Beat logo

BTS' Love for ARMY: The Most Iconic of Duos

"It's so hot, ARMY. Because..."

By Ghezal AmiriPublished 4 years ago 12 min read
1
BTS Celebrating ARMY Day 2020

Musical groups expressing their appreciation for their fans is certainly not a new phenomenon. Whether it be with a grateful "thank you" featured in a song or a heartfelt message tweeted out to their millions of followers, artists are aware of how valued their devoted fans feel following an occasional proclamation of their love.

The adoration BTS demonstrates for the BTS ARMY, however, is truly unlike any other.

The acronym ARMY stands for "Adorable Representative MC for Youth" and is the name fans of the talented septet refer to themselves. The group announced this official title a month following their debut in 2013 with the meaning behind it containing the significant bond ARMYs share with them:

"ARMY is military in English, the body armor and military are always together, so it means that the fans will always be together with the Bangtan Boys."

From their initial debut as a passionate and eager young crew handing out flyers f0r their free concert to selling out multi-thousand seated capacity stadiums in minutes, the incredible rise of BTS has been one fueled by their blood, sweat and tears with the ARMY remaining a consistent instrumental force for them.

Fellow ARMY @majestaekim created a fantastic twitter thread on BTS' love for their fans and I will be using a number of posts from it to highlight this pure devotion.

I firmly believe a crucial aspect of BTS that makes them wholly unique is their genuine earnestness.

The immense financial success the group rightfully secures cannot be overstated - it's been well noted that they've reportedly contributed over $4 billion to South Korea's GDP meaning they are doing pretty well for themselves... They are also some of the most humble individuals you can possibly encounter, seemingly managing to not allow their wealth cloud their humility regardless of just how much they've amassed.

There are numerous charitable causes the group has quietly contributed to that later became public knowledge. During the Black Lives Matter movement in June, BTS and their management company BigHit Entertainment donated $1 million to BLM which led to thousands of ARMY attempting to match the donation, ultimately resulting in successfully raising over $1 million in 24 hours.

BTS consistently attributes their vast triumphs to the ARMY. Whether it be during a busy red carpet at an acclaimed awards ceremony or a quiet afternoon sharing their thoughts with millions of fans during a live stream, every member makes it known how appreciative they are for their loyal base.

Kim Namjoon (RM)

Kim Seokjin

Min Yoongi (SUGA)

Jung Hoseok (J-Hope)

Park Jimin

Kim Taehyung (V)

Jeon Jungkook

(I've included a separate section for the Golden Maknae further down this article.)

While all of their collective talent is certainly the foundation of Bangtan, the Boys are constantly composing, editing and crafting their music to achieve the level of excellence they strive for.

There is never a BTS performance given where the viewer can tell they are phoning it in. Every aspect of it from the intricate choreography to stunning vocals seems to be effortless when executed by the members but if you're like me and you feel winded after climbing up stairs, you would be acutely aware of just how arduous this process is.

During an interview with the Zach Sang Show, member Jimin touched upon this idea by revealing that regardless whatever song they are performing, they "practice hard to perfect [it], because we know our fans will be seeing this."

As someone who has watched countless BTS live performances once or twice (possibly give or take a few thousand times), I can assure you it is I who underwent a cardio workout while watching the mesmerizing group aim to defy fatigue in order to provide the greatest possible execution of their hit song for the ARMY. It is a massive undertaking we are all immensely appreciative of yet we'd also gladly spend all the money in the world to watch the Boys karaoke in their grandest PJ attire (which - funnily enough - is a prospect that can actually be viewed for free through their variety web series called Run BTS!)

"Let's Get It!"

The "Golden Maknae" of BTS (meaning the youngest member of the group/a remarkably talented figure), Jungkook, repeatedly assures anyone who will listen just how important ARMY is to him. There have been numerous occasions when he's been overcome with emotion when discussing the significance of the fandom.

Seeing as how he joined the group when he was 15 years old in international age, both his BTS members and the entirety of ARMY hold a special place in their collective hearts for JK.

... Not to mention he's committed an entire hand to his Bangtan brethren by featuring a number of tattoos dedicated to the members along with what is perhaps the most touching dedication an artist can obtain for their fans: the word "ARMY" displayed proudly across his knuckles with the ARMY logo included as well.

5 of my Favourite Songs Dedicated to ARMY

Believe me when I tell you trying to pick and choose a specific number of BTS tracks for any purpose is an unbelievably painstaking endeavour (I once wrote a BTS Quarantine Playlist article that I spent more time on than I did on probably a majority of the papers I wrote in university.)

Now let's take that endeavour and try to narrow it down to a recommendation of a handful of songs that are specifically dedicated to the ARMY and what's left is a tough gig that somebody must rise to the occasion for...

Unfortunately that someone is me but I do think I am up to the challenge!

Determined member V in Run BTS! episode 102 [BigHit Entertainment]

A slight disclaimer: realistically, every BTS song has some kind of inherent dedication to the ARMY whether it's explicitly mentioned or not. I wanted to focus specifically on just a few of them I believe best represents the distinctive bond ARMY shares with BTS.

"2! 3! (Still Wishing For More Good Days)"

There are many examples off BTS' discography where they are refreshingly open with their own personal struggles and vulnerabilities. Doing so not only allows for fans to feel all the more connected to them but it grants the group freedom to not hold back or censor themselves if they want to address universal issues.

I consider "2!3!" one of their best because they acknowledge the conflicts they face by being Idols:

"Because you’re all idols/It sucks even if I don’t hear it/I don’t like your lyrics/I can already imagine the performance."

Yet due to the eternal support and faith from the ARMY, they are ultimately able to overcome these struggles:

"(So thanks) for believing in me /For handling these tears and scars /(So thanks) for being my light /For being a flower in the most beautiful moment of life."

"Pied Piper"

Journalist and devout ARMY Brian Patrick Byrne's base description of this song brings me such joy:

The track "Pied Piper" is known for its hypnotically sensuous body rolls and wistfully teasing lyrics that the group execute flawlessly. As your senses become mystified by their vast glory, they simultaneously encourage listeners to "stop watching and study/Your parents and bosses hate me" and to strive in ultimately not allowing everything Bangtan to absorb your entire being...

As someone whose entire being is already absorbed by everything Bangtan, I wish myself luck with that.

"Magic Shop"

BTS' reverence for the cosmos stems back to their 2014 song "Blanket Kick" ("I was too shy to become your sun so I became a cold moon") and continues through to "Magic Shop":

"You were the one that made your way to me /I do believe your galaxy /I want to listen to your melody /Your stars in the Milky Way."

As one of their most personal works, producer Jungkook stated during a 2018 press meeting the importance the song holds as being a source of comfort for the cherished ARMYs who may be having to endure immense daily hardship:

"To those who want to escape from the reality, those who are frustrated and tired, if you open the door in your heart, there is Magic Shop. In the Magic Shop, we will be the consolation and strength for our fans. 7 members will be waiting for you there."

"Mikrokosmos"

Back when the world was normal, BTS concluded their respective Speak Yourself extension tour with this song.

It just so happens that I've repeatedly watched every live performance of "Mikrokosmos" made available on the internet and even if you have never heard anything Bangtan before, this production is nothing short of spectacular:

Continuing with the cosmos theme, "Mikrokosmos" asks the listener to look up at the night sky and posits "Perhaps the reason this night looks so beautiful (Oh) / Is not because of these stars or lights, but us." The "Us" being BTS and ARMY.

The unshakable bond shared between the two fuels the night sky to shine its brightest ("Starlight that shines brighter in the darkest night/The deeper the night, the brighter the starlight") and when the hundreds of drones are floating around you while Seokjin croons "shine, dream, smile" any control you previously had on your emotions are unleashed.

"We are Bulletproof: the Eternal"

As I mentioned in the BTS Quarantine Playlist piece, this song is an emotive love letter from BTS to the ARMY.

Off their most recent album Map of the Soul: 7, "We are Bulletproof: the Eternal" is truly a proper summation of just how appreciative of the ARMY the Boys are when it comes to the success they've rightfully earned after years of brutally hard work.

When they say "We were only seven... But we have you all now" and proceed to shower the millions upon millions of loyal fans with unabashed love, you feel it through to the depths of your being and just like with everything BTS does, it hits hard.

"I Love You more than Love, ARMY"

June 13th, 2013 is the seminal date when BTS made their debut. To commemorate the band's recent seventh anniversary, beloved group leader RM took to Weverse (the official fan community app from BigHit Ent.) to post a reflective essay he wrote on his feelings about the journey he's taken to get to where he is today.

Another ARMY on Twitter named @doyou_bangtan translated the moving message to English:

"What in fact is time? It feels as if I'm witnessing a rock on some seashore, it's form changed by the simple and calm comings and goings.. this way and that. A short period of time if considered short... but such a long one if long. It has been a full 10 years since I came to Seoul and entered the Nonhyeondong lodging in the summer of 2010. I truly do feel like a Seoul citizen now.

For it is characteristically Bangtan to do so, I thought I had observed our old and earliest selves many many times, but in the process of thoroughly studying photos from our debut period one after another, I didn't feel like the me that I had known, so they felt strange and unfamiliar. Like the Gestaltzerfall [in which the whole is other than the sum of the parts like it has decomposed and ceases to have meaning]... As I had debuted as the sharp, foil-permed Rap Monster, I had believed that intensity would mean I would not have changed even if I had changed much. But a person from another era was standing there with a surreptitious smile on his face.

Mm... today, also, I laughed a lot with my friends as we practiced our choreography. I thought also of the spirited letter I had written around the time of debut, promising that I would make you all proud.

Dates are... I believe anniversaries are the special signposts in a very tedious and obvious life. It is a curious thing, that we can feel better due to a number.

I, at last, feel like I can breathe easily. It is a true relief that we could race on, healthily, smilingly. If I look to my side, I see friends, who have become much cooler and so I brace myself. Even after seven years, there are a couple of things that can't be grasped... can't be explained that rise up in my heart, fiery and strong. Moments that I sometimes miss but can never come again... But, I was happy then because it was then, and I am happy now because it is now.

Though it is a little embarrassing to have pictures of the unrefined me posted here and there, the me of yesterday is surely me, so, I've now come to want to see the photos of my graduation album that I'd ripped apart a long time ago. (Though if I did see it, I'd surely regret it...)

As I read through the overflowing number of news stories today, also, I had this thought. What is different around the world now compared to seven years ago, ten years ago? In that time, what have I achieved? My hollow shouts, my meaningless motions... and the warm love from places all around the world that did not leave them as they were. In the midst of my floundering helplessness, I continue to mull over what I can and cannot do. In this way, I live out my seventh year.

I thank you for giving me life and for allowing me to never give up. That you so much. I will work hard, just like I've shouted through the seven years... Still, as ever, I hope that my love is being delivered to you. I love you more than love, ARMY.

- Namjoon."

I previously wrote about the significance their song "ON" had on me during this unprecedented moment of our history and briefly touched upon why I am as devoted to Bangtan as I am:

There are popular figures I admire who will continue to have a dedicated shrine of them in the various corners of my room for the foreseeable future.

But the adoration I feel for BTS is different.

BTS encourages me to look beyond the surface. BTS reassures me that it's okay to fail. BTS asks me to look up at the infinite night sky and think of them when I need it.

BTS taught me to love myself first.

I will continue to be ARMY for as long as they'll have me not only because of how much they adore us but because of why it's so hot...

You can follow my various Bangtan musings (see: happy crying over Vmin) on Twitter.

Or read my tribute to Jimin's love of snow for Vocal's Love More Challenge.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ghezal Amiri

Afghan-Canadian writer who enjoys witty quips and BTS, proper grammar and Jodie Comer.

I tweet with @MrsBananaPhone because it's the best and beats the rest.

I also have designs: https://www.teepublic.com/user/designingsimple

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.