Beat logo

Another 21 Bands I Like

Keep The Music Going!

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Another 21 Bands I Like
Photo by blocks on Unsplash

I enjoyed writing my article 21 Bands I Love, and it made me want to write another 21 bands I love article. I made a list of all the other bands I liked besides my favourite 21 and I ended up with more bands than I needed, so if you keep your eyes peeled, there may be another 21 bands I like in the near future.

Delain

Country: Netherlands

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Famous Works: We Are The Others and The Human Contradiction seem to be adored. April Rain is well liked as well.

Favourite Works: Their first album Ludicity.

Seen Live? I did. Hard to believe it was a decade ago. They were fantastic, so much energy and passion.

Metallica

Country: USA

Genre: Heavy Metal

Famous Works: The self-titled album that’s known as The Black Album and Master of Puppets.

Favourite Works: Their albums may be a hit or miss, but when they hit they smash it. I’m fond of their early albums like Ride The Lightning, ...Justice For All and Master of Puppets. I also love the song, Sad But True from their black album. The fast tempo adds a whole new layer to their music.

Seen Live? No, but I really enjoyed their collaboration with Lady Gaga.

LOVEBITES

Country: Japan

Genre: Heavy Metal

Famous Works: Their debut album Awakening from Abyss

Favourite Works: Their three albums are awesome, but I like the first one the most.

Seen Live? I saw them at the Hyper Japan convention before they became popular and I even got to meet and greet them at the end. They were so sweet. I‘m so glad they got to enjoy some success.

Sugababes

Country: UK

Genre: Pop, R&B and Dance

Famous Works: Push The Button, Overload, Freak Like Me and About You Now were massive hits for them. Three, Angels With Dirty Faces and Taller in More Ways are still much loved albums today.

Favourite Works: Other than the albums I’ve already mentioned, One Touch and Catfights & Spotlights are cool too. I also love their b-side Disturbed.

Seen Live? I’ve seen the original line-up twice. The first time was when I was a child and my memory was hazy back then, but remember everyone went there just see Blue. The second time was at O2 Institute in Birmingham and they put on an amazing show. Loved it when they brought someone on stage for Push The Button.

The Sugarcubes

Country: Iceland

Genre: Alternate rock/ Post-punk

Famous Works: Their first album, Life’s Too Good and a single from their last album, Leash Called Love.

Favourite Works: I’m really fond of their song, Sick For Toys. I think it’s so catchy.

Seen Live? The band broke up a long time ago, but I saw their front-woman, Björk at the O2 Arena in London in 2019. I’m not sure if that counts or not.

Valravn

Country: Denmark

Genre: Folk

Famous Works: I don’t think they’re well known or really famous.

Favourite Works: I love atmosphere and music in Koder Pa Snor. It’s truly lovely and feels out of this world.

Seen Live? Nope, and they’ve disbanded now.

Evanescence

Country: USA

Genre: Rock

Famous Works: Their debut album, Fallen smashed records with beautiful hits like Bring Me To Life and My Immortal.

Favourite Works: I love their second album, The Open Door.

Seen Live? I saw them at the NEC arena in Birmingham. It was a lot of fun and I also enjoyed the supporting acts. I had a lot of fun that day I saw them in concert. Lots of happy memories.

Destiny’s Child

Country: USA

Genre: R&B

Famous Works: Writing’s On The Wall and Survivor were massive albums. Between them they had hits like Bills, Bills, Bills, Say My Name, Survivor, Bootlicious, Independant Woman and many more.

Favourite Works: I love the continuity of Writing’s On The Wall. The commandments really help connect the songs together. The harmonies are on point.

Seen Live?

Gorillaz

Country: I wanna say UK, even though they’re a virtual band.

Genre: Indie Rock with other elements of various genres.

Famous Works: Demon Days and Plastic Beach are popular.

Favourite Works: My Nan gave me their B-Sides album for my birthday as a teenager and since then, I’ve had a soft spot for the record. I also love their songs Clint Eastwood and Kids with Guns. Despite really enjoying Gorillaz, I’ve not checked out a lot of Blur’s work yet.

Seen Live? They’re a virtual band, so I guess if you’ve seen them before, you’ve seen the live.

The Beatles

Country: UK

Genre: Pop & Rock

Famous Works: So many to choose from like Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band and Abbey Road.

Favourite Works: I love Yesterday, With A Little Help From My Friends and Let It Be. They’ve got some really lovely ballads like Here Comes The Sun.

Seen Live? They were well before my time, but I’ve seen their influence in so many other bands that I’ve seen.

Kaiser Chiefs

Country: UK

Genre: Indie Rock

Famous Works: I Predict A Riot from Employment and Ruby from their second album.

Favourite Works: I love the riffs and energy in Saturday Night from their first album. Employment is a masterpiece.

Seen Live? Not yet, but they’re one I think would be good to see live.

t.A.T.u.

Country: Russia

Genre: Pop, Electronic and Dance

Famous Works: All The Things She Said and Not Gonna Get Us from their first album, 200KM P/H in the Wrong Lane.

Favourite Works: Their second English album, Dangerous & Moving is amazing in my opinion as it has my favourite songs from them in it. Their Russian albums also sound a lot better than their English counterparts most of the time.

Seen Live? They split up before I got the chance to see them live.

Leaves’ Eyes

Country: Norway/Germany

Genre: Symphonic/Gothic Metal

Famous Works: The first few albums from when Liv was the lead singer off the band have a lot of views on YouTube. There’s a reason why Liv is considered one of the pioneers of her genre with her soothing and gentle voice.

Favourite Works: I love Njord and Meredead because I think the production and sound on those albums are amazing.

Seen Live? No, I haven’t really followed them since they fired Liv. I’m not sure if I want to see them live at the moment.

Spice Girls

Country: UK

Genre: Pop

Famous Works: Pretty much all their singles are famous hits.

Favourite Works: I really like Say You’ll Be There, Goodbye, Let Love Lead The Way, Mama and Spice Up Your Life.

Seen Live? No, but I used to watch their concert videos several times.

We Are The Fallen

Country: USA

Genre: Rock

Famous Works: Bury Me Alive is one of their most popular songs.

Favourite Works: Their self-titled debut is really good. It’s a shame they haven’t released anything else since. Their cover of Madonna’s Like A Prayer is amazing.

Seen Live? I would if I had the chance .

Theatre of Tragedy

Country: Norway

Genre: Gothic Metal

Famous Works: Their early albums inspired a generation of metal bands and their influence can still be heard on metal records today.

Favourite Works: Their albums Velvet Darkness They Fear and Forever’s The World are amazing. Gorgeous records full of gothic emotion.

Seen Live? They split up now, so I won’t be able to see them live. There’s a few concerts on YouTube though. A friend from Last.Fm went to their last concert and he was moved to tears.

Levellers

Country: Uk

Genre: Folk

Famous Works: Their song What A Beautiful Day.

Favourite Works: Their song Fifteen Years Ago.

Seen Live? A few times when I was young. The last time was many years ago in Warwick when I was at school. I remember the crowds were older than me and they were going crazy over them.

Fightstar

Country: UK

Genre: Rock

Famous Works: The albums Grand Unification and Some Day Son, This Will All Be Yours.

Favourite Works: My favourite songs from them are The Floods and Shinji Ikari.

Seen Live? I saw them in Birmingham and I got to be front row. They were amazing.

Busted

Country: UK

Genre: Pop Rock

Famous Works: They’ve had several big hits like Year 3000, What I Go To School For and Crashed The Wedding.

Favourite Works: They’ve had some nice album tracks like Pyscho Girl, Day Turns Into Night and Britney.

Seen Live? I saw them just before they broke up the first time.

Arch Enemy

Country: Sweden

Genre: Death Metal

Famous Works: Their new albums with Alissa White-Gluz seem to be really popular and well loved, especially War Eternal. Their 2001 album, Wages of Sin also boosted their popularity.

Favourite Works: I really like a lot of their early works, but their newer stuff is cool too. I find it hard to pick a favourite from them to be honest.

Seen Live? Yes, I saw them when they were supporting Nightwish at Wembley Arena.

The Gathering

Country: Netherlands

Genre: Gothic Metal

Famous Works: Their whole discography is criminally underrated.

Favourite Works: I love their album, Mandylion. One of my favourite albums of all time for it’s atmosphere.

Seen Live? Not yet.

bands
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.