01 logo

Episode 3) Poems on human experiences

Podcast

By Jazzy Published 8 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - September 2023
40

On this episode of "The Shrug" I struggle to pronounce names and read some of our favorite creators' works out loud. This ability to read the written word out loud is such a treat, and to hear these words in my voice just gives me such chills. I am awestruck by the words I am blessed to say, and I am so grateful for all the creators who allowed me to read their works today. Please take the time to rate the podcast in your podcast player, and share this podcast with your friends and family. Let us get these Vocal creators more likes and comments, and maybe some new users to the platform. I hope you enjoy these poems, and if you would like to be featured leave a comment and I will check out your stuff.

My goal is to bring as many writers and creators on this podcast and get them new traffic and more engagement. Help me, help them.

"A Passing Moment; Monumental Growth" by Dailyn Townes

This is an article that I have loved since the moment I read it. This was one of the first written works I wanted to read but wanted to wait until after the first episode. Well, here is it now being read and I can only hope I did it justice.

"Dervish" by Emma Kate Coleman

I had a hard time learning how to pronounce this word but it doesn't take away from the beauty of this written work. So well constructed, and has a lovely rhyme scheme. This sonnet would make Shakespeare blush with happiness.

"Cacoethes" by Dharrsheena Raja Segarran

I love learning new words and this was far beyond my expectations. This open gives the energy of someone wanting to avoid pain, and the use of these rare words gives this poem such an edge. I am not a huge horror person myself, but Dharrsheena may have just convinced me otherwise.

"Migration" by S.C Almanzar

Nature poetry is simply stunning to me. I have an affinity for nature in general so to have the imagery that this poem brought up was simply divine. Huge fan, and will be looking for more.

"Take Me Somewhere for a Few Days" by Missclicked

This was Missclicked trying to write a poem in the style I have written. Where you take the last word of the sentence and move it to the first word of the next sentence. She simply excelled at this form of poetry and I loved the escapism concept of this poem.

"If Words Could Speak" by Cendrine Marrouat

This poem brought me to tears the first time I read it. Then as I read it out loud I remembered my friend Ro who passed away years ago, and I imagined that he would have loved this poem. A villanelle, Cendrine simply astounds me with her repetition and words.

"In The Flames" by Judey Kalchik

I have followed Judey since I started Vocal, and I was so intrigued to be offered a chance to read this on the podcast. This poem is inspirational and the narrator looks inside themselves to find the courage to encourage their own fire. A poem for those who are scared of the next step.

"Twilight of My Life" by Poppy the Poet

I wrote this poem in collaboration with Poppy the Poet. It's a poem of heartbreak and longing, that ultimately folds to the fact that love can not be forced.

My Poem “Take Your Place in Time”

This poem is one of standing up for oneself, in an age where we sometimes feel as if we don't matter.

social mediastartuplist
40

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (33)

Sign in to comment
  • Zoya Shahabout a month ago

    We value your thoughts and feedback on Forem, the platform driving online communities. Share your experiences, suggestions, and insights to help shape the future of community engagement. Your input is instrumental in enhancing user experiences and fostering a vibrant community environment. Join the conversation and contribute your perspectives on Forem's functionality and features. Consider documenting your thoughts in branded products, reflecting your commitment to engagement and collaboration within the Forem community. https://www.gopromotional.co.uk/

  • Antoni Nima2 months ago

    Nice post! :)

  • GlanceIntuit3 months ago

    It is an application by Glance can be downloaded through glance.intuit.com which allows you to take control of your finances and stay connected with your financial information.

  • Rajveer Kasana4 months ago

    Beautiful

  • SmartZip Solutions5 months ago

    <a href="http://google.com/">The searching</a> [url=http://google.com/]The searching[/url] [The searching](http://google.com/)

  • Lovely collection and great to promote other creators, We are featuring your excellent Top Story in our Community Adventure Thread in The Vocal Social Society on Facebook and would love for you to join us there

  • emmaagro6 months ago

    I am living. I remember you... From "What the Living Do" by Marie Howe. When I have no means fortune. Is my means. When I have Along the same lines as healing, poetry can change lives by providing a much needed escape. There is nothing quite like falling into a poem and being completely absorbed in the language and images. The right words can really transport you into a different feeling, place, or time.A poem or stanza with one line is called a monostich, one with two lines is a couplet; with three, tercet or triplet; four, quatrain. six, hexastich; seven, heptastich; eight, octave. Also note the number of stanzas. Meter: English has stressed and unstressed syllables. https://core-ball.org/

  • Walterego7 months ago

    Gerat post

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Great session and some very talented work.

  • Naomi Gold8 months ago

    Amazing selection of poems this week. Congrats on your Top Story! 🥂

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    CONGRATS ON TOP STORY

  • Sara 8 months ago

    Yesss another one! I can’t wait to listen. It makes me so happy to see you on the Top Story page. Congratulations, it is well deserved!!!

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    Another great episode! I have never been interested in listening to podcasts but I LEAP at my Spotify when another episode comes out!

  • Superb support & podcast! 💙

  • The Dani Writer8 months ago

    This is so supportive and helpful! What a great way to engage the readership on a platform and your commentary is just the right balance. Congratulations on this being recognised as a top story!

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Loved read this!!! Congratulations Jazzy!!! 💕♥️♥️

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Congratulations on your success! 🎉👏🏼

  • Test8 months ago

    Just a return to say congratulations! 🤍

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! And I’d love to be featured!

  • Missclicked8 months ago

    That was so amazing, i loved your voice and all the wonderful peices of writing you mentioned ❤️😍. Thank you so so much for reading mine as well, and for all your heart touching words😇❤️. I wish your incredible podcast reaches a million ears and many more 🥰. Thank you so much once again😍❤️

  • Test8 months ago

    I love this so much and all of your choices are so inspiringly talented! Thank you for sharing! Brilliant! 🤍

  • Yes, you pronounced my name correctly! And thank you so much for all the nice things you said about me 🙈🥰 I've been pronouncing cacoethes the way it's spelled. I didn't know there's an alternate pronunciation for it. So I learned something new from you too! It was so nice hearing you talk and read those poems. Your voice could cheer up anyone who hears it! 🥰🥰🥰 And yes, like you mentioned, I have trust issues. People may not have an ulterior motive to be my friend but I'll always be paranoid. It's sometimes so exhausting! I was able to listen to this on Spotify but I usually use Google Podcasts. When I looked up The Shrug, only one account pops up that has like 6 episodes I think but they're all dated 2020. I wanted to subscribe to you but I don't know how to find this current account that you're using on Google Podcasts.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Also I'd like to recommend my faovurite poem of Suze Kay's and literally any poem of Mackenzie Davis. I'd love to hear their's read outloud sometime! https://vocal.media/poets/storming

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Thank you so much for reading my poem! I am very sorry to read about the loss of your friend! My deepest condolences to you. You did a wonderful job with all the poems. Your voice is wonderfully soothing. Keep up the great work, I can't wait to listen to the next episode!

  • Cendrine Marrouat8 months ago

    Thank you so much! I’ll give your episode a listen as soon as I have a moment!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.