BookClub logo

Open by Andre Agassi

Tedtalk xDallas

By Jazzy Published 9 months ago 3 min read
16

My Tedtalk xDallas script

Hello Dallas, how y'all do in tonight?

I've often wondered if, in life, I have made different decisions if I would be in another place, and then I think, what decision led me to this? I realized many judgments led to this, but there is one conclusion I can pinpoint that changed my life. I don't know if you've often thought about the idea of different universes and how maybe another version of you is out there wondering about you, and maybe that's why we get shivers down our spine. Maybe because the other one of us is thinking of us simultaneously.

(pause for dramatic effect)

Now I know we're supposed to talk about a book that changed our life, and I'm going to. I will get there, but I have to talk about what I did to choose the book that changed my life. Because somewhere along the line, I had to make a decision that would lead me to that book, and I did, and that decision was in middle school. Instead of joining A-team Sport, I decided to join tennis. See, my dad, played tennis when he was young. He handed me his old racket. It was older than I then, and he said You should play tennis. I remember looking at him incredulously, wondering why he handed me a racket that was older than myself. However, I thought it was a moment to bond with a father that you know I had a hard time seeing eye to eye with. He said I was stubborn and reminded him of himself, and therefore, he tried to shepherd me in ways not to make his same mistakes. Hindsight is 2020, and I made the same mistakes as him, but I digress.

(another pause? Yes, another pause)

So, I played tennis from middle school into high school, and it was in high school that I met my future husband; I had a hard time sticking with tennis. I was good, but I wasn't good enough. I never felt I was good enough, and my dad put a lot of pressure on me to be a lot better than I thought I was this magnificent woman able to be something I was not. It was then that I found the book that would change my life. I found the book “Open” by Andre Agassi. (at this point ask the audience if they have heard of Andre Agassi)

This book is written from the perspective of a former tennis player who was ranked number one in the world. He shares his story of growing up and feeling inadequate, yet he still managed to become a tennis legend. As I read this book, I was struck by how relatable his story was. He grew up in Las Vegas, while I lived in Dallas, and yet we faced similar struggles. I was captivated by the book and devoured it with intense interest. It made me realize why I love tennis so much. Tennis is not just a physical sport, but it's a mental game as well. When playing singles, it's just you against one other person. Often, it's not because the other person is better, but because we beat ourselves. Tennis is an allegory for life, and it made me wonder what my life would be like if I had never pursued it. If I hadn't, I never would have met my husband. Although there's a chance we would have met in some alternate universe, I owe my continued journey to tennis and to Andre Agassi's book "Open." It's beautiful to think that, despite our differences, our lives can be so similar. I encourage you to think outside the box, look for others who may be different and realize we are all very much the same. I often think of alternate Jazmine, and I hope she is as happy as I am.

Thank you Dallas.

AnalysisBook of the Year
16

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    It's so nice you found a reflection of yourself in a book! I am yet to find such a thing but I can see how valuable it is! Brilliantly written Jazzy!

  • Dana Esposito9 months ago

    ~ I grew up following the tennis games played by Andre Agassi. ~ I will seek to read Agassi’s book. ~ A great read! Thanks!

  • You said if you never pursued tennis, you wouldn't have met your husband but might have in another alternate universe. While I totally agree to that, I also believe that what's fated to happen, definitely would somehow happen. Like if you didn't pursue tennis, there would have been some other decision that you made that would have led you to him. I hope you don't mind me saying this 😅

  • Kenny Penn9 months ago

    Great Story, Jazzy, and so relatable. I’ve spent hours thinking of the alternative me if I had made a different decision.

  • Test9 months ago

    Amazing writing. I could see it from you're perspective.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Spectacular story!!! Loved it, Jazzy!!!

  • Schmalz9 months ago

    Love this. Amazing how the sports/hobbies/activities we find take us on a journey and form who we are, amazing piece.

  • Scott Christenson9 months ago

    An interesting memoir you've written about your early journey in tennis, and inspiring to hear that Agassi also struggled with feeling of being inadequate growing up. We can do nothing, or we can pursue a goal, that's a universal truth I think that's highlighted here.

  • I love this conversational insight into another part of what created you to be you ❤️ Your writing makes me feel like you are really here and telling me this in person ✨🙏

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Very interesting read. I love how you set the scene with dramatic pauses. I felt like I was watching you on the stage as part of a huge audience.

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Aw that’s so sweet that you met your husband through playing tennis!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.