Beat logo

A Disney Villain Halloween Playlist

A tribute to my Disney years in China

By Alfie JanePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
4
A Disney Villain Halloween Playlist
Photo by Brian McGowan on Unsplash

Do you know what the best part about working at Disney English in Beijing was? After we came back from our October Holiday, we could go into Halloween mode all month! Learners and staff alike dressed all month and sang any Halloween songs they knew, in English of course.

Some days, I went all-out and did some crazy things. Other days, I went to the realia room and threw on some cat ears. It depended on my mood that day. And how willing I'd be to wipe the makeup off my face when I got home.

Of course, no Disney tribute can be complete without Disney songs! Most of these songs are villain songs, and one song I can't help but sing every spooky season!

1. "This Is Halloween" from The Nightmare Before Christmas

This song brings back so many happy memories in Disney. Every time I lined the kids up to go to class, I'd make a point to sing this song as I lead them down the hall to the classroom.

Bathroom break? We're singing "This Is Halloween!"

Walking outside to meet the parents? "This is Halloween!"

I think you get the idea. Every time I hear this song, I think about my kids and how happy they'd be to see me when they came to Disney English. And when they left, they'd look forward to come back. The song makes me miss the kids the most.

2. "Poor Unfortunate Souls" from The Little Mermaid

I'm going to admit something. I'm not a fan of The Little Mermaid. To quote the Nostalgia Chick, "I sold my soul for a vagina and a guy I don't know!"

The older I get, the more I like the villain, Ursula. As I type this, I'm wearing leggings that look like her tentacles!

Do I know the song well? Not at all! But on days I got tired of singing "This Is Halloween" and belt out the first three words of the chorus.

Yes, "Poor Unfortunate Souls" is the only part of the song I know. But it does the job when getting kiddies in line. Sometimes, they'd groan, but somethimes they'd sing along! It depended on their moods.

3. "Be Prepared" from The Lion King

I don't remember if I ever sang this song to the kids on Halloween season, but I do like to use this song to pump myself up for Halloween.

This song is one of my favorite Disney villain songs. I liked to sing it at random points in class. This is one of the songs I remember some of the older kids trying to learn when I sang it.

If I could've gotten away with playing the video in the middle of class, I would've.

4. "Friends On The Other Side" from The Princess And The Frog

So I'm cheating somewhat with this one? Did I sing this song to my children? No. Would my kids know it if I did start singing it? Probably not. So if this song has nothing to do with my kids, why would I add it?

Because this playlist is a tribute to Disney songs that remind me of Halloween. I might've sang most of these songs in my classes, but I didn't get to sing all of them in class. Though it wouldn't surprise me if I did sing a line or two in the middle of coloring or meeting the parents.

And let's face it. Dr. Facilier is a scary villain. He doesn't look like much, but he sent a chill down my spine. And that's why his song is great for this list!

5. "Magic Dance" from Labrynth

Yes, you're reading that right. Labrynth is a Disney movie. Once Disney bought Lucasfilm, it meant they gained the rights to a millennial's classic.

Meaning if I'm feeling a little "Magic Dance," I can get away with singing in the halls of Disney English.

Disney had a strict policy of making sure anything you brought in the class had the Disney logo on it. You couldn't show anything outside of Disney to the kids. Meaning, had I joined the company in 2012, I don't think I would've gotten away with singing the song in class.

I don't remember doing so, but it was always fun getting a read of my coworkers with one simple sentence.

"You remind me of the babe."

If they could do the back and forth with me, they could be great people to work with me. And if they didn't know it, they'd learn it.

Final Thoughts

Unfortunately, due to a mix of the pandemic and more and more classes going online, Disney English shut down six months after I left China. My life plans didn't turn out like I thought they would, and now I can't run back to Disney.

When I hear these songs, and more, I think about my time in Disney with a smile on my face. The job was demanding, but I loved watching my kids grow up. And I loved seeing the joy on their faces from the holidays from the random songs I'd sing to them. It was a good time, and I have the songs to remember it by.

playlist
4

About the Creator

Alfie Jane

A wandering soul who writes about anything and everything. Former expat, future cook and writer. Will take any challenge that comes her way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.