Beat logo

ARTISTS MY PARENTS INTRODUCED ME TO WHEN I WAS YOUNG

Before they were all 'hype' by millennials

By Axelle T. MarchesinPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
4
ARTISTS MY PARENTS INTRODUCED ME TO WHEN I WAS YOUNG
Photo by Mick Haupt on Unsplash

Did you use to have that when you were younger in school? When you were with your friends, and they had a "Dark Side of the moon' t-shirt, and you were like "oh so you like Pink Floyd??" and they were like "Pink who?" - *Facepalm*. That happened so many times.

Anyway, this is not to make fun of people who don't know this amazing band but because I don't understand why someone would wear a t-shirt of something they don't know about.

But that is not the point of the article. The point is that I was so proud that I knew who Pink Floyd was when I was ten.

My dad is really into music, and although I didn't grow up with him much, whenever I would talk to him or see him, we would always bond around music. Here are some of the artists he has introduced me to, that I am proud of knowing.

Pink Floyd. I mean... yeah. I can't imagine a world with my dad without Pink Floyd. Most of the memories I have with my dad is with Pink Floyd. I remember when I was a kid and, we would go on road trips and he would play Animals or The wall FULL BLAST on the motorways with the windows down. It was so embarrassing at first, but then I started feeling like a badass. My favourite history teacher in school was also a huge Pink Floyd fan and would be wearing the t-shirts to school - So I was the teacher's pet then (no shame in that). I also went to Roger Waters' concert with my dad and my sister when I was fifteen. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life. I wish I could go back now again, now that I am older. I did enjoy it a lot then, but now that I am older, I would enjoy it so much more.

Marillion. If you are a Pink Floyd fan, I'd recommend you to listen to Marillion. It's a bit like Pink Floyd, a bit less psychedelic, but still awesome. Thank you, Dad, for introducing me to that - Thanks to that I managed to win a pub quiz. One of the questions was to guess a song, I recognised 'Lavender' withing the first couple of seconds. I was so proud of myself ha-ha. Wish my dad was there.

Ennio Morricone. Everybody has heard songs from Ennio Morricone - Or will recognise the songs from the Good, the Bad and the Ugly. But knowing more than that? I don't know. Well, I did. I feel like his songs were kind of in the background of my life sometimes. Am I the only one to feel this way? Maybe I'm just weird like that.

David Bowie. Everybody knows who David Bowie is nowadays. But I wonder if people who know who he is, knew his songs when they were five? I don't know about that, but I did. I remember my mom in the morning, playing 'Heroes' or 'Let's dance' just to start the day. It was so much fun and a great way to start the day.

Queen. Same as Bowie. Everybody knows Queen now, but I knew Queen before anyone else in my class. I remember in High school, we had an English lesson and we had the 'Bohemian Rhapsody' lyrics to fill in. It was a lot of words blanked out and we had to listen to the song and fill in the blanks. You know the drill. Anyway, I remember filling the blanks before even listening to the song and my teachers and classmates were all like "What?" and I remember how obvious that was and I didn't understand why I was the only one that way. It was so much fun. My mom used to play 'We will rock you' or 'Show must go on' early in the morning as well.

Guns n Roses. I like to think that my name is Axelle due to Axl Rose. I'm afraid not - It comes from Axel Foley. However, I think it has influenced my dad to choose that name. I remember when I was a kid singing 'Sweet Child O' Mine' with my dad, great memories.

Mark Knopfler. My dad has recommended me to listen to Mark Knopfler a few years ago and I have to say that I love listening to his songs. It just so nice and I feel like travelling every time I listen to those.

U2. I grew up the album 'All that you can't leave behind'. I remember that one of the albums that my dad left in our house was that one and I use to listen to it so many times. 'Walk On', 'Elevation' and of course 'Beautiful day' were like the theme songs of my youth. Since then, every time I hear songs for that album, I feel better.

I feel grateful for the musical knowledge I got from my parents. I think more people should share the love of something with their family. Love of cooking, love of drawing, of driving? Just something that you can share with your family.

list
4

About the Creator

Axelle T. Marchesin

Hi, my name is Axelle, I am a 25 year old French girl who lives in The UK. I am passionnate about travelling, cooking and music. I have also started painting - Still a work in progress. Hope you guys will like my posts :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.