Beat logo

Celebrating half a century of Joy to the World

The Three Dog Night number one tune impacts lives 50 years later.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Three Dog Night

I grew up listening to Casey Kasem’s top 40 countdown. I lived with my portable radio to my ear as I eagerly listened to my favorite songs. Kasem had a way of making the rise of top 40 singles seem like the greatest show on earth. When songs slid into the top 10 Kasem really had listeners over the moon. Every Saturday afternoon I waited with anticipation to find out if the songs I enjoyed were heading up the chart. One of my favorites continues to be Joy to the World by Three Dog Night. The nonsensical lyrics and the catchy tune would stick in my head and I found myself singing it often. I was 12 years old in 1971 when this single was released and I followed its progress religiously. It was on the group's album titled Naturally.

I enjoyed listening to Casey Kasem each week announce the bsong going higher on his countdown and the week it was first announced as number one I was so full of anticipation. I actually clapped and cheered that this joyful song had made it to the top spot. The band members later admitted that it was a silly kids song, written by country singer Hoyt Axton and they did not expect its success. Joy to the World was number the number one single on Billboard’s Hot 100 for six weeks and also the number one pop song for the entire year Today the song is listed as Pop, Soul, and R&B. I remember Three Dog Night performing this hit on American Bandstand and also other television shows. The group’s harmonies along with the upbeat music made this song very popular.

Joy to the World is one of many songs that have impacted my life greatly and I can say honestly that this particular tune may have had the biggest influence. So many singing groups were. either all black or all white and their music was geared to a specific audience. Three Dog Night has a black member and their music was not straight R&B or Rock. There’re audience was people of all races which was sort of rare in the early 1970s. Country, rock, pop and soul music were played on different radio stations but I heard Joy to the World marketed to the masses. I loved that this single as well as the band broke racial barriers.

When I hear Joy to the World today I think back fondly on the days of long haired hippies, big Afro’s, bell bottom pants and tie dyed shirts and jeans. This was a coming of age song during a time when life was a bit more innocent. Joy to the World changed the way I viewed music and made it ok for me to listen to a song that was not straight R&B. The lyrics elicit emotions of happiness as the lead singer wishes Joy to all the world, boys and girls and fish in the sea. The song is, simply put-fun, and makes you feel that peace, happiness and harmony are attainable. The Denver Bronco's actually play this hit after every game. It was also played after Super Bowl numbers 33 and 50.

I recall when Joy to the World was playing on a local dance show called Saturday Session. It was the week when the students from the High School I was going to attend were the dancers. It was surreal listening to my favorite tune and seeing people I knew dancing to it. Just hearing the intro to Joy to the World makes happy. It’s definitely one of my all time favorites rite songs of which there are many. Joy to the World was certified gold in April 1971, having sold one million copies in the United States and later sold five million units worldwide. The song has been used in a number of television shows and movies including The Big Chill and was played in a Big Lots commercial in 2017 and 2018.

One of the most unique aspects of Joy to the World is that all seven of Three Dog Night's band members sang the vocals instead of the three men who usually lead. I admired this because it was such a change from groups with names like Frankie Valli and the Four Season, Diana Ross and the Supremes and Smokey Robinson and the Miracles. It only seems like yesterday that Joy to the World was a choice in Juke Boxes, and being played on radio stations. In November it will be a half century since the Naturally album was released and Joy to the World became a worldwide hit. Three Dog Night did not consider this their best song, but it seems to be the most memorable and best loved by myself and other fans for close to 50 years.

song reviews
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.