Beat logo

BWIM: A Salute to the Party!

Party in the 70's & 80's: Black Women in Music

By Simone Hardy Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A Badd Girl!

Party Hardy! Is what they used to call me. I am an Old School R&B party girl. The Eighties was my turf. Going to the Club was an Art to me. It could have been a science too. I would either go with my sister DD and my brother-in law, Steven and Tina, Diane and E-Fraj. That was the older crew. Then I had my crew - Terri, Nadine, DD and myself. Oh, these two crews were exclusively the Weekend. During the week I would party with Michelle. Michelle and I worked across the street from each other and after work we would hit the club usually on a Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday.

Donna Summer here we come. We were definitely Badd Girls partying during the week. We paid for this because we were hungover the next day, not from alcohol (I didn't drink), more from a few hours of sleep and up at 7 to get to work by 9 am.

I was not your typical party girl. I moved in Solo. Very rarely would you see me on the dance floor with a partner. I was considered a "FREE SPIRIT". The one who danced by herself. Enjoying the music for what it was there to do: Move Your Feet to the Beat! Let Your Body Flow! Don't get it twisted. I was Always checking for the fly guy with the right moves. Every so often I would be successful.

As this piece is dedicated to Black Women in Music, it makes me think of the many that have contributed to some of the best times I had while partying.

The Infamous Patti Labelle comes to mind. When I heard, "Hey Sister, go Sister... that was all it took to get my feet moving.

Natalie Cole was the crooner getting people to slow down on the dance floor with Love on My Mind among other slow jams.

Stephanie Mills could join the ranks of crooner Natalie Cole, however, Stephanie was in a league of her own. Starting out as our own little Dorothy in the Wiz, Stephanie's voice was always above all others. Standing at 4 feet 11 inches, her voice was one to be reckoned with. I used to wish I could sing like Stephanie/Dorothy. And yeah secretly - I Still do. Lol.

Then we have A Taste of Honey! These ladies remind me of the unity with my crew. We were fly girls, dressing up, stepping out to have a night on the town and Yes Party Hard.

The night was not done unless and until a few songs were played. Boogie Oogie Oogie was definitely one and let's not Forget Heartbeat by Taana Gardner. When the DJ would spin those first two boom booms from the record, my feet, your feet and Everyone else's bodies were on the dance floor in a frenzie to bounce to the Hella beat. And when the part came,

...Oh, it really makes me wanna freak -

you're so sweet - sweet enough to

eat oh my Heartbeat, sweet...

Everybody on the dance floor lit the floor up, especially me and my kind - FREE SPIRITS - doing our thing in our own style whatever that may be to express oneself, that might include jumping. a pirouette, a split or a Duet!

My party days represent some of the best memories hanging out with my crew - Terri, Nadine, DD and Me. We were young fly girls dressing up and stepping out to some of the best music by some of the most beautiful and talented Black Women in Music of this time period. These Phenomenal Women - Donna, Patti, Natalie, Stephanie, Taana and the Duet, Janice- Marie Johnson and Perry Kibble aka A Taste of Honey- bringing their special blend of music flavor. All of these Women had the style, flair and confidence that allowed them to produce the Music that made anyone who heard it want to get on the dance floor. These women made me feel great, look good on the dance floor and helped create great memories for me and my crew that we will never forget. As humans, we remember most How someone makes us feel. These Phenomenal Women made me feel Phenomenally!

I was a Bad Girl looking for a party with a Heartbeat so I could Boogie Oogie Oogie...You get the Idea: Party Time!

Thank you for taking a moment. If I've provided value, a heart would be appreciated.

By Jason Leung on Unsplash

Patti Labelle

Stephanie Mills

Natalie Cole

A Taste of Honey

Taana Gardner

80s music
1

About the Creator

Simone Hardy

I AM that I am that I AM. What does that mean? Just what it says. Lol.

I made my way through the Stargate and landed in Brooklyn, New York some time ago. I'm a Thinker, not so much a tinkerer and I am always ready to say something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.