Beat logo

Gordon Lightfoot music threads my needle

The easy melodies of this legendary singer always put me in a peaceful mood.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

The first time I heard a song by Gordon Lightfoot it was "If you could read my mind which was released in 1970. I listened to the tune on an eight tract tape player on the school bus in 1971. I was 13 and in the eighth grade and thought this was one of the most mellow, songs I had ever heard and it always made me feel relaxed. We had a 45 minute drive to and from the junior high school and listening to the music was a way to pass the time.

A few years later I became a fan of Casey Kasem's Top 40 Countdown and Gordon Lightfoot's music was always in the top ten. In 1974 he had chart toppers with "Sundown" and "Carefree Highway." These three became my favorites and I enjoyed these tunes whenever I heard them on the oldies radio stations. Recently I saw a television commercial that advertised Gordon Lightfoot is coming to my town in August. They showed a clip of him singing one of his songs and immediately I began to feel peaceful.

Later that day my blood pressure was relatively high and nothing that I usually did was bringing it down. I thought about how Gordon Lightfoot's music relaxed me as a teenager so I pulled up his songs online. Lightfoot's music is a mix of country, folk, and pop. As I listened to the songs I felt as if I were back in the 1970's when I was young and carefree and I began to feel relaxed. After about 20 minutes my blood pressure had returned to normal.

I was also inspired by the fact that Gordan Lightfoot will be 83 in November and he is still performing. Not everyone who lives to that age is able to keep going. I am inspired to keep moving forward in spite of growing older thanks to this entertainer. He was born Gordon Meredith Lightfoot Jr. in Canada on November 17, 1938, and in addition to singing, he is a guitarist and songwriter. He has even been considered the greatest Canadian singer of all time.

I had a rough weekend because my husband would have been 64 on July 4th. I find I become stressed when I wonder what could have been done differently so that he would still be with me now. I cried a lot over the weekend and was not sure what to do to settle myself down. I am so thankful that I saw the television commercial about Gordon Lightfoot. Hearing him sing brought back memories of carefree days and I found I was no longer dwelling on the fact that I am a widow.

In 2002 Lightfoot suffered severe stomach pain during the second night of a concert and was airlifted to McMaster Medical Centre in Hamilton, Ontario. He underwent emergency vascular surgery because he had a ruptured abdominal aortic aneurysm, The entertainer remained in serious condition in the Intensive Care Unit, was in a coma for six weeks and had a tracheotomy.

He also endured four surgical procedures and after 3 months of hospitalization was able to recuperate at home.In 2003, Lightfoot underwent follow-up surgery to continue the treatment of his abdominal condition. In November he signed a new recording contract with Linus Entertainment and began rehearsing with his band for the first time since his illness.

Gordon Lightfoot's music, his enduring career, and his health challenges have inspired me this week. He never gasve up and is still here giving the world his gift. So many people have succumed to only one medical issue and Lightfoot has dealt with many life threatening situations but pushed passed them. As I listen to his songs, and consider his life I feel such a sense of wellbeing and know that I too can survive all that life throws my way.

Studies indicate that listening to relaxing music lowers blood pressure as well as heart rate. This is good news because it's easier and less expensive to listen to favorite songs than it is to have to purchase expensive prescription drugs that might have side effects. I do, however, advise anyone who has been given medication by their doctor to please continue with your regimen while listening to soft music. If you find that listening to music threads your needle, helps you relax, and decreased your blood pressure please talk to your health care provider before making any changes.

70s music
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.