01 logo

Stop Impersonating Celebrities On Social Media.

It's Disrepectful.

By Carol TownendPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Stop Impersonating Celebrities On Social Media.
Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash

I love music, books, television, and other forms of art.

In fact, I listen to a lot of music, and I enjoy following celebrities on social media.

While I do understand not everyone in these industries has a verified account, some do. However, I only ever follow a verified account on social media, but if in doubt I will contact the social media site that I am on, and ask about it.

Almost every message and fake profile I have reported always turn out to be fake, and I report them so that I can help to protect the accounts of these people who have worked hard to get where they are.

People who work in the area of music, television, and other forms of entertainment may very well have personal accounts. However, I am sure that they would have limits on who they add to personal accounts for their own safety.

Let me tell you a story about a fake account that I had problems with a couple of years ago.

There was an account on social media that was pretending to be Robbie Williams

I had a feeling that this wasn't Robbie because the man started panicking when I told him that I knew about the verified tick, and refused to friend him.

I also know that my husband looked after Robbie in a previous healthcare setting, and he got to know him well there.

I blocked and reported the impersonator.

However; he kept recreating other accounts using Robbie's name and pictures, and started stalking me. He was also becoming increasingly annoyed with my ignorance, and when I asked him to stop doing it, he became more aggressive.

I am now having the same problem on another site that I have just started using again, after getting fed up with being stalked by fakes.

When you report a fake account, social media does investigate it. However, the same person can come back, and recreate the account that they are impersonating using the same name but with different numbers and letters. They will use pictures of the celebrity they are impersonating as a profile picture, and they will often copy and post the posts from their chosen celebrity account and write about them as if they are their posts, in an attempt to convince you that they are who they are.

I know the person who keeps doing this is the same person who was doing it before because he has a certain pattern in his text.

He always uses 'my dear' in his private messages. Be aware that I have sent this message to the people concerned, and I am hoping that they are dealing with it.

I did get confirmation from my husband that the actual Robbie had sent me a message while he was caring for him; however, I was confused because I was getting messages from two different accounts; as a result, I didn't react well because I didn't believe it straight away.

I want to thank Mr. Williams for taking the mickey out of me with my husband for not believing it was his account!

This was a few years ago now, and I doubt that Robbie will remember it.

The above is one reason why it isn't fair for people to impersonate celebrities. They don't usually DM with their fans, however, my case was a little different.

Another reason is when you impersonate a celebrity, you are taking unfair credit for their work, and you are defaming them.

A person can take legal action against you for this.

You are claiming to be someone you are not, and you don't know the person well enough to do that. You could end up spreading false information about them, which can result in defaming them because you are 'faking' their personality.

I also want to say, there are many fake profiles out there.

Please report them. Fake Celebrity profiles can be used by anyone from stalkers, murderers, pedophiles, rapists, and more.

I simply asked the person to stop, and I reported and blocked him. However, it wasn't easy because these people are high manipulators and they get inside your head.

They do it to try and lure you in; they use a variety of convincing manipulation tactics, then when they get comfortable with you, they ask for money.

Remember, a famous or well-known person; no matter who it is, will never directly ask you for money. However, some celebrities take part in charity campaigns where they may post the campaign and ask you to donate if you can.

The charity will always be a registered charity with a registration number. It will also have an address and phone number for you to be able to contact them.

While it can be difficult to know who is who on social media, the blue tick can help to confirm that the person is who they say they are.

Most very famous celebrities have a blue tick.

However there may be some celebrities who may be waiting on the tick, and there are some companies who don't have one.

There are also authors who are actual authors who do not have a blue tick.

If the company, famous person, or author does not have a blue tick, then you can ask Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram to investigate and confirm that it is a legitimate account.

This can take some time.

However, they do deal with it.

There is never going to be a surefire way of being able to tell who is real and who is not on social media unless they start using government identification such as a passport in order to accurately identify accounts.

If in doubt, check it out. If you can't confirm an account or you are getting harassed, then you can block the account, or unfollow/unfriend if you are already following them.

The world of social media can be very difficult to navigate; it is a very confusing world.

However, there are many positive sides, and I use it to share my work, keep up with friends and family, and follow the bands, writers, actors, etc who I love,

And there are many!

I will end this article with a message to my husband.

I am so very jealous!

I wanna meet Robbie too!

Please note:

I am unable to say which healthcare unit my husband met Robbie in. However, my husband knows that I have written this article because I consulted with him first about confidentiality.

If you enjoyed this article, please leave me a heart. Alternatively, you can send me an optional tip. Tips enable you to support my work, and they keep me motivated to write.

You will find many stories and experiences of different kinds in my profile, where you can subscribe here.

Do you love reading and writing? I do, and that is why I became a Vocal+ member

Vocal has a valuable creator community, and you can write and read without the annoying ad!

  • You earn for every read your articles receive but you can earn more with membership.

You also have the opportunity of winning some great prizes by entering vocal challenges

Click the link at the top of this article for more information.

cybersecuritysocial media
1

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jonathan Townendabout a year ago

    Great piece of truthful writing and some very sound advice within it. These impersonators don’t give a damn about the welfare of the people they pretend to be as I well know to my having met Robbie, and understanding how this type of behaviour affects them directly.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.