Beat logo

Acoustic Evening at the Railway Inn (2nd April)

Recap from Acoustic Evening at the Railway Inn on the 2nd of April

By Charlie SmithPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like

Hello, someone asked me the other day what's your least favourite part of being a musician is. I said the music. Of course, I was joking, but it did get me thinking that rather a lot goes into being a musician. Of course, actually playing the music is the really easy part. The practice is okay. I mean, it can be tough, but it's not exactly the worst. Then you've got the poster designing, again that can be quite tough but is a little bit of fun. Then you've got the ticket, the paperwork, the emails, and all that admin. Yes, you might not believe it, but the hardest part is actually the, well, I suppose the boring stuff. Organising and sorting out. Thankfully, I'm not in a band anymore, and I don't say that from an antisocial viewpoint, but just trying to get four people to turn up for something at the right time is extremely tough. Then, times that by four and you have a show. Or maybe you do if they all show up. What I'm trying to say here in so many words is that so much organisation goes into putting on shows by the musicians and venues themselves, you wouldn't believe it. Even though I'm getting more experience hosting these events, there is always something to stress and worry about. Fortunately, thing's when off without a hitch. I can only thank all the musicians, Jack and the Railway team. For pulling off an amazing night !!

Before we get onto all the acts. I'd also like to give a shout-out to roots night at the Railway Inn. Every Monday, they run an open mic in the same space as we performed (platform 2) if you fancy getting some practice or catching some live local music. I did plan to write up a huge guide of local mics all around the south, but work on that is ongoing. While we are here though, I'd get a little 2-for-1 action and mention it. Was great to get in some practice in the very room you're gigging and always has a very attentive atmosphere. So it was very handy to get some stage time in the run-up to this gig. So pop down to the Railway Inn on a Monday if you can.

Thanks also to Michelle Quinton for doing the gig photography. It was a spur-of-the-moment decision for her to come along to the gig and I have to say the shoots are fantastic. Please go and check out all of her social media and website;

Ged (D'Kenzion)

First up we have Ged (D'Kenzion) Yes, he has 12 strings. That's 6 too many if you ask me. He's a very busy chap that helps run the weekly open mic down at The Dolphin in St Denys and will also be working with me to host a gig on the 13th of May at the Greedy Flea in Bitterne. I'm surprised he finds the time to keep all of those strings in tune.

Charlie Smith

Well, now it's my turn. I never really know what to say when it comes to me, but one thing I would like to say is farewell to my long hair. Yes, it will be coming off at some point in May so, yeah. Farewell, long hair.

Anna Muir

You may remember Anna from the river studio open mic night a couple of months ago. But here she is ready to rock and roll on the Railway stage. Glad to see her guitar strap higher up this time. As we were after a chilled acoustic afternoon, not a sex pistols show. She really was incredible.

The Guillotine Union Boys

The Guillotine Union Boys were up last on their debut gig and wow what a first performance. After coming along to the River Studios open mic night in March they are up on the Winchester stage giving it their all. Just great to see these two up on the stage and giving it everything. I did say that having 12 strings is a lot but having 12 different instruments is off the charts.

And that concludes the recap of the evening. I liked that thank all the acts for putting on just a great show and the crowd for turning up. Was cracking to play to a full room and a appreciative audience. I hope to see you in Winchester again soon. May is going to be a busy one as I am putting on two shows in the month. 13th of May at the Greedy Flea (As mentioned previously) and also a gig the day before my birthday on the 28th of May at The Hobbit. It's going to be a busy but also very rewarding period.

Thanks for reading and see you at some shows soon,

Charlie

photographylistindiediyconcert
Like

About the Creator

Charlie Smith

I'm new to this but hey I'm giving it ago. I sing and play guitar. I'm here to share a few bits of info I learn along my journey

https://linktr.ee/CharlieSmithMusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.