Art logo

Epic Evolvement

It Is Worth Fighting For

By LaBree JohnsonPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like

We were taught to "expect the unexpected". That simple but very complex quote can be life-changing if implemented. Although it can be tricky to use in life because it requires a complex way of thinking. This way of thinking has made all the difference. The risk though is being the one who goes against the norm and that itself can create a stigma.

This summer that same quote helped me save my own life and the future of what I have in store. This summer was honestly the most crucial sink-or-swim scenerio I experienced this year. I learned a lot about people. I learned something I honestly never would have expected. Thankfully ,I had a very insightful nightmare. Today, I am thankful for that nightmare. That nightmare helped save my life.

Several years ago, I kept having an ongoing nightmare series. I'd wake up so grateful I experienced a nightmare. Whenever I would go back to sleep I'd see the same nightmare again. I remember countless times waking up thankful and deeply freaked out that it was just a nightmare. It was a series of betrayals. I set and deciphered my dreams for years. This summer it unfolded in front of my eyes in real life. Except I had changed a few situations by taking precautions and doing things to change the outcome of the nightmare I had foreseen.

Throughout this journey, I noticed how people would be given the opportunity. It made me feel very thankful for who I actually am and helped me remember how important that is. Now, that may not help you personally. So, my advice to you is to not let other people's opinion change how you feel about yourself. Questioning yourself is known to cause insanity afterall. The beautiful part is, I am someone who knows this and had life saving nightmares ironically.

This summer I gave a traditional lifestyle one more chance. However , It was very short-lived. I was betrayed. I lived through a nightmare only I wasn't dreaming. I had experienced the complete opposite of what I had in mind. After several fights, arguments, and lectures I managed to survive and keep afloat so to speak. I even made a difference. I can continue my career and do most of everything I had intended to do a decade ago or at least try.

After all of that, I looked into the mirror. I realized what betrayal , survival, and sinister tactics can make a person look like. I had become pale, tired as hell, and had black circles around my eyes. A tremendous effort was taken to exhaust me . The same old tactics I had experienced before. Only this time, I completely knew what they were doing and explained it as it was going on. Now, those people have no place in my life.

I am now thankful for that disappointing fact. It is honestly their loss and better for me to know before it's too late. I can move on without any doubt in my mind. I now also have a series of survival stories.

Finally, I booked the vacation that my daughter and I had planned on taking three years ago. It was already paid for and was going to expire. We took a trip to Virginia Beach. It was a really long ride through the mountains.

While we were there, I had the opportunity to share some history with the little one. We also got to catch up and do some of our favorite things. We rode monster rollercoasters. The little one hadn't ever seen any that monstrously huge. I thought it was a much more thrilling risk than what we had been experiencing. I'm really glad we went. We also found the Lochness Monster and rode it. Who would of thought that?

Midway through the week, we made a trip to Studio Evolve. That shop is uniquely impressive. Every detail of the shop is artistic. Immediately upon entering, I could see the art was phenomenal. They have bold pieces everywhere in that place. It is elegant but with a bold spunky artistic feel.

I waited on Blake in the lobby while checking out all the art. He did a great job of making it a great experience. He also has great taste in music. Thankfully he has really remarkable tattoo skills. I gave him an idea of what I wanted. He really made it come together perfectly. I think it turned out perfect.

I hadn't ever had a chest tattoo before. It was definitely a new experience. I mainly looked out the main beach front window. I'd periodically look around the room at all the different colorful art. Luckily, they have such a talented team. It is a great atmosphere. I also had the little one snap a few pictures. Now what had been a not-so-pretty scar is a colorful masterpiece.

Journey
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor7 months ago

    Great journey with a happy ending. Thanks for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.