Beat logo

Don Broco: My first post-lockdown gig

My first lockdown gig with my friend, Vee.

By Chloe GilholyPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

The original date for this gig was the 31st of August, but it got postponed to the 8th of November. Don Broco didn’t have much luck the last time they were due to perform at the O2 in Oxford. The toilets exploded and people were standing in human waste without even realising it. Must have been a bummer for the band. Oh well, shit happens... I liked how they had a sense of humour and thanked the 02 for fixing the toilets. I wasn't there when this infamous incident happened, but if I was there, I would have felt like I was back at work during a D&V outbreak.

Luckily for us, the toilets were working fine. The restrictions had been semi0lifted and all we had to go to go in was to prove that we had both jabs. I had the covid pass on my phone so I was okay. It was a packed night. Don Broco, which I sometimes mistakenly refer to as Don Bronco. Vee tells me the n is silent and fans can get upset if I say it wrong. At least I’m getting it right in this post. Now that I’ve seen them live, I don’t misspell Don Broco as much as I used to. I guess I’m safe.

The two support acts were Noisy and Kid Brunswick. Puns defiantly intended cause they were both pretty fun acts. You could tell there was great chemistry between everybody back stage. It’s clear that they were all having a big laugh but working hard as well. One of the last songs they performed was the T-Shirt song and people took their shirts off and waved them in the air. Having Noisy and Kid Brunswick perform with Don Broco for one song is also a nice touch.

I like Don Broco’s music because it packs a good punch and gets people moving. If you want to get into a good mosh pit, then Don Broco gigs are a great place to do them. I’ve never been in a mosh pit, but they look like they’re fun to do if you’re brave enough. It’s at this adreneline gig is where I learned about the rules of a mosh pit: when somebody is down, you help them up and keep on going.

This gig was a special one for me. I love Oxford for it’s culture, short distance from my hometown and it’s historical relevance. I love their big libraries and access to shops I can’t get to in Banbury. It’s also a lot cheaper, quicker and less stressful than going to London. It’s a win-win all round for me. The 02 on Cowley Road is a nice venue. It’s easy to get to on the bus. You could walk it as well if you like walking. If you come early, there’s plenty of spaces to park.

Merchandise was selling well. People were fighting to get to the front. We stayed near the fire exit by the front, so we still got a good view, but we also weren’t knocked about. I didn’t manage to get many good pictures, but at least I can say I lived to tell the tale.

The 02 in Oxford has lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Where we waited in the queue was also a residential block where people lived. On one hand it would be nice to live there so you could see as many concerts as you like. On the other and, it‘s probally a bugger if you want to get into your house but you can’t because they’re people lining up to see a band.

I have two of Don Broco’s albums on CD. My favourite songs from them are two songs from their album Technology, Blues and Greatness. I also love Gumsheild from their new album, which they performed. I commissioned a mixtape for Vee’s birthday and Gumshield is on it.

It was also really nice just to be at a concert after all the shit this decade has thrown at us. Don Broco is Vee’s favourite band (other than Good Charlotte), and she always goes to see Don Broco when she has a chance. She also tries to see them in cities that she’s never been before. She also hopes to see them perform in their hometown in Bedford.

Vee had a difficult time. Her new job didn’t work out. But I’m glad she’s still here. So I am always thankful for Don Broco for keeping her spirits up.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.