Beat logo

CTS: Cheryl's Talk Show

Hassan Al-J Burton: Power of Words

By Cheryl A Nocera Published 2 months ago 3 min read
1
Al-J: The Rock Star

Today I interviewed Hassan Al-J Burton who started as a teenager rapping, and spitting out riffs. Thirty years later he is still just as strong as what he was back then. Now he performs in Blak Madeem. He can be heard and viewed on multiple platforms youtube, soundcloud, spotify, and Apple music.

People who are rap artist are not just singers. They are performers who have to be able to rhyme, put verses together, have a knowledge of poetry,while having exceptional writing, communication, musical, and organizational skills.

Did you know that rap began by a man DJ Kool Herc on August 11, 1973, while entertaining his sister's back to school party, by trying something different on the turn table (2024 March 12).

Honestly, I am a singer, songwriter, and rap is hard for me. I could not do it. Imagine trying to put a song together with multiple words within a certain time frame. Especially, if you are performing with someone else on the song. Try it. This is not an easy task. Also, while singing these creative lyrics in a timely manor your voice has to be at the correct tone. Check out some of the songs from Al-J in Black Madeen Free the Dome https://youtu.be/ajmeY7HZAq0?si=sYbviDg5zn98SKe5, Powerful Poetry https://youtu.be/0N0X2UbYCJo?si=F5VUmlC1Vv2vPPhu, and finally Cursed https://youtu.be/1s82M-a3xoQ?si=179vJgLppYtBsrlW. Check out the animated video he jus put out https://www.facebook.com/100001282414810/videos/1534460650735773/. I know all artist have to be on time in their music, but rap is a special art.

Al-J talks about how he believes, and feels music everyday. He never stops writing, and feeling the music. Basically, his writing process is anything he hears, and feels, and his passion for his music is spiritually connected.

He even talks about how when he was a child he wanted to be an actor, but when he heard himself on tape he moved forward with singing. That was his aha moment. He was blown away when he heard his voice (you will be to).

When you watch, and hear Al-J perform you will be blown away, and become addicted to hearing him. Trust me I do my housework to his songs. The minute one hears him you will want to hear more. Also, I cannot dance, and you see me move when I listen to his music. Don't worry no one is watching me lol.

Did you know that your voice, hands, and feet can create music. Your voice by singing (everyone has the ability to sing just practice, until you are on key with what you are listening to) your hands make music by clapping, tapping, and snapping, and your feet make sound by stomping, and tapping.

I learned to sing by matching my voice range to whoever I was listening to, until I got it right. I practiced to Barbara Streisand, Pat Benetar, Olivia Newton John, and Rindy Ross.

A side story about Al-J, you would never know he is an extremely talanted artist when you meet him. In fact, I knew him for months as a friend, until he told me. He is humble, fun to be around, great conversationlist, and always honest. He is sincere, kind, and very spiritual. He also believes that everyone in this world deserves to be treated equally.

Check out his music on the platforms listed above. You can hear him rapping on my past show on https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/cheryl-a-nocera/episodes/Al-J-Power-of-Words-e2gruvr. He really does a great interview.

Everyone let's keep the music going, while dancing, and rapping with Blak Madeen. Don't forget to listen while doing dishes, cleaning, and even while you are driving in your car. Who knows you might even take an interest to write your own rap lyrics after listening to them.

Here is my rap verse:

I can hop, skip, and jump up and down. Now I am jumping, swaying, and and turning around.

OK!!!! I will leave the rap verses to Al-J and Black Madeen.

Zuberi, Tukufu, Birthplace of Hip Hop History, found on (2024,March 12). https://www.pbs.org/opb/historydetectives/investigation/birthplace-of-hip-hop/#:~:text=The%20story%20goes%20that%20on,ing%20(rapping)%2 found on (2024 March 12).

Blak Madeen, Cursed, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1s82M-a3xoQ

Free the Dome, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajmeY7HZAq0

Powerful Poetry, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0N0X2UbYCJo

interviewrap
1

About the Creator

Cheryl A Nocera

I am an educator, writer, photographer, and singer song writer. I have a podcast [email protected], and talk show CTS: Cheryl's Talk Show on Spotify I love to share & learn new things. Come join me on this adventure.

Cheryl A Nocera

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.