Beat logo

5 Covers That Would Have Sounded Amazing

If they only existed

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
5 Covers That Would Have Sounded Amazing
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered what a certain song would sound like if someone else covered it? When an artist remakes another artist’s song, it’s either a hit or a miss. There’s a plethora of best covers/worst covers lists all over the internet. Despite so many articles on covers, I was never able to find a list of covers that listeners WANTED to happen, so I wrote one myself in 2020. Since then, I thought of five more covers I think would have sounded amazing, but alas do not exist.

Venus in Furs - Placebo

Original Artist: The Velvet Underground & Nico

Venus in Furs is a gorgeous song with an intoxicating baseline and sultry lyrics that aren’t even explicit, but you know exactly what it’s on about. It’s a gorgeous song that’s really ahead of it’s time. It’s even more spicier than the 50 shades soundtracks combined. It also has a flavour of angst with lyrics: I am tired. I am weary, I can sleep for a thousand years...

Placebo are one of my favourite bands for their beautiful angst-flavoured rock. They have a great catalogue of songs and have also produced excellent covers. Their cover of Kate Bush‘s Running Up That Hill and Depeche Mode’s I Feel You are always praised for keeping the emotion of the original, whilst making their own and also adding depth and dimension to them. Venus in Furs has been covered several times, but I think if Placebo ever covered it, it would blow all the other covers out of the water.

I think Brian Molko’s vocals would add a real layer to the song.

Onmyouji - Babymetal

Original Artist: Onmyo-za

It’s hard to believe that Babymetal have been around for almost a decade. They still look and sound as fresh faced as they did since they debuted as a sub-unit for Sakura Gaikan. I love the fusion of different genres that wouldn’t normally work together, but for some reason Babymetal gets it to work. They don’t do a lot of covers, but when they do it sounds pretty cool. I think it would be really nice if they did a song from a Japanese metal band and one of my favourite songs from a Japan is Onmyouji by Onmyouza. I think it would have been really interesting to see how Babymetal would interpretate this song. I don’t think that Onmyouji is even Onmyouza’s most known song, but it’s really an underrated track in my opinion.

For Whom The Bell Tolls - Lady Gaga

Original Artist: Metallica

Lady Gaga is a big fan of heavy metal. She’s often seen wearing Metallica and Iron Maiden t-shirts when she’s not dressed up as Kermit The Frog or wearing meat. As someone who often experiments with diverse pop, it’s no surprise she’s performed with Metallica after her song Heavy Metal Lover. Elitist metal heads are furious with her, and there’s no better way to troll them then to cover a classic heavy metal song.

Medevac - Kate Bush

Original Artist: Siobhan Donaghy

Siobhan Donaghy’s best known for being one third of the original Sugababes with two criminally underrated albums. Ghosts is her magnum opus. Medevac is one of the best tracks on the album for being ethereal. So many alternate pop singers get called Kate Bushy, but I can’t see Kate Bush singing any of their songs. Medevac is an exception though. I think it would suit Kate’s vocals perfectly and give the song the full recognition it deserves.

I Want Your Sex - t.A.T.u.

Original Artist - George Micheal

As much as I like their cover of How Soon Is Now, it was very misguided and I think it is oversang and screamed over. I don’t think the song fitted them. I think this song would have suited them better. I could picture it so well all the screaming fanboys and outrage from the media. There’s no way t.A.T.u.‘s would have topped George Micheal. The original is just too much of a classic, but it would have helped with the gimmick they were promoting. I think it would have been a cute cover, better than the Morrissey cover.

list
3

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.