who we are as a person and our character. Do we blame the world and live angrily about what we have lost? Or do we learn from our mistakes and make ourselves a better person and move on. Do we still love and respect people that hurt us and forgive or do we hold grudges and try to ruin their lives as well?

I went through a season of life where I felt unlovable and that I would never find love. I was searching for love in girls and just want to be seen. That is where the title of this project came from. I just wanted to be noticed and thought I could do that by singing songs. I talk about this throughout this EP but end it in a different way. The EP wraps up with me talking about how I never knew what love really was. How I was creating my own definition and looking in all the wrong places. I learned I needed to love God and myself first before I was able to properly love someone else. This is such an important lesson and I hope that by sharing what I've learned I am able to help someone else in their journey.

I really hope seeing a little glimpse into the meaning of my art will encourage and help you as well! We may not be perfect but we are all in this messy world together so we better help each other grow and learn from each others mistakes! Thank you so much for your support in reading this and listening to my music. The best way to support my music you enjoy it or it helped you in any way is sharing it on social media. We live in a busy world and social media plays a huge part in that. It is free to support your favorite artists and a huge help is sharing their art, it only takes a moment and can make a huge impact!

product reviewsong reviewsindiealbum reviews

About the Creator

Thomas Terry

Hello, I like using poetry and music to help connect people and find the meaning of life. We all have our own unique stories and I want to share mine to hopefully inspire you to share yours!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Thomas Terry is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Thomas TerryWritten by Thomas Terry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.