Art logo

A Valentine for Susan

A Blast from the Distant Past

By Dana CrandellPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
A very poor scan of my prize-winning caricature of Susan Burk. (Backstory below)

I'll start this off with a backstory. You'll find the poem that goes with this caricature at the end of the text, but it's a pretty random thing without just a bit of history.

I may be cheating a bit with this one because I wrote the poem below at the same time I created this artwork. I'm submitting it anyway, though, because the challenge prompt reminded me of the fun I had with this project, 'way back in 1995. Those prompts are one of the things I love about Vocal; the inspiration comes packaged with the challenge and all we have to do is let our imaginations run amok or dig until we find that "something" that comes to mind. The latter was the case with this piece, and the poem was part of it. Here's how it happened:

As many readers may know, I spent a good portion of my young adult life in Casper, Wyoming. As a music lover, I also spent much of that time listening to the radio.

In the early 90s, KTRS FM radio in Casper, Wyoming ran a great show called "Rick and Susan in the Morning" that I listened to almost religiously. Rick Arner and Susan Burk were an incredibly entertaining team as well as outstanding journalists.

In 1993, the radio station came up with a Valentine's Day contest for its listeners. The idea was to create a valentine for your favorite KTRS D.J. for a chance at a $50 grand prize. I won the grand prize that year with a card I created digitally, containing an original poem.

I can't recall why I didn't enter in 1994, but I won the grand prize again in 1995, with another card, the cover art and contents of which are posted herein. Caricatures were and still are one of my favorite artistic endeavors, much to the chagrin of my friends and family. I've done more than I can remember and most were given away without a thought about saving a copy. I do wish I'd saved at least one of the Dallas Cowboys Cheerleaders series. C'est la vie, non?

Both of the poems were read on the air and that was a treat. The real surprise, however, was a phone call from Susan, asking if she could have a copy of the caricature for framing. I scanned a copy and gladly gave her the original. As you can see from the image above, the resolution of my scanner in 1995 left a bit to be desired.

The original was created from a photo surreptitiously provided by Susan's husband via the radio station staff. The medium is colored pencil, worked with a charcoal stump. Here's the poem that was on the inside, along with some ornate digital embellishments:

When I wake up in the morning

Feeling more dead than alive

As another day abruptly

Has decided to arrive

And I'm needing inspiration

'Cause I've got no motivation

Then I simply tune my radio

To ninety-five point five

---

And soon the voice that helps us all

Go out and face the day

Breaks through the clouds inside my head

And chases them away

As she gives us news and weather,

Birthdays, jokes and all, together

With the tunes that go right to my feet

And send them on their way.

---

So, while I stumble 'round the house

And try to make me human,

Susan, with some help from Rick

Drives off those clouds a'loomin

And before too long I'm jumpin'

And I'm shakin' and I'm bumpin'

And I'm feelin' good before I've finished

All my daily groomin'.

---

So, even on those rare occasions

I wake up a jerk

I'm back to my old self again

By time to head for work.

With Susan on the radio,

Off again to work I go,

And that old sun is risin'

With the help of Susan Burk.

***

Thanks for reading!

This was created for the Vocal "Painted Prose" Challenge, which you can read about here:

IllustrationInspirationGeneralDrawing

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    Great piece, Dana! I especially loved the caricature!

  • You know the song TiK ToK by Kesha? The song starts with, Wake up in the morning feeling like P Diddy. So when I read the first line of your poem, I sang it to the tune of that song and believe it or not, I sang your whole poem using that song's tune and it worked so well! I truly enjoyed it! Also, congratulations on winning those 2 years!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    This was great especially the back story and bravo on the caricature

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    What a great story, art, and poem. I enjoyed your real life experience. Thank you for sharing. 😎

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    This is great! Best of luck in the challenge 😁 I got my caricature done once on holiday in Greece. The guy made me look like Ginger Spice 😖

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    This is great. The caricature is amazing and the poem is so much fun.

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    I am glad you included the poem with the backstory, sure enjoyed this one. The caricature is a winner!

  • Margaret Brennanabout a year ago

    I love it!! Reminds me of when I was 17 and wrote to the 3M company. It was a dare by my friend that I couldn't write a poem about Scotch Tape. I did! The 3M company liked it so much, they sent me a small case of their new invisible tape. (I don't think companies do that anymore.)

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is a wonderful read, Dana! I loved story and very much enjoyed the caricature; the poem was like the icing on top! I love this take on the challenge :)

  • Great story, poem & artwork. Congratulations one your wins (just a little belated).

  • This is just Awesomeness❤️😉📝❗

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Entertaining, inspirational, and so creative with story, caricature, and poem, you hit a home run!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    This is very cool! It's good to remember the fun we had when we were younger and fitter. This is a very entertaining piece; I love it!

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    OH! This is so fun, and such a great use of the prompt!!! Will you never cease to amaze me with your various talents (say 'No', please)

Dana CrandellWritten by Dana Crandell

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.