Beat logo

Make my funk the PFunk

The desired effect is what you get.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Michael L Preston Jr. and George Clinton

"Yeah, W E F U N K, y'all now this is what I want you all to do

If you got faults, defects or shortcomings you know

Like arthritis, rheumatism or migraines

Whatever part of your body it is, I want you to lay it on your radio

Let the vibes flow through, funk not only moves, it can remove, dig?

The desired effect is what you get

When you improve your Interplanetary Funksmanship."

I presume, that I must have improved my Interplanetary Funksmanship in January of 1976 because I heeded the above lyrics from the Parliament song PFunk wants to get funked up and I do believe I received the desired results. I was 17 at the time and was wearing a cast on my left arm and shoulder due to an accidental shooting that left my bones shattered. My grandmother said she expected me to end up like a man who was married to one of her cousins, whose arm hung limp after he was shot and he could never use it again. Grandma prepared herself for my suffering this same fate and the doctors did not offer any type of prognosis except wear the cast for eight weeks and wait and see. I, however, had another plan.

I recalled the phrase from health class that milk builds strong bones and teeth and I increased my consumption of cows milk. Each time I drank a glass I said out loud, "Milk builds strong bones and teeth." I believed that when the cast was removed, that my progress would astound everyone because I had increased my consumption of milk. One day near the end of January, I was home alone and listening to the radio on my new stereo that my mom had given me for Christmas. It was one of those long wooden ones where you lifted the lid and put the records down inside. I had the radio tuned in to the local R&B station and noticed that a man was talking rather than singing. I later learned that this recording was PFunk wants to get funked up by Parliament and the voice that was speaking belonged to George Clinton.

On this particular afternoon, I found myself listening intently to the words of PFunk wants to be funked up and when George Clinton said to lay your ailing body part on the radio, I did. I placed my left arm that was in the cast on top of the stereo believing there might be some truth to what had been spoken. I expected to get the cast off in six weeks because of obeying the command in the song but the doctor stuck with eight weeks, due to the severity of the injuries. When the cast finally came off in eight weeks, I could move my arm normally and was grateful that what my grandma had said did not come to pass. The only problem I had was that I could not lift my left arm as high as my right one. I began using hand weights and stretching my arms, but did not really think about it too much. One day many years later I realized that both arms were stretching equally.

Do I believe that George Clinton's words had supernatural healing power? To some degree, yes. There have been numerous studies about the power of music therapy to heal and Parliament became my all time favorite group. Their funky beats inspire me to move and dancing is a form of exercise. On that day in January 1976, WEFUNK was just what I needed a that time. I know that no real power came from the radio that aided my healing, but listening to Make my funk the PFunk gave me a point of contact for my faith that my arm would not be damaged for life. Together with my belief that drinking milk would mend my shattered bones, it worked together for my benefit.

Just a few days ago I was asked if I ever experienced pain or discomfort in my arm and the answer is no. I don't have arthritis and cold weather and rain do not cause me any pain. During the late 1970’s and early 1980s, Parliament was the favorite group of so many young people. My brothers and I along with our friends attended their concerts five or six times and purchased all their albums. Each time the group sang to Make my funk the PFunk I wants to be funked up, I played it myself or heard it on the radio I thought about the day I put my arm on the stereo. I know it’s entirely possible that my bonrs would have healed the same way without my hearing George Clinton’s voice that day, but the fact is I did.” I was a young impressionable girl and that song was a part of my coming of age.

Whenever I hear Make my funk a PFunk, I recall the days of my youth and how much of my life has been shaped by George Clinton and his music. A few years back, my oldest son met the funk pioneer after a concert and had a photo taken. He told Clinton that his father and I were big fans and that he grew up listening to his music. According to Wikepedia, PFunk wants to get funked up and other George Clinton music have been sampled more than anyone else except James Brown. I conclude by utilizing the words of the song and believe that I followed the instructions by letting the vibes flow through and the funk moved and removed, dig?

humanity
1

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.