Beat logo

Black women in music

Influential sound

By James M. PiehlPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

If you want to talk music, music has had a real influence in my life. The sound of Etta James was pure poetry and beauty. She sang these stories that grabbed my attention and her sound was both powerful, lovely and alluring to me. I'd rather go blind and At last were two that grabbed my attention immediately when I was young. Everybody knew Aretha, and Diana Ross and I think Donna Summer. They were big names in the T.V. era and they sound great. Everybody knows Whitney Houston her vocal power is amazing. I loved T.L.C. I think Chili was my favorite but T-Boz and Lisa 'Left Eye' Lopez were great part of the group, too. I think used to try to pick one to like but it didn't fully work, so I gave up and decided I could like them all. I'm not sure I could choose a favorite. I loved Salt and Peppa. I wanted to be some fries with my shake shake booty. They were two beautiful women, singing a women perspective that I liked to here, like with the song Schoop. Mary J. Blige, Mariah Carey, Toni Braxton. They just had these amazing sound qualities. Bessie Smith, Muddy Waters made me want to go to the mighty, muddy Mississippi river. They romanticized radio for me. I wanted to be around the airwaves when they were new, first beginning. Even the look of the microphones that caught and funneled the sound were cool. The large head microphones are the ones I am speaking about, not the big screen in front of the ice cream cone looking microphones. Etta James sound seemed to me the same country sound as Patsy Cline. I never looked into were Etta James was, I know Detroit had a big blues influence, I guess St. Louis must have, I know Harlem was a big place for it. I don't know where it started, I know Hank Williams was one of the first, televised or radio, I think. The Supremes, The Ronettes, whoever the woman in the Platters was. The sounds of the seventies and then my lifetime. My cognitive lifetime. Whitney was biggest which lead into Salt and Peppa and T.L.C. and the current culture of music today. It is a talent to tell a story in short form, to give a full visual picture with the lyric representation of the poetry of song. It is one thing to sound good but paired with the beauty of a great lyrical story really gives life to music. I always loved listening to what they had to say. They had these stories of life. Some were fraught with tragedy, some were just joyous exclamations but that is the beauty of music. Whatever it was that made this person or that person sing what they were singing about and bring that message to a large audience and carry that story into the future on a recording meant to last forever. It was a new technological transition. We, people, invented writing to carry stories of the past to the future forever. Before writing, they were word of mouth passed on from person to person, family to family, carried on through family and conversation. Then they invented symbols to represent sound and when put together they formed a word, then they invented writing utensils, ink, parchment and paper, then pen, pencil. Right now I don't know which came first the paper or the ink. Anyway, after that, people came up with a way to carry the voice of a person into the future, so you can hear the way that person sounds as they sing their song first hand I am grateful for that. I am glad I can hear the beauty of that singers sound, even if I can't meet them in person any more. I love the fact that I can experience the sound and songs of these artists and musicians even if I can't get there in person or even whenever I want at my convenience, and don't always have to wait for a live performance. I thank the black women of music for the beauty and entertainment they have brought to my life.

history
Like

About the Creator

James M. Piehl

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.