Beat logo

Nine Artists I Discovered From Twitter, Facebook, Bandcamp And Other Unexpected Sources

Some Great Music That You Have Never Heard

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Introduction.

These are some amazing artists that I have discovered through social media and as support to other artists. They are all amazing musicians and some I have written about before, often on my blogs.

They are almost all on Bandcamp so you can support them by buying some of their songs if they stimulate your musical palette.

1:Lynne Hanson - Hip Like Cohen

Lynne was introduced to me by Tracey Ellis on Twitter and I love this beautiful gentle song which you should give some of your time to appreciate it. It reminds me of something but maybe after the tenth listen it will come to me, and I have played it more than a few times.

2: Jane Willow - In Your House There (ft. Pat Byrne)

I decided to share this song although Jane may want me to share another of her lovely songs but this is beautifully poignant and a wonderful way to spend four of your minutes that you will treasure forever.

3: Louise Distras - Street Revolution / Solidarity

Another artist I met supporting The Men That Will Not Be Blamed for Nothing at The Cluney 2 and you can read about it here.

I was chatting with her after her support spot and because her hair was different I didn’t recognise her.

She is on Bandcamp for individual songs but here personal profile here, is empty.

I‘m including “Street Revolution” but I also have to include her take on Little Steven’s “Solidarity as well.

4: Jordan Reyne - The Shadow Line

I have written a lot about Jordan but this is how I was introduced to her supporting The Men That Will Not Be Blamed for Nothing at Think Tank in Newcastle and she hooked me straight away. This is just so haunting.

My interview with Jordan with links to her Bandcamp and Etsy sites.

5: Nev Clay - Leaving Do

Nev is a Facebook friend and this is a beautiful song about someone he had a crush on.

6: Shipcote and Friends - Anything For Me

Another beautiful song from a wonderful Tyneside band showing how much beautiful music can be produced by good friends.

7: Jonathan Wells-Lee - Double Drinkin’

An ex member of Women In Revolt and solo performer and a truly great and supportive friend. He is a member of many bands including The Continental Quilts among others and you are likely to find him somewhere in public around Newcastle.

8: Lady Koo - Occidental Woman

My friend Lady Koo with Jonathan Wells-Lee from The Butterfly Cabinet ten years ago.

9: Bethany Elen Coyle - The Band Played Waltzing Matilda

My good friend Bethany’s stunningly beautiful rendition of the Eric Bogle anti war song.

Special Mention: The Men That Will Not Be Blamed for Nothing

These are one of my favourite live bands and are responsible for introducing me to at least two artists on this list. They are amazing musicians and crowd pleasers as well as having perfect comic timing.

Special Mention Two: The Sadly Missed Craig Puranen Wilson

Who promoted and helped so many artists, many on here in his short time on this earthh.

Conclusion

There is so much music in the world that is much closer to us than we think, and most of it is very good. Take a listen to these then go out into your town or city and find out what you have on your doorstep.

60s music90s musicbandscelebritiesdiyindieplaylistpop culturesong reviewssocial media
1

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.