Writers logo

Whisper in the Woods

By; Kathy Frizzell.

By kathyPublished about a month ago 5 min read
2
Reflection

Protagonist:

A federal investigator named Seth can be sharp-tongued. The Second Character is a sorcerer named Athena, who is unpredictable.

Plot: “The human mind is truly the most horrifying and gruesome thing of all.” Good versus evil story about sometimes in a dream, sometimes in my nightmares. It kicks off in the quiet woods with the murder of “Hades” and the watcher {Raven}” Eye over the Dead” carries a dead letter.

(Note that someone in the story longs for something more.) And there’s a twist! An unreliable narrator tells the story.

Don't go in the Woods.

Sitting quietly in a small cabin off the shore, this is a secluded tiny town {Called “Castle Rock”} it was a stormy evening, and the only sound was the noise of the wild.

On this night, in the middle of a hurricane's eye, I (Seth) sit quietly by the fireplace, curled up with a good book, trying to keep my eyes open.

Suddenly, a loud crackle of lightning flashes through my small cabin.

Horrified me right through the spin.

Even though I (Seth) like my quiet space, it felt strange to maintain the weird feeling that someone was lurking around on my private island.

To my surprise, a tree came falling right at the door.

Nothing could be done till morning anyhow, so I {Seth} put more wood in the fireplace, made a cup of coffee, and tried to get back to sleep, but my mind could not think about the weird feeling that someone was lurking around the island!

“The human mind is truly the most horrifying and gruesome thing of all.” Good versus evil story about sometimes in a dream, sometimes in my nightmares". A quote, live by.

I {Seth} woke up at the crack of dawn, made a cup of coffee, put more wood in the fireplace, and am now done with the coffee, remembering last night's tree falling from the hurricane.

Inspecting the damage, it was not as big as I {Seth} thought.

It was a little windy picking up the mess and walking back to the cabin, but it was not for the wildlife: birds flying overhead, moose coming out for a drink.

Suddenly, I {Seth} heard a crackle off in the distance, a sinister plot crept into my mind, and a wolf appeared from the woods!

Running by, the wolf stops to smell the air, which is thick, surrounded by the wild and things that could not be explained if I {Seth} could!

The further in, the creeper it got.

It does not help that I {Seth} live in a cabin on the shores of Castle Rock, knowing the nights are full of the creepy silence in the wild.

Tear in the Universe

There was a clearing more profound in the woods, and a dark hole was shining through!

Curiosity got the better of my intentions. Athena {is unpredictable} walked through the opening, and we both looked at each other.

Getting reunited after years of being out of touch with our different job choices and points of view.

Since that was cleared up, I {Seth} asked for her {Athena} to come to my cabin, and her {Athena} response was might as we need to talk!

It had to be mid-afternoon because {Seth} was gone for so long; the cabin needed to warm up again, so he asked {Athena} to put some wood in the fireplace; well {Seth} put the kettle on and got to talking about what was going on why was {Athena} was coming out a tear in the earth!

Answering, {Athena} said, "was an assignment" because something you need to know {Seth} the path that I {Athena} is on is mythological creatures and proving the {unknown} does exist!

Debating facts and fiction, scientists, philosophers, and Greek Myths to individuals who study things that are not real or are they?

Talking till early morning, which {Seth} said it was, the fire was on the last flame, added more wood, getting more coffee, and the result was no conclusion.

{Seth} asked if we could walk to where I {Seth} saw you coming from and investigate.

Sure {Athena} said.

It's not as bad now that we are walking in daylight {Seth} thought.

Overhead was folklore. The crow is a messenger from the spirit world, often seen as a sign of impending doom.

The scenery changed? Looking down, there lies a dead body named {Hades} and a "Dead Letter " in his hand.

Quote: "It's not a loss anymore to walk out in my life remembering me for what I am, and now knowing they chose to let me go!"

The "Dead Letter" goes; {it is easier to write my thoughts than to speak them out loud. It is easier to say things in writing that you might not be able to say in person. Or perhaps there are things you've long meant to say but, for whatever reason, could not have found the right words.} Addressed to {Athena!}

Crime Scene

Stopping dead in our tracks, this is now a crime scene, said {Seth!}

Now that the area is cleared away, it must be evening time; I {Seth} finished dinner, sitting by the fireplace, and could not turn my brain off the crime scene.

{Athena} is in the woods, working on her {Athena} assignment, a flash of blue fiery spear hits {Seth's} door. Looking confused?

A scream was heard from miles around, shaking the whole woods; even the wild animals looked in fear, and {Seth} was shocked to the bones.

The "spirits" are falling from the sky.

As the story unfolds, the protagonist's pursuit of power clashes with the wisdom of ancient spirits, leading to a profound realization.

Speaking in the wind, a silent whisper of its secrets, {Seth} ran to the yelling; creatures and the unknown surrounded further in.

Once in the woods, {Athena} was in tears, clutching the "Dead Letter," little smile, looked at {Seth} and said not only did {Athena} pass the assignment, but the answer in "Hades" murder.

A chilly breeze rustled the branches, breaking the silence. A portal opened, and in front of me was {Seth}, who was looking, but words came out.

Good Vs Evil

Good versus evil. If necessary, it means sacrificing your well-being for the sake of others. It means benevolence, altruism, selflessness, and self-sacrifice towards a more significant cause — all qualities which stem from a sense of empathy. It means being able to see beyond the superficial differences of race, gender, or nationality and relate to an ordinary human essence beneath them. (That {Athena} in the story longs for something more.)

Both {Seth} and {Athena} have a story, but there's a twist! An unreliable narrator tells the story.

Challenge
2

About the Creator

kathy

My birth name is Kathy Frizzell… but I am known as Chantel. I had a double stroke and with lots of loves it has brought me to telling you my story! I always wanted to be a writer; my role modules are {Stephen King, and fantasy, mystery.}

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Oh, I loved this. From the picture to the playful story in narration. Fantastic job

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.