Writers logo

Writing is Not a War Zone

Essay 5.5 | Writing & Self-Empowerment Series

By Mackenzie DavisPublished 2 months ago 4 min read
17
Writing is Not a War Zone
Photo by Manki Kim on Unsplash

After reading the comments on Essay 5 "Writing is NOT a Safe Space," I wanted to clarify my argument. Though the reception was overall positive, I felt the nuanced heart of what I was trying to communicate was perhaps overshadowed by an either/or perception.

I don't believe Vocal would be improved by encouraging random strangers to give feedback on everything they read. Although my original piece did not focus on this, I did question whether the platform would benefit from transparent comments. I still think the answer to that is 'yes,' but I'd like to explain the subtleties more substantially.

Every person deserves respect and decency, simply by merit of their humanity. Therefore, I do not advocate anyone behaving like a barbarian towards anyone else. Writing may not be a safe space, each post being an exercise in vulnerability, but it's also not a war zone.

What I oppose is indiscriminate positivity; this position was the foundation of Essay 5. Positivity has a dark side. Because writers measure their skill against audience reception (reviews, comment sections, and social media), sole positivity presents an inaccurate picture of authorial skill. Many equate positivity with sincerity; however, the latter is by definition not indiscriminate. It relies on honesty and a lack of deceit. It is specific, deliberate, and genuine.

The written word takes on the quality of life when it's read, moving inside a reader's mind and imagination, changing thoughts and challenging beliefs. It even affects breathing and heart rate, raises goosebumps, causes tears, brings smiles. When writers get to see such sensations arise in a reader purely due to their words, it's a success like no other.

At the same time, writing can also die. Nobody wants this, especially not the writer. I just can't see how reading a bad review or unsolicited feedback would be worse than seeing one's work blip into silence, time after time, without knowing why. It is here that we see positivity turn dark.

Now, can criticism hurt? Can it feel like a personal attack? Be discouraging? Yes, of course. That doesn't make it any less important to experience, though.

Like I said before, I am not in favor of strangers giving unsolicited criticism. Not only will it not be well-received, this kind of feedback is often manifested as one-off critiques without any attempt at friendship.

I see two main contexts for giving feedback. Both are based on shared values. The first is workshops, where strangers gather to share notes on each other's work. Here, everyone values improving their work and their familiarity is irrelevant. The second context is founded on trust. Here, the writer will receive personalized and perhaps more kind feedback from a friend. Where a workshop might fall short on this individualized critique and simply not help the writer, familiarity can lead to the friend missing things due to a lack of objectivity. Although these drawbacks are different in each context, values were prioritized and the writer benefited accordingly.

Given how chaotic online spaces are, it's much harder to feel that feedback is given with any real care, as above. Much of it feels like it comes from complete strangers, even if people are familiar with each other. Why? Well, I think part of it is that we aren't writing according to our values and standards. Often, we write to please our audience. However, what if that audience doesn't actually align with our creative goals? If we want to improve and are only receiving praise, perhaps we need to broaden our audience. A good first step toward that end is to figure out what we believe, how we write/read, and what we expect from readers/fellow writers.

The exercises I created in Essay 5 are meant to unlock the self-awareness from which intentional reading and investment can flow. Once we know our values and standards, we'll naturally read accordingly. Such authors excite and inspire us and evoke sincere engagement and investment. Then as trust builds, feedback follows.

When we leave comments, we often follow a "give what we get" axiom, and because we get indiscriminate positivity, that's what we give. I want to challenge that to become "give what we want to get." Using sincerity, give the kind of feedback you envision receiving on your own work. Is it questions, praise, anecdotes, constructive criticism?

I'll end with this. I completely sympathize with not wanting to walk into a hurtful situation. I sympathize with protecting fellow writers. Given how insecure creative people are (myself included), positivity makes sense. However, there's a difference between bullies and critics. The former are not lurking behind every corner, so unless something is overtly malicious (or not human i.e., bots/spam), I'd much rather assume the best, use what I can to improve, and drop whatever remains.

If criticism ends up blindsiding and crushing us, I'm not sure why we'd want to be writers. Aren't we all knives at varying degrees of sharpness? Let's not grow dull on positivity.

        

                             

A/N: Thank you for reading. I hope this helps clarify a few things. As ever, I welcome all comments!

Check out the rest of the Writing & Self-Empowerment Series below:

  • Essay 1 — The Imposter Writer—Stop Doubting Yourself
  • Essay 2 — Imposter Syndrome, Be Gone!
  • Essay 3 — Workshops are Treasure Troves
  • Essay 4 — No, Reviews are not Just for Readers
  • Essay 5 — Writing is NOT a Safe Space

CommunityAdvice
17

About the Creator

Mackenzie Davis

“When you are describing a shape, or sound, or tint, don’t state the matter plainly, but put it in a hint. And learn to look at all things with a sort of mental squint.” Lewis Carroll

Find me elsewhere.

Copyright Mackenzie Davis.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Thavien Yliaster19 days ago

    And look at that! A comments' section absolutely filled with genuine feedback from people that are highly interested. That's what I like to see and read. I'll need to return later to give this article a decent comment worth its salt. As a well seasoned commentor I do expect that of myself at least.

  • Teresa Rentonabout a month ago

    💯 agree with everything you say. Not going to repeat what others have already articulated so well. I’ll just say that I believe my writing improves with 1. thoughtful feedback, which can include positivity but it needs to be specific (beyond ‘Great! Loved it! Good job’ which are nice to get, but not considered feedback for improvement) and 2. Critiquing others’ work. It makes you work harder to identify what is working in what you read. Then you learn to incorporate your findings into your own work 🤗

  • Catherine Dorian2 months ago

    Mackenzie, this is so precisely argued and eloquently written. Your assertion that indiscriminate positivity can result in death applies to any successful relationship. Would we want our partners, family members, friends, or colleagues to never hold us accountable for our actions or push us to improve? Certainly not; that would be the death of the relationship and perhaps even the professional or psychological death of us. Same goes with writing. I want people to make me better. Let's make this platform a space that's generous.

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    This is spot on! I appreciate positive remarks when they seem sincere, or make it apparent that the commenter read my work. Often, though, nothing in the feedback is specific enough to be certain they read what they commented on. Of course, no one (including myself) was their work to be callously dismissed, but I do appreciate those comments that speak directly to what I've written. And I welcome actual criticism...in its true meaning, not only in a pejorative sense. Recently someone commented on a poem of mine with some suggestions. I accepted one suggestion and immediately edited my poem to reflect that change. It made the poem better, and stronger. The other suggestions were good, also, but were more of an editorial preference that didn't fit my vision. So, I took what I could use and left the rest, but without constructive feedback, none of it would have happened.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    “What I oppose is indiscriminate positivity” says it perfectly Mackenzie. Positivity for that sake alone is useful only if the writer is seeking validation and encouragement and the “hit” of being heard or read, which I guess if you’re starting out on your journey and need that confidence-boost, is a good thing. Some writers are there, and content to be so, and that’s completely okay. But agreed on all of this, particularly that last bit where you drove your point home (stick em with the pointy end). If any of us are here to one day publish a book, to make money, to create a following, or to plain and simply improve our writing (surely most) then we are gonna need either clear and substantial feedback that is impersonal but follows some kind of rubric, or personal suggestions from people we trust (not just randoms saying “this wasn’t good” haha). And the latter works best on a platform like Vocal if created organically. If we can put ego aside (and admittedly I find it hard) and accept that people can see things we might have missed or not thought of in our writing, wouldn’t we want to know that and get better? Iron sharpens iron 🙌

  • Alexander McEvoy2 months ago

    I really should get around to picking up the gauntlet you threw down in your last post and create my own request for critiques post :) Personally, the most important thing for my stories is that people enjoy them. I don't put a lot of thought into their themes or the higher arts of it, I just want to tell stories that people like most of the time. And generally speaking, I think I accomplish that, but there is always ALWAYS room to improve and assuming people aren't going to be total wankers about it, I'm more than happy to hear what anyone has to say that might give me a hand :)

  • "give what we want to get." This is exactly what I follow! I mean, I didn't follow that with that intention, to get what I give. But after reading what you said, upon reflection, I realised that my commenting style suits that. I'm happiest when I receive the kinda comments that I leave on peoples pieces. I always speak my mind. So glad you clarified this Mackenzie!

  • Unless a critic is getting paid by one media outlet or another. Then quite often those "critics" become bullies because it tends to sell. Other than that, I agree with you completely on this, Mackenzie. (And I'm assuming we agree on that as well, since I felt the need to put "critics" in quotation marks, lol.)

  • Cendrine Marrouat2 months ago

    As I always say: "Praises don't fill my stomach or pay my bills." I need to know why my readers can relate or not to my writing. So, I fully agree. I think the problem with unsolicited advice is that it often comes with what feels like back-handed compliments and a lack of empathy. "Your work would be better if it was more like this or that." - for example. I find value in unsolicited feedback, but only when it comes from people who understand the complexity of the creative process. Another excellent post!

  • We do Critique workshops on Vocal + Assist called Critique Circles. They are usually about 5 to 6 people and are done in a safe and private space. So far this program has been well received. We are currently ending Critique Circle #3 and #4 will begin in April.

  • Kenny Penn2 months ago

    Very good points, as usual Mackenzie. Idk how we are supposed to improve if no one points out some of those little details that make a great critique

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    This is my position, very much. Don't get me wrong, I lap up the praise like a dehydrated camel, which lets face it, many of us are in adult life. But I also want to grow. But I learnt early that the etiquette here is if you can't say something nice.... And I need to feel that another writer and I have enough trust between us that critique won't be seen as aggressive. Except if I find plagiarism. Those folk should feel shit about doing that.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    "I just can't see how reading a bad review or unsolicited feedback would be worse than seeing one's work blip into silence, time after time, without knowing why. It is here that we see positivity turn dark." - THIS. I would rather receive an honest review that might hurt my feelings for ten minutes than miss an opportunity to improve my craft. At the same time, I hear what you mean about it not being an either/or situation. I like to be specific with what I like and give honest feedback when the author welcomes it, but I agree, it can be hard to tell where the line is sometimes. It would be cool to bolster the Critique community a little! Thank you so much for writing this follow-up, Mackenzie!! Also, brilliant title! 👏🏻💗💗

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    If you are afraid of criticism here, you won't be prepared for it out there.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.