Beat logo

Dear Valentine, to survive mid-february, listen to this playlist.

Valentine? Didn't we celebrate it last year?

By Alessia MavakalaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
3

It's the forced monogamy for me. Do we need an annual reminder of the fact that monogamous culture is status quo?

There's no Valnetine for you this year as you just found out your partner has been going on multiple dates with other people you were unaware about.

You can't blame them though, blame the performative monogamy that was injected in our brains.

SCACCIACANI BY KETAMA126 AND MASSIMO PERICOLO

This song is an hyms about proclaimed polyamory and honesty. There's no need to conform to society standars.

The song rap against the conventional notions of love that are usually a cause of suffering.

BEST FRIEND BY BHAD BHABIE

To survive Valentine’s day it is a requirement that you spend some time with your best friends, or at least remind yourself that Valentine’s day is not only about romantic love but also about love for your friends, family members or even God.

Remember that God will always give you unconditional love while if you choose the wrong partner, you might get burned.

It's a good day to become religious or spiritual. The song that I will add to the playlist is Best friend by BHAD BHABIE. ‘

'If she’s got a problem then we’ve got a problem’ is now your daily affirmation. Protect your bestfriend from time waisters and liars, spend a day with them and rememeber, you are not alone.

BITCH BETTER HAVE MY MONEY BY RIHANNA

I know Rihanna hasn’t been releasing songs for five years now as she’s focused on her business. But we can all admit that these songs are still very relevant and allow our emotions to flow and be validated.

This Valentine's day we are reclaiming the money we spent on gifts, getting ready and buying new clothes just to find out, that our soul mate is not our actual soulmate. This year make sure you only spend money for the things that really matter and that will benefit you in the long run.

Also, if your ex said they were going to pay for your dinner and never did. Drop them, this is a red flag. The song is an anthem to independence.

If they ask you again just tell them ‘dont act as you forgot’ this is to remind them that you were taking notes of their bad behaviours to avoid future disappointments.

This song really helps me get through Valentine's day as I know there are so many important things happening and I should focus on making more money instead of making more tears. Financial independence is very important and we can’t go broke on Valentine's day.

IRREPLACABLE BY BEYONCE'

I know you wanted to go on a valentines date with your crush today but they haven’t asked yet right? Well, they’ll not ask tomorrow either so you can stay calm.

Whenever I feel like I’m not being treated right I listen to Irreplaceable by Beyonce. The person in question believes to be irreplaceable? Sing it: ‘don’t you ever for a second get to think that you’re irreplaceable’.

You should remind yourself that this people can be replaced and that everything they own should just go ‘to the left, to the left’.

While listening to this song on Valentines day or anyday around that date, you can delete their number and the pictures you have with them.

OOPS!... I DID IT AGAIN BY BRITNEY SPEARS

Oops I did it again, I played with your heart, I made you believeee...

Britney Spears has been helping me go through life not only on Valentines’s day but every day of my life. She reminds me of the mistakes I’ve made. This Valentine’s day you are not in a relationship because you rejected that guy who went on Mars for you, as you were priortitising your fear of rejection over the possibility of going thought a relationship that could have actually worked.

I know, this is not exactly what you wanted to hear, but is what you need to hear.

It is not a problem, we’re here to learn and understand our emotions. Follow @stephfabry on Tik Tok for a lot of ‘be honest with me’ questions. Being honest with yourself is the first step to survive valentines day and make sure that next year you’ll no longer be in survival mode.

We are not here to survive, we are here to relax.

Be honest with me, what is the real reason you played with their heart? Why did you make them believe?

If it makes you feel better, they probably still think you are more than just friends.

MALA FAMA BY DANNA PAOLA

It’s the bad reputation for me . Valentine's day is not even your day to be honest. You said it yourself, you are not the romantic type.

Still sorrowful and unhappy?

Say it with me: ‘Alexa, play Mala Fama by Danna Paola’

Whenever I listen to this song I feel like a diva, I feel like my energy is being renovated, second after second while I sing this song. It reminds me that I have high standards and self respect comes first.

If you are not looking for a Romeo yet, you probably don’t really need one.

PLASTIC HEARTS BY MILEY CYRUS

Can we all agree Valentine’s day's purpose slightly changed over the years? If so, do you really want to celebrate it? We wanted to celebrate love but now we are celebrating capitalism, yet again.

Whenever I see the billionaires advertising new Valentine’s day products I’m like: ‘wait, I swear I already bought that last year’.

And, as I’ve been listening to Plastic hearts by Miley Cyrus on loop for the past 3 weeks, the sentence ‘sell you something that you already own', keeps bouncing in my head’. I was already obsessed with the song but now that I’m reminded of the fact that people are spending millions on ‘unlimited valentines day collections’...

I’m glad I’m being reminded that I already own these items. It’s a survival technique, when you have a shopping impulse during valentines day or the week after, just play this song, you will immediately put your credit card back in the wallet.

SORRY - BY BEYONCE'

Sorry is the leader of the Anti- Valentines day songs.

Here’s a reminder of why:

‘Middle fingers up, put them hands high

Wave it in his face, tell him, boy, bye

Tell him, boy, bye, middle fingers up

I ain't thinking 'bout you’

This fatal day you are reminded, yet again that some relationships end. It can be sad and frustrating. However, only if you allow that to happen. If you’re not with that specific person anymore, there is a reason. You know the reason… or the reasons. Take your speaker and sing:

‘And I don't feel bad about it

It's exactly what you get

Stop interrupting my grinding

I ain't thinking 'bout you’

You can listen to this Anti-valentines's day playlist on my Spotify. The playlist is named 'Alexa anti Valex'.

playlist
3

About the Creator

Alessia Mavakala

Hey, I'm a filmmaker and I also love acting. Writing is my passion. I love interior design, good food and I believe self care is a form of art.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.