Beat logo

Habanera

A Distraction From Bill Bailey's "Larks In Transit" Takes Me Down A Classical Rabbit Hole

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
7
Habanera

A Bit Of Bill Bailey

This came to be via Bill Bailey when in the “Larks In Transit” he mentioned that “Habanera” which opens one of my favourite operas “Carmen” by Bizet, by its use of juxtaposed major and an minor keys is a perfect analogy for the highs and lows of being in love, he then invites a real opera singer (Florence Hvorostovsky) on to sing the piece while he accompanies her on piano. The problem being the subtitles do not reflect the words she is actually singing.

I was thinking that maybe I would write a poem based on this, or maybe I would write a story on this, so what will it be? It might be both. I have written a poem for my last Vocal piece and have two poems awaiting publication and so I think this will go on to be a rambling story on love , opera , music and whatever crosses my incredibly wandering mind.

Why I Hated Classical Music

I have always loved music although at school I was really put off classical music by my music “teachers”. Music lessons were the teacher putting on a record and then doing nothing. Words were often not English about subjects that didn’t really interest us, though I do think some Wagner might have woken us up.

I have written how I was reintroduced to classical music in the piece below.

Then Some Bite Sized Opera From Malcolm McLaren

Malcolm McLaren could be annoying and self centred but he could get people to do things for him that resulted in some amazing music. I am thinking of two albums in particular “Fans” featuring six pieces adapted from “Carmen”, “Madame Butterfly” and “Turandot” , and “Waltz Darling” obsessed with fusing three / four time Waltz pieces with 4/4 House / Rock Rhythms. I have both albums in vinyl and digital format.

I did go to see “Madame Butterfly “ and found most of it tedious alth the songs McLaren chose are excellent and stood out for me in the performance.

Again my English ignorance means that I cannot follow the libretto for “Carmen” but all of the music I find spirit lifting and am happy to sit, listen and enjoy.

Todd Rundgren and Gilbert and Sullivan

Todd Rundgren was the guitarist on “Bat Out Of Hell” and according to MeatLoaf, Rundgren put all the arrangements together because although "Jim (Steinman) could hear all the instruments'' in his head, Steinman hummed rather than orchestrated. I bought the album “Todd” and on there was his rendition of “Lord Chancellor's Nightmare Song “ from Iolanthe by Gilbert and Sullivan.

This was light opera performed fairly straight (with lots of sound effects) and a fairly heavy progressive rock album. It shows that Rundgren was a phenomenally talented performer and that Gilbert and Sullivan songs were great to listen to.

Concluding The Unexpected Classical Excursion

The Habanera, arguably Carmen's most famous aria (alongside the Toreador Song), literally means a "Havanan dance." This musical style originated in Cuba's capital, Havana, in the late 19th century, and it spread throughout the Spanish colonies like wildfire. It captivated European composers including Bizet, who intelligently incorporated the style of music within his opera.

That has set me off on crazy paths throughout classical and modern music thanks to an observation by Bill Bailey. No poem resulted but a lot of thought and hopefully some unexpected music and facts for my readers have turned up in this story.

Would love to hear your thoughts, please let me know what you think.

humanity
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.