Art logo

My interpretation of the scream, painting by Edward munch

Critique and interpretation

By Rikki la rougePublished 5 months ago 3 min read

the painting, the scream by German painter, Edward munch, the point of the work is self-explanatory a man screaming on a bridge with two unknown figures following him. The scream address is how in the world we live in it can be difficult filling us all with anxiety and so we all wish that we could go and do what the man is doing on the bridge in the scream.

Another thing that I love about this painting are the warm colors that the artist chose to use, where he could’ve used cold and dark colors to drive the message of the painting home. He decided to go for warmer colors. I have always wanted to write this article, I wanted to wait until I felt that the time would be right, and I would have enough facts together to make a interesting and factual article.

I have made a mistake in saying that Edward munch was German actuality. I stand corrected Edward munch, was actually Norwegian. Like with every iconic painting, that receives parities and tributes, the scream is no different. One tribute to the painting that will forever stick in. My mind is on MTV having the genius idea to bring the painting to life through animation, using it in one of their ad times for the network. Truly, a genius idea for an advertisement. In itself truly, a genius work of art.

I love the Internet that iconic works of art have on fashion and popular culture. For example, I was shopping one time and saw the screen T-shirt. I now wear it, showing off my love for the painting. The painting like in previous articles or articles I will write about the next one meaning the next piece of art that I write about will be the nighthawks nighthawks and the scream paintings speak to me on so many levels.

All great works of arts speak to me on many levels. And every one of my favorite works of art there is always something within the scream as a primary focus of this article that I identify with, and also relate to. In the scream what I identify with, and relate to is, as I said earlier in this article is how you just want to scream when you feel a variety of emotions, trying to get away from the difficult situations happening around you and to you. After a little bit more research on this painting to write this article, I find that I was right, because I read an article that said, Edward munch was walking with two of his friends, and he just decided to scream and let go and the nature of the scream that sometimes in the world we live in, you must scream to release all of the negative that is bothering you. It is also said that he had seen Peruvian mummy looking like the man screaming on the bridge and was inspired to paint his subject like that.

There have been recreations done of the scream some succeeded, and others fail to re-create the scream. There are parodies of the painting as well some funny others are not. I don’t know what draws me to this painting I guess simply because it’s an interesting painting that I have to enjoy. I love a good painting and and , and just about everything about it. Everybody will always make their own interpretation of the painting as I have done here so what I’m saying is good art should just be left open to interpretation take it for what it is and enjoy.

HistoryFine ArtCritiqueContemporary Art

About the Creator

Rikki la rouge

Latin Crossover Artist 57th Grammy Award 1st round nom ballot artist Interscope Digital Distribution/ Universal Music Group

(UMG) Manager:SoundBirth

Time capsule part 2

https://pin.it/6iwG7yQrs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Novel Allen5 months ago

    Kind of how I am feeling right now. Great writing ideas,

Rikki la rougeWritten by Rikki la rouge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.