Beat logo

Groovin' or Losin'

BROCKBEATS or bust

By Kylie BestPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Lovin' Lava

First off, let me say that I was never into Lo-Fi music for studying or background music until this year. Somehow, my brain functions when I listen to a podcast in the background, or maybe a sitcom I’ve seen a million times (no, it’s not The Office, it’s Frasier). With this, I found that while I was able to concentrate, I was still experiencing feeling rushed or always playing catch up with any project. Along with yoga and meditation, I started changing what I listened to and when I listened to it. This playlist is a little different, as it’s only made up from one artist, BROCKBEATS. This helps me concentrate since there is consistency, and I know what to expect. If I turn on new music, I become distracted by listening. Full playlist can be found at the bottom, and I have listed my top five songs from it below. Anyway, here goes…

Pervert Dancer

This song is a great transition into my active brain into my “zen” mode. It is still very upbeat, but is starting to relax more so than whatever other thing I was focusing on. I have often found that if I go straight from one thing to trying to relax, it almost always never works. The transition is very important for a brain that works like mine (SQUIRREL!). Not only is it upbeat, but it is repetitive, so I don’t have to get distracted listening too intently or waiting for the change in pace.

Subliminal

In all honesty, I probably chose this song because I absolutely love the song and album this song samples (Day Dreaming by Aretha Franklin). Again, it has a bit of an upbeat tempo, I know the song, so I know what to expect already. It’s not distracting enough for me to get up and start dancing, but helps scratch that itch while being soothing at the same time.

Oversleep

Now, here we get a little more slow pace going on, we start to really transition into zen mode. I by this point, I have gotten into the zone whether it be meditating, yoga, working, drawing, etc. As long as I have that little beat to nod my head to, I feel like I can still focus on the task at hand.

Can’t Sleep

Now it really slows down with this one. Again (and maybe I’m starting to repeat myself, much like the beats in these songs), It’s a consistent beat that helps me with concentrating on whatever I’m attempting to do. When I really think about why this helps, I am often reminded of mantras in meditation, how newbies are encouraged to use one that can help them concentrate. I believe this helped me, and is the style of music I lean towards now to relax. Funny how that works, subconscious, am I right?

Change of Heart

This song is a nice song to bounce to while sitting in meditation, or cooking in the kitchen, or have in the background while I paint or draw. It’s lighthearted and brings about a joy (and focus) that everyone deserves to experience. This is probably one of my top go-to songs on this playlist when I first turn it on.

These are my top five songs I chose from the full playlist, which can be found below. It’s easy and it’s breezy! Perfect for a lighthearted listen, and perfect for a background noise when you need something, but not something distracting. Personally, this has always been a struggle of mine. I need noise - but not distracting noise! Know what I’m saying? No, just me? Well, I know it is a little weird, but I am hoping you can find some relevance to my chaotic thoughts, as I try to sort it out myself. I hope you enjoy and feel the music.

playlist
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.