Beat logo

An Emo Playlist Before Emo Turned Into Discount Goth

An early 2000's playlist for nostalgic millennials

By Alfie JanePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
8
An Emo Playlist Before Emo Turned Into Discount Goth
Photo by Sophie Lavoie on Unsplash

Picture it. It's the mid-2000's. Think 2005 or 2006. It's my senior year of high school, and I can't wait to graduate and leave my hometown. My friends and I would often take a drive to Mid-Michigan to wander the nearest Hot Topic and seek out some of our favorite bands.

A lot of the bands I found in Hot Topic I still listen to today. At the time, emo wasn't full of heavy black eyeliner and random splashes of color in your dyed black hair.

In my senior year of high school, emo was a relatively new word. Was I emo? Probably, but I didn't look the part. I rarely wore makeup, and my wardrobe was a T-shirt and jeans. The shirts were usually Legend of Zelda-themed. Every once in a while, I'd dye my hair a fun color. And I always had headphones on when I walked around the school.

Thinking back on it, I probably qualified as a geek, but I still liked emo music.

Most of the bands I listened to as a teenager I still listen to today

In the 2020s, my music taste hasn't changed much. I still feel like I'm in 2006 with my choices. I don't mind. Some bands I still buy CDs for today. At least I did until I bought a new computer that doesn't have a slot for CDs. Now I'm trying to avoid buying Apple Music and calling it good.

I know, I'm cheap. But I want to wait until my writing is more profitable before I start subscribing to Apple Music and other random subscriptions to things.

Until then, I'll keep changing songs on my phone when I'm in the mood for this band or that band.

Here are some of my favorite songs from my teen years

I'm only counting songs I listened to from my Junior year to my Senior year. Anything after that, I'm not including. I'll start with the band and then list my favorite songs from said band.

Panic! at the Disco

My Chemical Romance

Evanescence

Good Charolette

Yellowcard

Simple Plan

Hoobastank

Here are some honorable mentions!

Final Thoughts

High school sucked, but the music from that time didn't. It's fun going back to your playlist and looking at old songs you used to listen to. I feel like a teenager again listening to a lot of these songs. They're never leaving my playlist again.

playlist
8

About the Creator

Alfie Jane

A wandering soul who writes about anything and everything. Former expat, future cook and writer. Will take any challenge that comes her way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.