Beat logo

Halloween Beats

You have to hear this playlist!

By Kaliyah MyersPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
7
Jack and Sally, The Nightmare Before Christmas-- I do not have rights to this image

This is Halloween! It's October, the month of crunchy leaves and pumpkin spice! It's a month of those childhood memories that we ALL hold dear! All of our strange orange and black candles that we didn't even know we owned during the rest of the year- come slipping out of our closets with the skeletons and sweaters, gruesome make-up, and some of the best foods to hint at the upcoming Thanksgiving dinners...

When I saw that there was a Halloween competition, I HAD to participate. I love Halloween! So much, in fact, I was often jealous of the kids that had their birthdays on that blissfully haunted night, and even now as an adult I am upset it's not considered a national holiday. I mean! Name one culture that doesn't celebrate Halloween in one form or another! Day of the dead! Hallows End, Hollows Eve, Halloween! C'mon guys!

Then I found out this competition was one for music!? I am not an expert with music, I'll say that right now, writing is my gig. But I also won't deny that I literally cannot function without music in the background. So! I got a few playlists of which each song can be found on yours truly! Spotify. For anything that doesn't show on Spotify, it is for sure on Youtube!

My list will be as follows;

  • Traditional "From Back in the day, Halloween jams"
  • Modern "Spooky Scary Pumpkin Bash"

And finally, my own personal creation of, just... yes! Halloween Vibes!!

  • The ultimate Halloween Playlist

Keep in mind Mista Pop King, Michael Jackson will be in the Modern "Spooky Scary Pumpkin Bash" because let's be real, it isnt a modern Halloween party without Thriller. I'm looking at you 90's & 2000, kids (Which one hundred percent includes me but shhhh....)

Traditional "From Back in the day Halloween jams" <-- (That is an active link too, so you can access it! As are the following titles)

I really had to dig back for this one! Because it's hard sometimes to think of the super old songs and either; One, think of more than one song or Two; not suddenly feel outdated yourself. Keep in mind when listening to these songs, they may not be all scary but they definitely got the broken record vibes which are always fun for a haunted house set up! But without further ado!

  • Baron Daemon and the Vampires Transylvania Twist 1963
  • Spooks by Louis Armstrong (1954) – Vintage Halloween
  • Cab Calloway - The Ghost of Smokey Joe (1939)
  • Bo Diddley - Bo Meets The Monster
  • Creedence Clearwater - Revival: Bad Moon Rising
  • Monotones - LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW - 1958
  • Louis Armstrong- Skeleton in the closet
  • MOROCCOS - THE HEX - UNITED 207, 45 RPM!
  • Monster Mash - by Bobby Borris Pickett
  • Ghostbusters - by Ray Parker Jr.
  • I Want Candy - by The Strangeloves

How many of those songs did you know! Do you feel old too? I do, lol. Next up!

Modern "Spooky Scary Pumpkin Bash"

Alright boys and girls, here is a list we should all be more familiar with! Let me know what you think! For starters, I bet some of you guessed that The Nightmare Before Christmas would be on this playlist... but consider this first song as a cool twist if you hadn't already heard it before! As for the rest of the playlist... Enjoy!

  • This is Halloween - Marilyn Manson.
  • Thriller - Michael Jackson
  • Monsters - All Time Low ft. Demi Lovato and blackbear
  • Spooky Scary Skeletons - Andrew Gold
  • The Monster - Eminem ft. Rihanna
  • Black Widow - Iggy Azalea ft. Rita Ora
  • Highway to Hell - AC/DC
  • Disturbia - Rihanna

Finally, my playlist. My personal Jack-O-Beat. Let me know what you guys think! Do you have any suggestions!? Different Taste in Music? What's yours? I am excited to hear your responses!

The ultimate Halloween Playlist

  • Sally's Song - Clovet Mae
  • Calling All the Monsters - China Anne McClain
  • Spider Dance - Adriana Figueroa
  • Legends Never Die - ft. Against the Current, League of Legends
  • Demons - Imagine Dragons
  • Remains of the Day - Danny Elfman
  • Kidnap the Sandy Claws - Korn
  • The Scientist - Alex Kautz ft. Clovet Mae
  • Beauty and the Beast - Chase Holfelder
  • Buried Alive - Avenged Sevenfold
  • What's This - Flyleaf

That's all! Let me know what you think, please! I hope you all have a spooky Halloween!! Enjoy your October!

playlist
7

About the Creator

Kaliyah Myers

"Change is imperative. But the kind of change is the most important detail."

In being a writer, I hope to share something relatable and adventurous that you can love too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.