Beat logo

A Playlist Of Places

Ten Places Around The World, but Mostly In The UK , That Are Celebrated In Beautiful Music

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2022
48

Introduction

I was wondering if I could create a playlist of songs I love about places, because I love the place or have a great friend who lives there or it is just a beautiful song that makes me want to go there. We all love something that gives us a feeling of warmth, comfort and longing.

I also try and keep these playlists to around ten songs and that probably comes from me being born in the fifties and being brought up listening to vinyl, which usually limits you to around a dozen three minute songs.

1: London - Thea Gilmore

We tragically lost Sandy Denny but Thea Gilmore took her words and created this beautiful love song and this for a great friend of mine in another London. The song pulls at my heart strings every time I listen to it.

2: Fog On The Tyne - Lindisfarne

This is almost THE Geordie anthem superseding The Blaydon Races. It is fun, easy to sing , catchy and so easy to play that I can play it. If this does not bring a smile to your face you must be made of stone. It was composed by the sadly missed genius of Alan Hull.

3: New York Groove - Hello

This is a Russ Ballard (Zombies / Argent) song performed by the glam boy band Hello. It was later covered by Ace Frehley of Kiss but this is a far superior version.

4: For What Is Chatteris - Half Man Half Biscuit

This is both funny and a beautiful love song from Nigel Blackwell and his wonderful crew. One to melt your heart and make you smile.

Chatteris is a market town and civil parish in the Fenland district of Cambridgeshire, England, situated in The Fens between Huntingdon, March and Ely.

5: London Calling - Clash

An aggressive anthemic opener to the Clash’s seminal album from Joe Strummer and Co, I remember staying in the Hilton in Paddington when working down there for EE, looking down on The Westway and this song streaming into my head every time I did that. I know this is the second song to feature the place, and London UK is not my favourite place at all.

6: Waterloo Sunset - The Kinks

And I am still in London with this absolute beauty referring to Waterloo and its bridge across the Thames from Ray Davies. This was Ray’s first attempt at record production.

7: Solsbury Hill - Peter Gabriel

This was Peter Gabriels’ debut solo single produced by Bob Ezrin, who had worked with Alice Cooper and later on Pink Floyd’s “The Wall”. He wrote this after having a spiritual experience at the summit of Solsbury Hill, the site of an Iron Age fort in the village of Batheaston.

8: Baker Street - Gerry Rafferty

This was not about Sherlock Holmes, but Gerry's frustration at the fallout after the breakup of his band Stealers Wheel. The Scottish singer stayed at a pal's flat on London's Baker Street while the lawyers sorted everything out. Originally there wasn’t going to be a saxophone break but that is what everyone remembers about the song and why people remember it. The solo was played by Raphael Ravenscroft.

9: Mozambique - Bob Dylan

At the time of the song's release, the titular country of Mozambique had just emerged from a ten-year insurgency war against Portugal but this is just using the country as a place for a romantic interlude and it does make you want to be there. A wonderful feelgood love song from the album “Desire”. I had always assumed this was a beachside town in the Amercan South but what do I know?

10: Galway Girl - Steve Earle

I love Steve Earle and there are a few places I could go with him. I remember seeing him in the Gods at The Sage in Gateshead and had to come down stairs as I got so dizzy. So we have an American in love with an Irish Girl.

Conclusion

There are so many places and yours probably is not on here, but I hope you have enjoyed the places I have chosen to share with you on this playlist.

60s music70s music80s music90s musicplaylistsong reviewshumanity
48

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Murata Thomae2 years ago

    All very good compositions, I have heard a few of them before.

  • aaliyah kale2 years ago

    Well written

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    There are some beautiful songs here, and they are just as beautifully talked about. This brought a tear to my eye, plenty of memories and lots of beautiful words that finally do justice to these precious songs.

  • Mcgrotha Brinker2 years ago

    Great writing

  • dewayne cheyney2 years ago

    Great writing

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Good list. I know a few, but not all. Congrats

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story! Excellent work, as always. ❤️

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!! You are TOPS in the BEAT community!!!

  • The second song, Fog On The Tyne - Lindisfarne, you said I'm made of stone if it doesn't make me smile. Well, it didnt, lol but it made me laugh because I found it funny. Since that's the case, what am I made out of? 😅

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    This is my favorite playlist you ever made. I love the history expertise you have on the music world. You have great taste in music 🌹♥️

  • Very informative article! Thanks for sharing.

  • Interesting list. Love Gerry Rafferty and Peter Gabriel. I like the Lindisfarne song - they've recorded a good amount of solid music. However, I actually prefer Ace Frehley's rendition of "New York Groove." His version contains some great dynamics in the varying sound levels. Plus Ace's vocal is quite a bit stronger than Russ Ballard's. Russ fall weak in too many spot. I have a pretty well tuned ear...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.