01 logo

Forgetting Passwords

How Not To Forget (Or How to!)

By Carol TownendPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
2
Forgetting Passwords
Photo by Tonik on Unsplash

I am useless with passwords!

I write them down, and I still forget!

I have been using social media for years, and I do love the interaction that I get from it. I am someone who doesn't like to bother much with people in person because I have anxiety issues, especially in crowds; so social media gives me a little social freedom on days when I find socializing difficult.

I also share some of my work on Twitter and Facebook

I have a page on Facebook where I and my husband share our work

What a nightmare!

I have changed my passwords so many times, and I've even written them down, and just like that,

Poof! I've forgotten them again!

Twitter will restrict your account if you repeatedly change your password!

Hell no!

I don't want that. However, I won't save them on a computer or on my phone either, just in case I end up being hacked.

I needed a desperate solution.

I created a password with what I call a power name.

A power name is a favorite word that you will remember. The way to create one is to create it using a favorite word from a quote or saying that is familiar to you but is unique. I.E. Something you use on a regular basis, that nobody else knows.

Using a power word is like a code. If it is something that you use on a regular basis, but not something you say out loud to anyone.

  • It can help you to remember what it is.
  • A power word could be:
  • A quote you have used in a private journal that only you have access to
  • A secret word that you say regularly inside your head but not aloud.
  • A name you call someone inside your head that no one else knows about.
  • A made-up word that you love, but would never write down.

I have lost count of how many times I have sat with my computer, laptop, and phone trying to remember passwords. It's frustrating. You lose your hair and go out of your mind trying to remember.

A lot of us don't mean to forget, but the majority of us use multiple sites on the internet which all require passwords.

I fully understand why social media will restrict your account if you keep forgetting your password.

After all, we all need security in this dangerous online world.

However, they do need to show a little compassion to people who might be forgetful or have memory problems.

Hence; Not everyone forgets!

I once forgot two of my passwords for a year, then I forgot my phone number and email address!

Modernized technology today, allows me to store my number in my phone. However, getting my email account back means going through some rigid security questions.

It is good for combatting hackers, though now my email addresses get tucked away securely in an address book that only I can access.

The online world is a lot of fun, but we're not all superheroes with superhero brains.

We as humans forget things. Even geniuses do!

I hope my suggestions give you ways of remembering your passwords. However, one more thing that really helps me to remember.

One year I got so fed up with remembering my passwords, that I resorted to writing it in a pair of my knickers with a permanent marker.

It worked, really!

Another thing I did, was write it down inside my bra!

The online world can make us all do mad things sometimes.

Any tips or funny things that you have done in order to remember your passwords, please tell me in the comments!

Sanity has left the building!

social mediahow tocybersecurity
2

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.