Beat logo

Deserted Island Disc

These songs are to die for…

By Raine NealPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 4 min read
1

I recently heard of the Deserted Island Disc. This is exactly what it sounds like -- a 'disc' of eight songs that are the only eight songs you can take with you to a deserted island. As a lover of all things music, this sounded both impossible and like a super fun challenge. After a week of diliberating, listening to songs over and over to make sure my selection wasn't going to get old quickly, and even conspiring with my friend over an Applebee's 2 for $20, I finally pinned down a (tentative but pretty great) Deserted Island Disc.

Now before I even start, I need to preface that these are not my favorite songs of all time but rather songs that I really enjoy, that I feel would fit the vibe I would want to maintain on the island, and that I feel have good replayability (seeing as I can only listen to these eight songs forever/until I get hypothetically rescued).

Song #1: Helena (So Long & Goodnight) by My Chemical Romance

I listened to this song about a billion times during my week of decision and it only got better each time. It helped that the music video is engrained in my brain, providing a second source of entertainment while listening. It has the nostalgia factor, which proved to be very important for this choosing process. It's just high energy enough with equal parts dark to create a unique listening experience. It's also fun to scream at the top of your lungs.

Song #2: Clocks by Coldplay

This song has the increible ability to transport me to another world in my head. Not only is it so peaceful, but it is written beautifully.The lyrics and the melody of the music itself both play such big roles in the song, making it entirely unique. The replayability on this song is insane, at least for me; I honestly think I could take this song alone to the island and be content. I find something new to love each time that I listen. This is also a disc finalist with nostalgia sewn into its notes.

Song #3: Sister Golden Hair by America

Nothing says vibes, summer sun, and wind in your hair quite like Sister Golden Hair. Truly, in my opinion, one of the greatest feeling songs of all time -- like I mean you really feel this song, in your bones and on your skin. While the lyrics aren't the most upbeat, my personal taste is a deep, meaningful lyric, even if that means that they're sad. However, the smooth guitar theme gives a boost of feel-good energy. Andddd there's an opportunity for a double ceiling-punch on the beat, which is so much fun.

Song #4: Hey Angel by One Direction

Another immaculate feeling song! This is not one of One Direction's more popular songs, though it definitely should be. This song has some of the best vocals from any One Direction song, a sick melody, and, again, satisfyingly depressing lyrics that go great with the happy sounding instrumentals. And the bridge rivals any Taylor Swift bridge -- it goes hard.

Song #5: No Surprise by Daughtry

New category unlocked: redemption song! It sounds sad lyrically but it's actual about freeing yourself and a lover from a going-nowhere relationship. Daughtry's voice is one of my favorite voices because of its rawness, and this song exemplifies it. The nostalgia factor isn't all the way there but pretty close, as it was featured on the shared family iTunes account. Freedom exudes from this song and if you think its just a sad song, listen again.

Song #6: Oh, Calamity! by All Time Low

Suddenly, I'm in junior high, oh my goodness. This song is another chill but sad tune that gives me such sweet, sad satisfaction. The strong vocals make me feel strong and like I don't need to give up (on this theoretical deserted island). All Time Low do angst so well! And another one on the disc to be belted (but this time in despair).

Song #7: Into The Ocean by Blue October

I'm sensing a pattern...of depression...

So maybe a song about drifting off into the ocean is not the best tone-setter for being all alone on an island...surrounded by water...but hey, this is my list and what I say goes. This song never fails to make me feel relaxed (despite its questionably dark lyrical content). It has massive nostalgia vibes and I feel like a child again in the back of my mom's minivan. But aside from that, its a genuinely great song and the message makes it easy to not feel so alone, ironically.

Song #8: Our Own House by Misterwives

Our big finale! Finally, a legitimately, indisputably happy song, and, again, about redemption and finding peace and companionship with someone. The first time I heard this song I listened to it for probably forty-five minutes straight. It is so heart-warming and up-lifting and just everything that's happy and good in the world. I really don't know what it is about this song but it is laced with dopamine and seratonin.

And that concludes my disc! These eight songs are (hopefully) going to get me through the physical, mental, and emotional battles I face (hypothetically) on my lonely island adventure. Hopefully you can listen to this music and get inspiration for your own Deserted Island Disc. Best of luck!

playlist
1

About the Creator

Raine Neal

Just trying to make it through the days - writing is a great way to stay distracted and refreshed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.