Beat logo

I Only Played The Lost Tapes by Sugababes for 24 Hours

Playing the most recent album by the Sugababes for 24 hours.

By Chloe GilholyPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
3

One Album for 24 Hours

Rules for the challenge

  • Pick only one album to play for 24 hours. Any genre and any artist.
  • Breaks are allowed, as long as YOU don’t play another album.
  • What other people around you play won’t disqualify the challenge. Only what you play counts.
  • You can play the challenge on any device or multiple.
  • Once you’ve done your 24 hours, share the experiance.

I’ve always liked listening to music, and some songs I like so much they will always be on loop. After watching random challenges on YouTube, it made me wonder if it was possible for a music enthusiast like me to only listen to one album in the span of 24 hours. The first album I have picked for this challenge is The Lost Tapes by the Sugababes. The reason I have picked this one is because Sugababes are my second favourite band and I’ve seen them live 4 times and will be going to the meet and greet for their show next year at the O2.

Their debut album, One Touch, is one of my favourite albums of all time. Though I think The Lost Tapes is even better. The Lost Tapes takes all the good vibes from the last seven albums and made it better.

The Lost Tapes

The album was actually recorded between 2011 and 2013. At the time the original line up of the Sugababes were known as Mutya Keisha Siobhan or simply MKS. For undisclosed reasons (most likely legal), it wasn’t released until Christmas Eve in 2022.

Between the last eleven years, a lot of things happened; all three were fighting the courts to get their name back; Siobhan had two children; Keisha started a Youtube channel and moved to Canada; Mutya still did the odd solo stuff now and then.

All of these songs were leaked and only a few tracks had an official release. The album almost got scrapped, and the band were so grateful for all the love they got from their fans they independently released it on Christmas Eve. Some of us had already downloaded the leaked tracks, but still had hopes it would get an official release on streaming platforms. (Bonus points for physical copies.)

So the album already had a special place in everyone’s heart even before the official release. It had been 12 years since there has been a Sugababes album and nearly 22 years since there was an album by the original line-up. The Lost Tapes soars from a renaissance of nostalgic pop.

So over Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, I had this album on loop. I constantly added the album to my Spotify queue since I don’t have premium. Taking into account its Christmas, work, and whatever others play around this time, it wasn’t sustainable to play the album For 24 hours in a row, some breaks were inevitable, but I do believe I have had more than my 24 hours quota for this album.

Highlights

A lot of the songs have no significant changes from the leaked versions to the final cut. There’s been some pitch changes and beats but the one song that changed the most was the Lay Down song. I think the whole album is a highlight and there isn’t a single track that I dislike. The only way I can describe the album is gorgous pop tracks with plenty of groovy tracks and beautiful ballads. The harmonies are excellent because Mutya, Keisha and Siobhan have unique voices but they sound perfect together. I remember not liking Drum much at first, but it really has grown on me. I’m Alright, Beat is Gone and Love Me Hard are amazing tracks and I hope they perform themovie in their upcoming tour.

Conclusion

The Lost Tapes is a great record. I am happy to have this album on loop because of how much I loved it. I found that playing the album really boosted my mood and also my productivity. Playing the album for 24 hours was fun and it didn’t really feel like 24 hours.

This has been a great post to write. I loved this album and I look forward to trying out more albums for this challenge for the rest of the year and in 2023. If you have any more suggestions what albums I should play next, here’s the form below.

album reviews
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.