01 logo

The flip phone is back

Breaking news the flip phone is cool again

By Christina EpperlyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The flip phone is back
Photo by Daniel Romero on Unsplash

Last month my Google Pixel started having problems. It would randomly restart for no reason and the power button got stuck. I knew it was time for a new phone. I had planned on getting another Google Pixel but there were not any in stock when I visited the Verizon store. I had seen advertisements for the Samsung flip on Snap Chat, and I did think it looked awesome, but I was happy with my current phone. However, when I was shopping for a new phone and the Google Pixel was not an option. I knew that I wanted to try the Samsung flip. It also helped that my old phone had a good trade in value. I decided to go for it and get a flip phone that was also a smart phone. My first phone was an LG chocolate that had a keypad that slid up. While it was not a flip phone it was around the time when flip phones were popular. Since smartphones took over flip phones have become an item that is rarely seen. Even though there are certain people that prefer them to smart phones. I never thought that I would own a flip phone after getting my first smartphone. All that being said I love my new flip phone. The screen is larger than the one on my pervious phone. I like the way videos look on this phone better then they did on my Google Pixel. Plus being able to fold your phone in half as a few advantages. I love being able to fit my phone easily into my pocket. When the Samsung flip is folded it becomes the perfect size to comfortably fit into a pocket. This is very helpful if you like using your phone for music or audio books while you exercise or clean. I also love how the screen is protected when the phone is folded. One thing that has always bothered me about smart phones is the large, exposed screens. Many people myself included have had to use a phone with a broken screen. It's easy to drop your phone even when you try your hardest not to. Especially since we tend to take them almost everywhere we go. Being able to close my phone has given me added peace of mind when it comes to protecting my new phone. When I bought my phone, I also got an Otter Box case for the outside of my phone. I was happy that there was a case in stock that fit my new phone. Even though this phone is unique because it uses a case that comes in two parts there still plenty of options available. After doing a quick search online I found some very creative and cute ones available for sale on sites such as ETSY. One of the concerns people may have with a phone like this is the fold in the middle of the screen where it closes would be visible while using the phone. I could see how a big crease in the middle of your phone would be frustrating when you are taking pictures or watching videos. However, I have found the that the fold in the middle of the phone is not very noticeable unless you are looking for it. I have also found that this phone is a good conversion starter. When people see me fold me phone in half. It is an easy thing to start a conversation about. My coworkers, neighbors and friends have all asked me about my phone. I'm the only one that I personally know that has this kind of phone, but I hope that is not the case for long. I really enjoy this phone and I recommend it to all smart phone users. I hope that more people will give to this retro inspired smart phone a try.

mobile
Like

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.