Beat logo

Boy, Last Night Hurt

By: Alison

By AlisonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Boy, Last Night Hurt
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

"It took too long x3 for you to call back and usually I would just forget that... you were driving round town the the girl I love and I'm like...Baby x3 Oh! I thought you'd always be mine..." Potential Breakup Song by Aly & AJ, Forget You by CeeLo Green, and Baby by Justin Bieber. Yup, you guessed it. I'm a 2000's baby. To be honest, I only listed these three songs because... did you see how they flowed together in that run on sentence? Anyways, let's get to the playlist.

1. Like a Boy by Ciara.

This song is, to this day, my go to break up song from my teen years. This song made me realize that there is this unspoken double standard when it comes to men and women when in any type of "relationship". Whether that be Friends with Benefits, Situationships, or full fledged dating. If a women were to do what any man did to her, they would never forgive her the way she forgives him. My ladies understand what I'm saying. For example, the boy I've written about in my previous stories has gone behind my back and been with other women. Of course, when I found out, I poured nutella and foot powder all over his clothing. Along with smearing chocolate cake on the rest of his stuff and pouring grapes juice in his work boots.

Do you think he ever did that, again? One time, a month later. So, guess what I did? Packed his stuff up and kicked him out. After THAT he officially stopped and finally changed. Anyways, do you think he would've take me back so easily after sleeping with the amount of women he'd slept with? Even though he says he would have forgiven me, he wouldn't have. I know that boy like that back of my hand.

2. Last Night by Az Yet

This song was introduced to me by the same man from before, of course. Apparently, I'm obsessed with this guy. This song is a great sex song, but still gets you in your feelings. This man turns this passionate night into a beautiful story. He saw ...the sun, the moon, the mountains and the river... we can all assume, or at the least look up, what all that meant on our own time. If you're looking for a night of passion this is it.

3. Pretty Hurt by Beyonce

My own mother always told me I had to look proper so I wouldn't tarnish the family name. My hair always had to "look right", mind you my hair is curl city. It was always about the family name. My family always told me I was too skinny and that I looked anorexic ,You'll hear about that story soon, So, when I gained 40 pounds in college (I lost it all don't worry) my family was shocked. They constantly told me "you need to lose weight", "No man is going to want you looking like that". They went from telling me that I look anorexic to you're so big that no man is going to want you looking like that. Now, while my family was telling me how skinny I was, Pretty Hurts came out. At the time, my mother didn't know how to deal with my curly hair, so she constantly straightened it. Beyonce made me realize it didn't matter how I looked. It didn't matter if my mother couldn't handle my curls. What mattered was how I accepted myself. I would soon learn how to do my own hair. I would soon learn how to love my body. I would learn how to truly embrace myself. I actually, didn't truly learn all of this until I turned the ripe age of 20.

I hope you enjoyed the article. Please tip generously. I greatly appreciate it. Thank you.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Alison

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.