Beat logo

I Did It

I finally listened to Taylor Swift's 'Red.'

By S. FrazerPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
1

I did it. I listened to Red.

I'd been putting it off for a while; Taylor Swift fans have had our hands full these past few years, and it's a bit overwhelming. But the Swifties of Facebook gave me that much-needed push, and I finally took the plunge into the singer's fourth studio album.

I'd never heard Red. I did enjoy some of these songs as a freshman in college, but I wasn’t a *fan*. I didn’t experience the Red era. It was a hearty “22,” “I Knew You Were Trouble,” & “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together" for me, and that was the extent of my Red knowledge.

I’m not proud of it.

Luckily, Taylor's re-recording project has given newer fans like me the opportunity to get up to speed and join in on the fun. With Red (Taylor's Version) set to release later this week, I sat down and listened to the original album from start to finish.

Here's a song-by-song breakdown of my thoughts:

State of Grace

"State of Grace" was a solid introduction that captured the spirit of the album. While I was slightly underwhelmed the first time I heard it, I had a feeling that it would grow on me; sure enough, the second time around, I was excited to hear that beat start up, and it's only gotten better with each listen. It's definitely one I keep coming back to.

I feel like this would be a great opening song for The Devil Wears Prada.

Red

I had heard the chorus of "Red", but (to my own surprise) I had never listened to the album's title song from start to finish.

Initially, "Red" came across as your average, run-of-the-mill pop song. To be honest, I was starting to zone out a bit. And then she hit me with that "And realizing there's no right answer," and it was like I just snapped back to attention. Sorry, Queen. Won't happen again.

I'm excited to hear this re-recording.

Treacherous

I'm still not a huge fan of this one.

But Taylor's music has a way of coming back around and hitting me when I least expect it. I'm sure that I'll come to love some of my least favorites with time (especially with the release of the newly recorded versions!), and I can already feel "Treacherous" starting to grow on me.

I Knew You Were Trouble.

It was nice to hear the few songs I already knew sprinkled throughout the album. "I Knew You Were Trouble" was a lovely piece of nostalgia.

All Too Well

It was the question of whether or not I should listen to "All Too Well" before hearing it on Red (Taylor's Version) that kickstarted this whole adventure.

I knew absolutely nothing about this song beyond its popularity among Swift fans and the line "I remember it all too well." I knew that it was about a past relationship, presumably with Jake Gyllenhaal, and that it was supposed to put me in my feels. I went in nervous and excited.

The song began, and I had a bit of a Steve Rodgers moment.

And I left my scarf there at your sister's house

And you've still got it in your drawer, even now

This is the scarf song! I know of this. Maggie Gyllenhaal.

You told me ‘bout your past thinking your future was me

Oof. What a line. I physically felt that one.

And maybe we got lost in translation

Maybe I asked for too much

But maybe this thing was a masterpiece 'til you tore it all up

Y'all weren't lying about that bridge. And getting to hear that "casually cruel" line after jamming out to Fearless (Taylor's Version)'s "Mr. Perfectly Fine" was cool.

I gotta be honest, I was scared that I wasn’t going to like this one. The way other people love it made me feel pressured to like it. But I concur. Lyrically, this is story-telling Swift at her best. And I had to force myself to finish the album before going back to give this one another listen.

With Red (Taylor's Version), fans won't just be getting a re-recording of the original song. No, blondie has gone and given us a ten-minute version, plus a short film starring Sadie Sink and Dylan O'Brien. Come Friday, I have a feeling that Swifties will not, in fact, be feeling all too well.

(I also went back and watched Taylor's 2014 Grammy performance, and solid 10/10. Thank you to everyone who recommended it!)

22

I was eighteen when this song was released, so the stars never really aligned for me. But I feel like we all listened to it when that 22nd birthday hit, and I was no exception. It's still a bop at 27.

I Almost Do

"I Almost Do" was one of those songs where the lyrics thrust me back into my early 20s and the painful, inexperienced relationships I experienced as a naïve young woman. I really enjoyed this one.

We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together

I remember when we broke up the first time

Saying, "This is it, I've had enough," 'cause like

We hadn't seen each other in a month

When you said you needed space. (What?)

This may have been the first time I really appreciated that scathing "What?" at the beginning of "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together."

This song I vividly remember from my first relationship, which was a tumultuous, incessantly on-and-off mess. I wasn't a huge fan of this tune at the time; it was a bit abrasive and juvenile for my taste. But it was catchy and happened to coincide with my own life, so I did listen to it back in 2012.

Surprisingly, this was actually my favorite of the three I already knew to go back and listen to. Being out of those youthful relationships for good makes this song way more enjoyable than when you're still trapped in them.

Stay Stay Stay

"Stay Stay Stay" sounds a bit childish, but it doesn't cross that line into totally juvenile the way that "ME!" does. This song was a cute little bop that immediately got stuck in my head.

The Last Time

This one reminds me a bit of folklore's "exile". I have a feeling that it will develop into one of my favorites over time.

Update: Yup. It did.

Holy Ground

Like "Treacherous", this song doesn't really stand out to me. I'll give it time.

Sad Beautiful Tragic

"Sad Beautiful Tragic" stood out to me during my first run through the album and is still one of my favorites. This is another song that I'm excited to hear replicated by current Taylor... and I don't have long to wait!

The Lucky One

This is one of those songs where I haven't listened to it in weeks, and suddenly the melody is stuck in my head. I have no idea how she does that. Not my favorite, but a pretty good song nonetheless.

Everything Has Changed

Another song I was surprised to realize I've never actually listened to all the way through. I've gotta be honest—I don't get the hype. I enjoyed reputation's "End Game," but this collaboration just doesn't do it for me.

Starlight

I enjoyed this song. I probably won't listen to it much going forward, but it's a solid tune.

Begin Again

I absolutely loved this song, and the adorable music video made it even better. I'm obsessed with her.

The Moment I Knew

I listened to Red (Deluxe Edition), and I'm glad that I did. This additional song was easily the standout my first time through.

She caught me with the first line: “You should’ve been there.”

Another Steve Rodgers moment. Her birthday party. Jake Gyllenhaal didn’t show. I know what's up.

I think this song is on par with "All Too Well." It's just as heartbreaking, raw, and lyrically powerful. Solid 10/10.

Come Back... Be Here

Like "All Too Well," "I Almost Do," and "We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together," this song's lyrics evoked feelings in me that recalled the tumultuous relationships of my past. I'm glad that it's resurfaced on TikTok leading up to Red (Taylor's Version), and I, too, wish that I was in London for its release.

Girl At Home

As a former "stupid girl" of the sort referenced in this song, I felt a little called out by it. Perhaps for that reason, I'm not really a fan of this one, but listening to it in my early 20s might have prevented some really dumb mistakes on my part.

Final Thoughts

I confess, I've never understood this era. Albums like reputation, Lover, and folklore/evermore are pretty clear-cut, but Red has always been a bit of an enigma to me. It's... hipster? A breakup album? Red lipstick and black hats? I still don't really get it.

But I found this album refreshing and impressive. Taylor's voice and delivery feel incredibly authentic. She's talking to us, telling us story after vivid story. I was surprised to still hear that southern twang, and I'm excited to hear 31-year-old Taylor replicate it.

My favorite songs so far: "State of Grace," "Red," "All Too Well," and "The Moment I Knew." I'm also loving "Stay Stay Stay," "The Last Time," and "Begin Again."

What's sad is that I was the perfect age to appreciate Red for what it was when it was released in 2012. I’m currently 27 years old. These days, it feels like the perfect night to dress up in my pajamas, watch The Golden Girls, and pass out before 10:30.

Add on the fact that I’m not particularly nostalgic for my early 20s or any of my past relationships, and I went in to this album pretty sure that I would enjoy it, but that I wouldn’t relate to it in my current life. That was a pretty accurate prediction.

Having said that, I really didn't expect to get so choked up over songs like "All Too Well" and "The Moment I Knew." She described feelings that I remember, even if I don't feel them anymore. Red is tumultuous, emotional, youthful. As always, Taylor articulates raw emotion in such a gripping and relatable way. This album makes me wish I had been a 22-year-old Swiftie when it was released.

Overall, this is an excellent album (no surprise there), and I have a feeling that it's only going to continue to grow on me with Taylor's version.

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this story, click the ❤. For more of my Taylor Swift content, check out my other stories:

album reviews
1

About the Creator

S. Frazer

She/her • 29 • Aspiring writer

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.