Beat logo

Behind the Song "Bambi"

The song that changed my life

By Ada ZubaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Bambi (This is not a Disney Song)

Music can speak louder than words. We all know it is true. There are many genres of music out there for everyone from classical to rap from country to heavy metal. I do not think there is anyone in the world who has said: "I don't like music". There are many amazing artists out there that I have looked up to including Beyonce, Ed Sheeran, and Coldplay. However, at one point in my life I could no longer stand pop music, it was starting to get very repetitive and artists were taking original songs such as "Numa Numa" and then turning it into "Live your Life" by Rihanna and T.I. I was getting sick of the lack of creativity in artists. This was when I was still in high school. So, I was I think sixteen or fifteen around the time. I wanted something to fill the void of new songs. My oldest sister had started dating this guy and his music taste was as she at the time claimed as "kinda weird". Then, one Christmas her now-husband (at the time boyfriend) gave her a large box and my sister kept unwrapping it, he put a box within a box within a box and within a box, I think there were more boxes, but anyway and she came to the gift which was an iPod nano I can't remember what generation it was, but it was all touch screen and tiny. He had put all of his favorite songs on it, so she could listen to it. One day, after my sister came back from hanging out with him, she introduced me to a song titled "Bambi" by a band, which I had never heard of at the time that was and is to this day called Tokyo Police Club. As soon as she started playing it on the iPod speakers something amazing happened. I heard odd noises starting out, which then started to grow into a rhythm and the drum kit entered the scene of the music. The lyrics were unique and original "I want to tell you there's a really good reason why I came home wasted in the middle of the night, a tiny kingdom at the bottom of the trees where I was always a winner and usually right" were the first lyrics that came to my ears. I have never heard of any lyrics like it and then the chorus was uplifting. Ever since hearing those lyrics and that raw sound I could not stop listening to the song. I played in circles for days at a time, I then downloaded it onto my own iPod and I would blast my eardrums as I walked down the halls of my high school. Then, I took a risk and started listening to Tokyo Police Club's other songs such as "Your English is Good" and I found the song fun and upbeat, which then led me to find more of their other songs and I was liking every single one, by the end of high school I knew all their lyrics by heart. I started discovering more artists of the same genre and discovered that indie rock was my favorite genre of all time. nearly ten years later and I am still listening to Tokyo Police Club and I still note it as one of my favorite bands. I do not know what it is but I can't seem to get sick of them. This song "Bambi" by Tokyo Police Club has changed my life, it did not give me any life-altering decision or anything to make a light from heaven to pour down on me with angles singing, but it changed the way I listen to music. Since then I have discovered many other bands such as Ottawa the band, Arcade Fire, Passion Pit, and Foster the People. I have expanded my horizons in music thanks to that one song that changed my perspective. I now know that I do not have to be tied down to one genre, I have learned to love punk rock bands such as Sum 41 or My Chemical Romance. I'm glad that my oldest sister had introduced me to the song and I am glad that I found other songs thanks to her. Take a listen to it below:

alternative

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello and welcome to my page. I love reading fantasy, mystery and thrillers. I am an Amazon Affiliate Marketer even if I make no money, but it keeps my spending habits down. I love writing in different genres and challenging myself.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Ada ZubaWritten by Ada Zuba

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.