Writers logo

Wite's Love

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like
Wite's Love
Photo by Edwin Andrade on Unsplash

My father named me Wite after my mother. And my father and mother did loved eachother. I believed they loved each other. They just went through a lot of rough times and heartache. I guess they got so mad that they could not stand eachother anymore. I still believed that they loved eachother but was too hurt to admit it. Or they thought that if they admitted that their heart would be broken again. So naturally my parents divorced. I remember seeing Dad for Thanksgiving and seeing Mom for Christmas. Dad would make the best Sweet Potatoe Pie and he showed me his secret so I could make it when I grow up. I spent most of my time with Mom. Mom wanted me to learn and study to be the best I could be. She wanted me strong and smart even more than her. And Mom would sing all the time. She would sing silly songs as well as spiritual songs. Mom loved singing. And she caught me singing in the bathroom while cleaning. And I was singing 'I Love the Lord.' Momma asked me why was I singing that song. And I did not want to answer. You know how children can become hurt over their parents, where they feel that they are caught between two sides. And they don't know how to approach one side. So I lied and said I felt the Spirit of God. And Momma suspected that I was lying but she did not want to test the Spirit. So she suggested that I sing for the church. She suggested that I auditioned for the choir. I was scared and uncertain. I tried to tell Momma the truth but Momma said that I had to be at the audition front and pronto. And I told her that I am not trained and I don't have the right song. I complained about my looks and I complained about how everybody thinks I am terrible. But Mom exclaimed that singing for the Lord is more important than what people think about you. I tried to reason with Mom but she did not understand even that kinda cute church guy might be there and interested. And Mom said as soon as you get the lead I will send for your Dad to come. I got excited and jumped up. Mom said Wite you are suppose to be singing for the Lord and for His glory alone. I said Amen Mom Amen. So I got my chores ready, I did all my homework. Lord knows they throw a lot of homework on someone special. And thank God for tutors or you will never make it out of high school. Just when it was my turn to audition, Momma came in the audition and I sung 'I Love the Lord' by Richard Smallwood. And I was feeling good, I lifted up my hands like Aretha Franklin and put everything I had into that song that the choir kept saying 'I'll haste to his throne.' I was right Mr. Gene did not think I was that good. And I saw Momma marching down the aisle and said her daughter can sing and will sing or she will tell the pastor. Mr. Gene was shocked and admitted and said I only need instructions. And Momma excused me out of the church. Mom said that she had to hurry because something happened to Dad. I asked Momma how bad it was? She said Child I hope he doesn't give up on Christmas. And as soon as we reached the hospital, Dad was in ICE and he could talk. He could hear and he could see. Dad had been crying and Mom cried too. And I tried to tell Dad that I could sing. And after Dad told Mom that he loved her, she asked the doctor if I could sing to him. And I begin singing 'I Love the Lord'. And Dad begin to calm down and get up out of his depression and saddness and sit up and clap. And Mom asked the doctor about Dad and the doctor said everything is working properly. Then after weeks and weeks in the hospital, Dad came in a wheelchair to the service where I led. And I asked the Pastor of Interfaith Alliance of Bourgnew Church if I could dedicated my performance to my father. I reminded them of how my father was my best friend and my role model along with my mother. And how I love him so much and need him even more. I admitted that I first started singing this song because I was hurt over my parents' separation but God has healed me. And I sung 'I Love the Lord'. And the crowd and audience wanted a second song so I invited my mother who was sitting with my father to come to the stage. And we sung 'Amazing Grace', I sung the first stanza while the choir hum then Mom sung the second stanza. And grandma who was the Mother of the Church sung the first stanza again with the choir. The church was an uproar even Daddy wanted to stand and shout. And after church that cute guy AJ asked me out and Momma and Dad approved.

Guides
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.