Writers logo

Writer: Advice for doing better on Vocal.

Writers NEED readers

By Jazzy Published 11 months ago 3 min read
Writer: Advice for doing better on Vocal.
Photo by Simone Secci on Unsplash

Is it enough to put words on a page?

Is it enough to craft worlds and characters that feel like family to have them do the impossible?

Is it enough to put our emotions and feelings to paper, bleed on the lines, and hope someone else connects with us?

Writers are all of these things, but is that enough?

Writers NEED readers. This article was a great read, and it stayed with me.

For some stories and some poems, the reader is yourself. Is that enough?

I used the first month on Vocal to put out content every day. I would interact very little with others and sometimes read very little. Recently, I was confronted with a bold truth. You get what you put in. I researched the top creators and commenters; they also had tons of engagement in their works. The concept is familiar; put what you want into the universe. If I want people to read my shit, I better read theirs. Therefore, a big part of writing is being a reader.

Ashley Lima posted this to the Writer's community. This made me think and decide to put this article to paper. The thoughts in my head could not be contained, and when I saw Ashley ask for advice, I knew I had something to say. Read what she had here.

It can be overwhelming to go through so many stories. Here is some advice to make it a little easier.

1) I start with the people I am subscribed to. I will go to my subscriptions, read a couple of their new things, and then jump to old stories. Why? I love seeing how writers grow. Where their style used to be and what it is now. Plus, in the old days of Vocal, they didn't have comments, so it's nice to go back and comment on these stories when you can. I don't spend too much time doing this, a good ten minutes per profile, and I move on.

2) Next, I look at the latest posts. I will look for poems typically; that's what interests me. It's worth mentioning that you should read what interests you. I like poetry and filthy communities. I branch out to chapters occasionally, like "Save One Bullet" by Tina and "Thirty and Damaged" by Real Poetic. I wouldn't feel guilty if you don't like to read certain things, it's not your cup of tea, and that is okay. I permit you to put your energy toward the stories you want to read. (If you need it.)

When I branch out sometimes to see new styles, I want to try new techniques, but I digress. Do what you want.

3) I will look at comments on some stories, and if the person leaves an excellent commentary, I will check out their profile. I find so many extraordinary stories that aren't typically on the radar.

4) This whole process sometimes takes an hour. However, you can make it shorter or longer depending on the day. I spent Tuesday doing this process for three hours, and it invigorated me to try writing haikus. That Hiaku took an hour; however, it was a new style I would only have tried with being a READER.

I became a better writer because I read. If that isn't enough reason for anyone to read more, then I don't know what else there could be. I implore you to read more here on Vocal. Feel free to drop stories you want more reads on, and I would love some jumping-off points—a big thank you to Ashley for leading the charge on this article.

Writing ExerciseProcessCommunityAdvice

About the Creator

Jazzy

Follow on IG @booksbyjaz

Head of the Jazzy Writers Association (JWA) in partnership with the Vocal HWA chapter.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Love this! Great advice and wonderfully presented. ❤️

  • You got that damn right! Reciprocity is the ultimate key!

  • Sarah urffer11 months ago

    Spot on! Reading is essential, it is easy to become absorbed in all that happens around us outside of just writing. You said it best, if I want anyone to read my work I better be willing to do the same. It’s not only giving what you want in return but reaching into the heart of others you may not have otherwise been able thus gaining new perspective. Growing your creativity from reading different individuals work is priceless enjoyment and very much worth it to grow as a writer. This was great to read!

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    I don’t know how anyone can resist reading stories on Vocal! Maybe because I don’t do social media or pay any attention to the news, I just have more free time to read actual writing. And one of the things I like best about Vocal is the variety, in skill levels and genres. That makes it exciting to me. This is some solid advice.

  • Matthew Fromm11 months ago

    This great and the truth of it that we sometimes try to ignore. Even the biggest authors out there read as if it was their job.

  • Dailyn Townes11 months ago

    Hey Jazzy, I thought this article was beautifully said, I had a question regarding community guidelines around religious content and wanted to know your thoughts about an article I writing about, writer to writer. While I think the topic I am broaching is something that needs to be addressed, I don't want to break any guidelines and as someone who overthinks touchy gray areas such as these, I want to make sure I am being objective in my writing and not showcasing dogma or bias even if I ascribe to the belief system. Hopefully, you get a chance to glance at this comment, and hope to converse soon! I hope you're enjoying your day so far! 😁

  • Thank you for sharing these insights, Jazzy! I’ve been looking to expand myself as a writer on here, too, especially considering this is my second time as a Vocal+ creator and I’ve been a creator on Vocal for 5 years. The time and effort only goes so far when you’re not engaging with others, especially in the fields of writing that most call to you. I myself love poetry, but I also love film and book reviews. I can sometimes get insights I’ve never thought of for things I’ve seen and read, and I can glean recommendations from them as well. This gave me a lot to ponder as a creator, and as someone who wants to grow beyond the scope of simply writing. I’m taking the weekend away from writing and posting to spend time with my family, and I haven’t written and posted much this week as I’ve been working on other projects, namely my podcast. But, just as I’m putting in the work there, I have to put in the work here. Thank you, Jazzy!!

  • Hope Martin11 months ago

    Reading also inspires me. Sometimes if someone else writes an EPIC article, or gets my brain chewing on a certain path and I get hung up on it then I have to write about it. Sometimes reading someone elses work gets my creative juices going. Great advice!

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨11 months ago

    This has been my journey too… from only writing and thinking there would be readers out there seeking new content (like I used to be in my younger days when I didn’t create… I just absorbed other peoples work) to realising I need to still be both. And I’m so glad for that! Before my Vocal reading and sifting I would have said poetry is not my ‘thing’, now it’s not only become my thing (that I’m loving!) But I’m even writing about the poetry I’m loving because it’s so inspiring to me! And I love that! I love unexpected evolution and growth in unpredictable places … All from proving my own beliefs wrong about what I like and don’t ✨☺️

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Awesome. Great advice. And you’re correct. Writers must be readers to be successful.

  • Sherry Ryan11 months ago

    I have begun to realize this too. I tend to become so absorbed in my own world, that I don't think about checking out what other people are putting out there. The fact that we can comment on other people's work is very helpful and also encouraging. I write everyday, but mostly for myself. This is because I have lacked confidence with sharing my writing.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    "I'm a better writer because I read" - so much truth in seven words!

  • Ashley Lima11 months ago

    This is stellar, Jazzy. Thanks so much for writing this up! I think it's a good conversation to be having, and I'm glad you drew inspiration from my write-up this morning.

  • Mother Combs11 months ago

    So much good advice <3

Jazzy Written by Jazzy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.