Beat logo

ABBA - Voyage

A Wellcome Return From ABBA with Voyage

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
6
ABBA Voyage

The Introduction

I am always wary of bands reforming and players and managers going back to football clubs. Sometimes they need the money, sometimes the fit is right and sometimes it just does not work at all. Roxy Music’s various reincarnations have all worked and Fleetwood Mac rejuvenation with Stevie Nicks and Linsay Buckingham were notable successes.

When I heard ABBA had reformed to produce a new album, I was more than a little sceptical. Although they had produced quality solo work they probably didn't match their work as a band. For me, only “Chess” sticks in my mind. I have previously listed my favourite three ABBA songs in the Vocal story below.

I had a little money left from an Amazon gift voucher and after someone mentioned the new album I thought I would drop in and take a listen. I had nothing to lose.

The Album

I bought the album on CD because I generally like having some physical copy, and was very impressed with the simple sun golden diamond halo cover. In my opinion, it is extremely eyes catching, and it certainly caught my eye.

I then put the album on and played it.

I didn't skip any songs and didn’t want to turn it off, but it gave me the impression of treading water and wondering why they actually bothered to do it. It seemed perfect Radio 2 and commercial radio fodder but I wasn’t sure I would ever play it again and considered putting it immediately on my Discogs store, which you can visit below.

I kept the CD close and then for some reason gave it another try.

The opening song “I Still Have Faith In You” comes in very slowly but suddenly grabbed me and gave me goosebumps. It slowly builds to a beautifully impressive chorus section which hits you about two minutes into this gorgeous five opener. The guitar and vocals meld into total ABBA perfection, and this is a song I now often repeat because I love it so much.

If an album has one song this good it is worth buying, but this is not the only jewel on this wonderful album.

The next four songs to me are standard ABBA fare, “Just A Notion” is quite fun as is “When You Danced With Me”. I would rate “Voyage” on par with “Arrival” although the production is absolutely superb and that certainly makes the listening very enjoyable.

The sixth song on the album “I Can Be That Woman” is an absolutely heartbreaking tale of a disintegrating relationship, with a dog and domestic abuse issues. Again one of the songs that really lifts this album up.

This is followed by “Keep An Eye On Dan” which has a dark feel to the music and a spot-on chorus that snakes its way into your psyche.

This is followed by “Bumblebee” which my mind tells me should be too twee to like, but it is an absolute beauty, and I didn’t really notice it when I first played the album.

Concluding ABBA’s Voyage

I am glad this album is now part of my collection and it will not be leaving. I have lost count of the number of times that I have played it and I am still finding songs that are coming to the surface and revealing themselves to me.

Sometimes you can criticise their lyrics, but remember English is ABBA's second language so I am always impressed by their lyrics and singing.

I would recommend anyone to play this several times to really appreciate its wonderful beauty.

album reviewsbandssong reviewspop culture
6

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    The album cover grabbed my attention too! Very well written review!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Well written review. I didn't even known they had a new album.

  • I listened to the album but did not care for it. Agnetha and Frida's lead vocals are but a shadow of what they were once. The music is good but not one song in the album has that spark of magic that made Abba great in the 70s and early 80s. Decently written review despite my differing view in the album.

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    I love Abba ♥️🌹Thanks for reminding me of Song . Their voices is like a Dawn of a new day . I will play this song today . 🥰🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.