Beat logo

90 Day Musician

The Beginning of My Journey

By Polly PowersPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Me (Polly Powers) performing at a summer camp music festival

I'm Polly, 19 years old and graduate of the Saint Mary's Hall Class of 2020. Unlike the rest of my classmates, I'm the only one who decided to take a gap year, a lapse of time that will either help me figure out what I want to do with my life, or perhaps, discover that I've always known what I wanted.

Here's the thing: I want to be a musician. I like to think that I always have been a musician, but my efforts to publish my own work and learn more about producing and promoting have always faltered. Everything I write is simply a musical form of my daily thoughts, just me attempting to put the complexity of the world into lyrics and melodies. My friends and family have always been strong supporters of my work, and I've often felt I could go somewhere with my music. However, it's become more clear to me how stuck in fear I've been. Sure, I performed at all my school talent shows and at the summer camp events, but I've never truly tried to let the world see me. 3 posts on an instagram account I rarely use. An audition for America's Got Talent. 5 Talent Shows at my school. And 2 peformances at a summer camp. Clearly, I've made small efforts, but never commitments. I was going to attend Belmont University as a music business major, before I decided on doing a gap year. They have a highly praised songwriting major there as well, but I didn't end up submitting my songs to audition for the program.

So I guess, after all this jabbering, the point of this article is so anyone who desires can follow me on my journey to facing my fears. 90 day Musician. Obviously, I don't expect to become a major celebrity musician in 90 days, but I want to push myself. Stop taking the easy path and do something hard and difficult. And I hope that maybe writing out my journey and my path, I can help someone else chase after their own dreams.

Tomorrow I will be posting a sketch of what my 90 day plan will look like. Obviously, things will be different than one's generic road because of covid in America and opportunities that are now unavailable. I'm starting my trek down an untraveled path, and I'm excited for every surprise there will be, good or bad.

See ya tmr ;)

By Simon Noh on Unsplash

humanity
1

About the Creator

Polly Powers

musician, writer, activist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.